Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Vassalboro Community School

Public | K-8 | 856 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2014

My husband and I chose to move to the town of Vassalboro for the school system alone. I myself used to work and live in another school district yet refused to have my children attend there. We looked on greatschools.com to get an idea of what towns offered proper education and a close commute to work. It was a toss up between Sidney and Vassalboro. I believe things happen for a reason. Vassalboro it was! We were able to diagnose my son with ADHD, yet learned he was quite intelligent and qualified for the Gifted and Talented program. Although the teachers didn't see that he was suffering with his school work, but just with his attention span, they listened when I insisted to have him evaluated for ADHD. We worked together on a plan to get him to be able to focus without meds. My daughter is Autistic and has a variety of disorders. When talking with Mrs. Graham about my son's troubles, I explained that in a few years my daughter would be attending and would be requiring quite a bit of help. 1:1 Ed Tech all day and an I.E.P. an inch thick. There was no hesitation to start communication and think ahead of what was to come. Things are going smoothly and couldn't ask for better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2014

I would never want my children to go to any other school. The teachers, principles and all aids are excellent and genuinely care about our kids. I'm very much pleased with the recent additions to security at the school. It feels great knowing that the school is doing all they can to protect our babies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Vassalboro Community School staff are 5 star! I have two grandsons who attend or did attend VCS. When one of them got in some trouble the staff was amazing and helped to create an atmosphere where he could change his behaviors and circle of friends without fear of retribution. They also helped with his brother who had reached out to the school because he was worried about his brother. Every staff person handled the issue with professionalism, caring and support. As a campus, it is beautiful and the school represents Vassalboro in a great way.


Posted September 23, 2013

since the shooting in CT this rural Maine school has not allowed children outside of the school and locks all sorts of doors inside and outside. if you need to go to the office as a student you need to have someone come and unlock the door from the wing to the central hall and then the central hall to the office wing and then the student has to buzz the desk and they will use a camera to see if they will let the trouble maker/sick child into the office to see the principal or nurse. All I really need to know is that teachers who work in this school would never have their children go there to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

I went there 20 years ago. My son and daughter now go there. the staff is verry nice and have been there for a very long time. All the assistance that is needed is given. Some of my teachers from 20 years ago are still there so it can not be that bad. If your kid needs help in math then they take tests to determine how much extra help is required and yes there are some kids that forget their homework every day in their "locker" or at "home" but there is an active role for the parents to play!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

This school Has excellent staff. The teachers are great and provide extra help to students that need it. We have a library full of reading and research books, we have comuters, and a trophey case to show off our tropheys. We also have a glass case in the heart of our school to show art projects. There is a gifted and talented program, for students that excell. There is a reach program, for students that need extra help, and there are 5 specials: library, art, computer, music, and gym. Once in 5th grade you don't have music for a special, you have challenge lab. You have the choice to take part in band and chorus. In sixth grade you only have 4 specials: art, gym, challend lab, and computer. There is one special for each quarter. In sixth grade you get lockers. In seventh, you get laptops, and in sixth grade there is D.A.R.E program. Dare to say no to drugs and violennce.Awesome school!


Posted September 17, 2009

The teachers work as a team, and are all hard working. The teachers do not hesitate to phone the parents---which keeps good lines of communication!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

A wonderful facility with a caring staff. My child was initially nervous about starting there, and now she loves being part of the school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

Vassalboro community school is the best school that I've ever been to. They have a great sports system, in 6th - 8th there is a math team program, and also dances! 7th and 8th graders get lap tops, and there is so much more great stuff about it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2007

Wonderful school with very nice staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2004

This is truly a great school. Vassalboro Community School staff cares about each and every child there and it shows! My son struggles with attention problems and all of his teachers take time to work with me to assure him the best education. Vassalboro is a small community and everyone knows everyone. VCS is an asset to the community by taking time to involve the children in citizenship skills, community projects, and local field trips. The safety and well-being of the children is always foremost in the minds of the administrators. I am fully comfortable with my child being in the care of the staff and faculty at VCS. I know that he is with someone who cares for him almost as much as I do.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 70% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine Educational Assessment (MEA) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MEA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 70% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine Educational Assessment (MEA) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MEA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 92%
Black 1% 3%
Hispanic 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 2%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • School psychologist
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1116 Webber Pond Rd
Vassalboro, ME 04989
Phone: (207) 923-3100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Crown Regional School
South China, ME


China Primary School
South China, ME


China Primary School
South China, ME


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT