Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Massabesic High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2012

I have just become aware of a rumor going around that there may not be a success program at our high school next year. I understand from the beginning that any student not acting appropriatly will be sent to the mainstreem program. I have yet seen this happen and for this program to be the success it really is they need to do this with students who are not willing to do what the success program was all about in the first place. I have a child who went through this program this year and I can assure you without it I doubt my child would have been a success. I am, proud of all my child had done. Please continue this beautiful program. Massabesic needs more of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2011

They are making significant progress with the new Principal and staff. They still have a ways to go, but are limited because most parents do not seem to care, therefore they tend to treat us all as such. The NJROTC program is excellent - keep in mind that there are kids from families who don't bother so it is a mixed group - but if a student wishes to excel, the NJROTC folks offer excellent support. They actually teach manners and respect. Teachers vary significantly in quality. They seem to be under pressure from the new administration. Some offer more support, others just dumb down the material so be careful in math and sciences - big difference in quality of teachers. The guidance department has been quite useless in getting kids toward college, but they seem to be responding to the new Principal's pressure. Keep a close eye on class schedules and make sure your child is in college bound classes if that is their goal - the guidance dept does not keep up with this and is difficult to work with. You can either be liked by many at this school. or you can get your kids educated, but you won't have both. Need to ride some of the staff to deliver. Getting better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2011

Massabesic's new trimester structure for delivering classes seems to be making a difference. Having the same classes every day allow the students to stay focused only on those topics of study. We've seen a big difference in my daughter's grades as well as commitment to doing the work. Same as life...you get back what you are willing to put into it. The quality of any school is reflected by what you're willing to put into it. As parents we need to be there for the kids, supporting them, giving the appreciation for their efforts but also to set an expectation of striving to do well. The teachers are great at responding to any emails or calls of concern. Massabesic is working hard to do a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

I think that massabesic is bad school it is really only bad because of what students made it people trash everything then complain because it isnt perfect but if people did not write on desk or walls and the bathrooms the school would look nicer The Teachers for the most part are very nice and helpfull but some on the other hand seem to careless As a Student now I know I would not chose to go to a different school because all the school is the area are just as bad.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2008

programs are great, homework is alot even though it hels us with studying. I wouldn't want to go to any other school
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 14, 2007

And while Massabesic is certainly not a wonderful school, I think the majority of students will admit that it is mostly the fact that we are stuck in a building that is too small and too old, which brings about other problems with it. Principal involvement has improved significantly over this past year, as we now have a new principal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2006

This school is possibly the worst school I have ever attended. It is the least SAFE school I have ever seen. Serious problems are handled with a simple detention, or suspension for a few days. The principal has absolutely NO involvement with the school, and the only thing good about the school is the few teachers who actually care about the grades of the students. Most of the adults in this school seem to think nothing of their students, and they just let the students coast along on failing grades. A few guidance counselors and even fewer teacher actually care. I would never send a child of mine back to this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 28, 2005

Massabesic is definitly not the worst school in Maine. But it is also not even close to being the best. The best thing about attending Massabesic is that the teachers and guidance staff know all of the afformentioned and try to accomodate students as best as they can. As a graduate of Massabesic currently attending the University of Maine, I would like to thank the teachers, but point out to those looking into sending a child to Massabesic that there are many other variables like safety, parent involvement and level of competitive nature that also need to be considered. Those three things should be worked on as well as the student teacher relationships. Some are a little too much. Choose wisely, but dont count massabesic out either. -K
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 10, 2005

5{is by far not the best in the world but is also not the worst ither. There are many things wrong with this school such as the people, the language. I belive that the saving grace of the school are some of te teachers and school clubs. Unkown
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2004

This school is perhaps one of the worst schools in the state of Maine! It's only saving grace is the quality of a few of the teachers. Teachers like Mrs. Geren and Mr. Bickford make comming to school at least bearable.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Critical Reading

The state average for Critical Reading was 49% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

222 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 43% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine High School Assessment (MHSA) to test students in grade 11 in critical reading, math, writing and science. The results reported show how well students are mastering state standards, specific skills defined by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 92%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 2%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

88 West Rd
Waterboro, ME 04087
Phone: (207) 247-3141

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Maplestone
Acton, ME





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT