Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Massabesic High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 01, 2015
- a community member
Thank you to the 2 female staff members that jumped into action when a situation seemed not safe for my child!!!

Massabesic High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 01, 2015
- a community member
While my daughter has many teachers that she has learned from, there are also teachers that seem to be there for the job and not to cultivate young minds.


Massabesic High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted December 01, 2015
- a community member
Homework is almost a thing of the past now that all students have iPads and class time is spent on those more than it is spent listening to a lesson from the teacher!

Massabesic High School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a community member
Not a fan of common core practices. I feel that our children are being prepared to navigate the internet and not encouraged to think.

Massabesic High School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a community member
Hard set rules do command respect. However, a little bit of gentle guidance should not be an exception to the rule either.


Massabesic High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted December 01, 2015
- a community member
I do not have enough knowledge of this from my experience or my child's experiences.

Massabesic High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted December 01, 2015
- a community member
I do feel that the children should be heard (even if their verbal delivery is, at times, crass). If speaking to one child in private - treat them like and individual, not like one of the masses!!

Massabesic High School 5

Posted December 01, 2015
- a community member
I have to give the high rating after an incident involving my daughter was handled swiftly and safely. I was called immediately because a teacher sensed trouble. Danger was averted, but this could have been a tragic event if an adult had not been paying attention!!! Thank you!!!


Massabesic High School 3

Posted March 21, 2012
- a parent
I have just become aware of a rumor going around that there may not be a success program at our high school next year. I understand from the beginning that any student not acting appropriatly will be sent to the mainstreem program. I have yet seen this happen and for this program to be the success it really is they need to do this with students who are not willing to do what the success program was all about in the first place. I have a child who went through this program this year and I can assure you without it I doubt my child would have been a success. I am, proud of all my child had done. Please continue this beautiful program. Massabesic needs more of them.

Massabesic High School 3

Posted May 18, 2011
- a parent
They are making significant progress with the new Principal and staff. They still have a ways to go, but are limited because most parents do not seem to care, therefore they tend to treat us all as such. The NJROTC program is excellent - keep in mind that there are kids from families who don't bother so it is a mixed group - but if a student wishes to excel, the NJROTC folks offer excellent support. They actually teach manners and respect. Teachers vary significantly in quality. They seem to be under pressure from the new administration. Some offer more support, others just dumb down the material so be careful in math and sciences - big difference in quality of teachers. The guidance department has been quite useless in getting kids toward college, but they seem to be responding to the new Principal's pressure. Keep a close eye on class schedules and make sure your child is in college bound classes if that is their goal - the guidance dept does not keep up with this and is difficult to work with. You can either be liked by many at this school. or you can get your kids educated, but you won't have both. Need to ride some of the staff to deliver. Getting better.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Massabesic High School
88 West Rd, Waterboro, ME  04087
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (207) 247-3141
Last modified Massabesic High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top