Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

George J Mitchell School

Public | PK-3

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2014

I just registered by two kids for kindegarten this week and I was very impressed with the helpfulness and professionalism of the staff. My kids went to their K screening and felt accepted and loved and both are very excited to attend the George J Mitchell School in the Fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

This is a great school. The staff cares greatly for the education and general well being of every child. Both of my children attended school here from Kindergarten through third grade. My kids are now in Jr. High and High School and are doing great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

My daughter has gone to this school since kindergarten and she's currently finishing up 1st grade. She is a bright intelligent child and LOVES to learn. Both of her teachers have been wonderful and are excellent teachers. I love how high the bar has been placed. She is definitely being challenged and is often ahead of grade level in all areas. When that happens they give her more to challenge her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

The teachers my son has had have been wonderful! However, he flunked math in first grade and was passed to second. He is not being challenged at all. I have no idea what they are teaching as I rarely see anything other than the homework I help him with. When they realized he couldn't do first grade math, they gave him K math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

Horrible school. The tetbooks used are the same textbooks that *I* used when I went there 20 years ago. In fact, my friend's name was actually written in my daughter's Social Studies book (that incidently talked about the Berlin Wall and the USSR). Ridiculously underfunded, and has low standards and zero expectations. I actually took my children out of the district because my children were so grossly unprepared.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

I have had 2 children go to this school for several years. My special needs child definately faces extra challenges due to lack of qualified and educated staff. My 'traditional' child did very well but was not challenged enough by the standard curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

This school is great for children who enjoy learning. I have two children who go to this school. My youngest loves it and is doing exceptionally well. However, I feel my oldest isn't getting the help he needs. He has a learning disability and doesn't seem to be progressing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2003

This school is well intended and has some super teachers. However if your child has special needs or learning difficulties be prepared to educate staff. They lack the knowledge and understanding of such children. First grade teachers are very rigid and often fail children. Multi-age is better but is not always the best choice for some children.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 92%
Hispanic 4% 1%
Black 3% 2%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

58 Drummond Ave
Waterville, ME 04901
Phone: (207) 873-0695

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Albert S Hall School
Waterville, ME


Mount Merici School
Waterville, ME




Temple Academy
Waterville, ME


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT