Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Windham High School

Public | 9-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 16, 2012

this school so fare is good jasman steeves the staff has been good to me
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2011

The administration and policies seem to actively work against helping students to graduate. The community service requirement is a stilted attempt to make the school seem illustrious, and resembles a fascist forced labour program. The building is always freezing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

I am a disabled citizen and the kids from the high school built a wheelchair ramp for my home helping me and teaching them a skill.


Posted January 6, 2009

The teachers really care about the students and will work with students and parents to achieve success. I believe parents and teachers need to be partners to transition teens toward college and independence. I have had 3 sons graduate from the high school and all were well prepared for college. I have one son still in the high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

I love these schools. I have sons in both middle and high school and I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2008

The quality of an education depends on the amount of effort the students, teachers and parents put into it. Get involved in your child's education and they may get into Yale or Harvard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2007

My daughter has really pulled it together this year. She has been helped greatly by the teachers. While some of the teachers are very young and just getting some experience dealing with teenagers, I think they have come along way this year. As with all highschools there are the temptaions and hard choices. I think Windham offers many alternatives to kids who are interested. The School Resource Officer has given kids a greater sense of security. I would recommend this school. The theater and music are unbelievable! The are many gifted artist as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

This school was just rebuilt 2 years ago. The facilities are all new. It's in a growing area and has active parent involvement. It has a good sports and music program. There is a real push for improved academic scores with a blend of experienced and young teachers. The school is not there yet but is rapidly improving. My child after 2 years enjoys this school, he feels safe, he knows his teachers and for the most part the teachers know his parents. The school has an on campus police officer. Like other schools, our children's education depends on knowing about the teachers and what classes to take. We believe he can get a very good education here in Windham.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

Our experience with this school was very poor at best. they don't use IQ testing for placement of classes, instead time slots are used. My children who always loved school begged to be home schooled after attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Critical Reading

The state average for Critical Reading was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 43% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine High School Assessment (MHSA) to test students in grade 11 in critical reading, math, writing and science. The results reported show how well students are mastering state standards, specific skills defined by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

406 Gray Rd
Windham, ME 04062
Phone: (207) 892-1810

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Spurwink Services
Portland, ME



Royal Academy
Gray, ME



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT