Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wiscasset High School

Public | 9-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2010

This school is quit unsatisfactory. There are no gifted and talented classes available, and much of the school budget is direct toward special education rather then in more productive areas such as new text books or learning field trips. The teachers do not stay after and help the students, as many have said. My child tried to stay after with one of the teachers and the teacher said he would never be available to stay with him. would not recommend sending your child to this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

This is a great school! Faculty care about your child. There are so many opportunities for your children to become involved in this school. My children have thrived in this school. I would highly recommend this school to others!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

I had a great experience at Wiscasset High School. The student population seemed to get along very well, the teachers went above and beyond in every way possible. There wasn't a lot of stupidity, drugs, theft, compared to many of the larger schools. I would say WHS is a great place to send your kids to!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2008

I would agree with all of u, this is the best school ever the teachers are great and all students like each other.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2008

I love this school. People under estimate it but only because they have no clue what is going on. Wiscasset Highschool is a great school. Please, do not judge it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2006

This is an amazing high school. I am a current student at Wiscasset High School, and I wouldn't go anywhere else. The teachers are great, and extremely willing to help their students. Many teachers stay after school everyday until at least four, and some stay later. There are many interesting classes to choose from, and everyone can find something that they like. The administration and the teachers care so very much about the students. No matter what the problem, there is always a teacher you can talk to. There are also many extracarricular activities avaliable. In addition, because it is a fairly small school, everyone knows each other, and can usually get along. Everyone can find friends. There is not much segregation between the grades and 'cliques'. There really are not any cliques, because all of the groups of friends are interconnected. In summation, Wiscasset is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2005

I would say wisscaset high school is one of the best schools in maine, its teachers are grade A and very caring, they will help students not just in class but before it and after it, some teachers stay till 6:30 or 7 just to help students understand. This school is a wonderful school that lets students go in many diffrent directions. the science programs are amazingly good, I would say they are the best in new england, the teachers are aleays full of energy and are always happy with teaching. wiscasset high school is a wonderful school and is the perfect size to. The principal knows every kid by first name and the kids know everyone to. Kids are not numbers there they are kids. Wiscasset is the best choice out of any scool in maine.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 7, 2004

I am a former student of the Wiscasset school system, and just from my own personal experiences I would say each of the grades has at least one outstanding teacher. Its helps that the high school has rather small classes, which means kids that really need one on one attention usually receive it. I must say that there are many good teachers at WHS, but the art rooms staff are top notch. Whenever I look back on my highschool years, the art rooms always spring to my mind first. I could not have had more caring, or talented art teachers at any other school in the whole world. They inspire confidence in each of their students, and the students carry that with them for the rest of their lives.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 31, 2004

I am a former student of Wiscasset High and find it sad to hear that a parent would be so upset about one of the best schools in Maine. I have considered moving my family back to Maine so that they can have the opportunity to enroll in such a caring and helpful community like Wiscasset. If somebody wants to talk about selfish and uncaring teachers they ought to try being in a classroom of 30 students and class of over 1000. Stop your whining and appreciate what you have!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 5, 2004

This school couldn't be worse, the teachers are self centerd and don't care about the students. All they care about is getting out when the bell rings.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Critical Reading

The state average for Critical Reading was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
30%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 43% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine High School Assessment (MHSA) to test students in grade 11 in critical reading, math, writing and science. The results reported show how well students are mastering state standards, specific skills defined by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

272 Gardiner Rd
Wiscasset, ME 04578
Phone: (207) 882-7722

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Wiscasset High School
Wiscasset, ME






Lincoln Academy
Newcastle, ME


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT