Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Chop Point School

Private | K-12 | 4 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Woolwich

Situated in a rural neighborhood. The median home value is $190,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 5, 2014

I graduated from this school in 2008. Chop Point has been foundational in my success as a student and health care professional. The teachers are so kind and willing to work for hours on a simple problem with you. A small example- my physics teacher spent an extra hour each week during study halls to make sure I understood the concepts and even helped me with a couple college physics questions years later. The sports may not be the best, but how many individuals go on to play sports as a profession? Playing soccer there gave me an opportunity to challenge the boys and play as an equal with them. (I played club soccer for an all girls team experience which was sufficient.) The smallness of the school also gave me an opportunity to play basketball which I wouldn't have been able to do in a public school due to my short stature, and I will always remember the 12 points I scored. There is so much I could say positively in support of this school. I received an excellent education which has provided me with a bachelors degree in occupational sciences will provide me with a masters degree in Occupational Therapy (May 2014). I couldn't think of a better school in the area to attend.


Posted September 28, 2013

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Chop Point School. The small class sizes, caring staff, campus location and superior academics are above and beyond many other private schools we researched. The tuition prices are lower compared to other private schools but the above average teaching and learning outcomes are beyond what I expected. I highly recommend this school. It is truly a wise investment in your child's future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

As a former student of Chop Point I can say without any hesitation that it is a school with experienced staff who not only educate their students at the highest level, but care for each of them deeply. Its academics, sports and arts programs gave me the diligence to not only obtain one advanced degree, but three. After graduating from there, I went on to obtain a BS in Biology, at Gordon College, an MA in Medical Sciences at the University of Boston Medical School and a MD at University of Vermont College of Medicine. Chop Point School and its teachers gave me the foundation I needed for the years of hard work that were ahead of me. I hold true to the principles they instilled in me today, as I am now back in Maine practicing as an Emergency Medicine physician.


Posted September 20, 2012

I had concerns about the possibility of the school taking an antiscience stance. I was assured by the principal that the school does not and I have nothing to worry about. To my shock and dismay, my daughter came home with her history book which I had a look at. It states in the beginning that "Evolution is false and everyone who believes in it only does so because they don't want to believe in the bible". This is Creationism and that surely is not science. The history content of the book was not only wrong, but terribly wrong. This material will not enrich anyone advancing their education, but will only be obstacles to be abandoned later. I have a degree in history and the choice for this book is an insult to all academics around the world. Being a private school it pretty much can teach whatever it wants, but as adults we have a moral obligation to provide the current understanding in all fields of knowledge. The history program is appalling and the science is nonexistent there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

At the heart of Chop Point are its teachers, all of whom work for embarrassingly token salaries, and many who left behind more lucrative teaching positions when they joined Chop Point. Without exception and with a sense of mission, Chop Point teachers approach their work with servant s hearts rather than as authoritarian figures. Chop Point School is a private school, but it has never been considered elitist. A comparable education at many of Maine s notable private institutions can be expected to cost two-, three- or even four-times as much as the modest tuition Chop Point charges. First opened in 1987 on the grounds of a world-class summer camp, a compelling characteristic of Chop Point School is its small class sizes, with each grade limited to twelve students. This intimate setting fosters the friendships between teachers and students that is a hallmark of Chop Point.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

i personally attend chop point. I absolutely love it but unfortunately i might leave next year, because there just aren't enough Ap classes or clubs. I am not a very sportsy person so for me to go to a school where the only activities are sports its a downer. However i absolutely LOVE the teachers and the classes. everyone is so nice and you can really tell that they care wether you pass or fail. I am a nerd and i know it and i am also one of the 'popular' kids. I think that that is really important to mention because at most public schools smart people are always left out and made fun of and at chop point its the opposite if you are smart people applaud you(not literally).
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2006

I would highly recommend Chop Point to anyone (except maybe special needs children). I have three children attending the school. All three are doing extremely well and love school. We have found this to be a night and day experience next to the public schools. The classes are small, the teachers are there because they care, the environment is nurturing, and the kids know they are loved and safe. The atmosphere at Chop Point is not rigorous but loving and caring - which produces the same in the children. I find this is an excellent environment for my children to learn. The public school was a bad experience for them (more from the ciriculum and administration than from the other children). The public schools confused them-causing dissension at home. The biggest and totally unexpected result of our children attending Chop Point is a much more harmonous home and more respectful children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I have a daughter that goes to Chop Point and she has done very well there. I thoroughly appreciate the individual attention due to the smaller classes, which public schools don't have, but the one thing that tends to be a challenge for her is the fact that they don't have clubs of any sort other than knitting classclub. The school as a whole is remarkably well planned out for the children to excel to the best of their ability. I don't feel that any of the children feel like just 'a number' in Chop Point. I love my teenager's school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 92%
Hispanic 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Black 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Supports home-based learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

425 Chops Point Road
Woolwich, ME 04579
Phone: (207) 443-3080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





West Bath School
West Bath, ME



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT