Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Frank H Harrison Middle School 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a community member
Amazing and nothing compares. All the teachers are so amazing and smart. Every student is included and are all very happy. I love this school. Falmouth schools don't compare to the level of this school in anyway. Just look at the test scores, it proves everything. If you want your child or children to go to the best school in Maine, I would recommend you to come to this school.

Frank H Harrison Middle School 1

Posted May 28, 2014
- a teacher
This school is really bad! I hate working here. Most of the students are treated unfairly.


Frank H Harrison Middle School 5

Posted May 26, 2014
- a parent
I think Frank H Harrison Middle school is one of the best in the New England and perhaps in the country. The staff is fantastic and very sensitive to everyone's need. Our special needs child have received incredible help and now it is at par with all its peers. I strongly recommend this school to any concerned and involved parent; however, students must put in the work. This is a high achievers school and parents are expected to spend time with their children assuring that their school work is done. Because of the high quality level at this school we have decided not to send our children to one of the private schools in the area. The Yarmouth taxes are high -- but you get what you pay for.

Frank H Harrison Middle School 1

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
This school is a disaster. My depressed son was treated like an animal, the school ran tests on him to see if he was dangerous, and threatened him with summer school if he didn't achieve a perfect attendance. They did nothing to help him, and stood back as he struggled through 4 years of school.

Frank H Harrison Middle School 1

Posted January 27, 2011
- a parent
I find that the values set for the chidren at the Frank Harrison Middle School " Dress Code" Appaling, To teach a child that you are judged on your appearance, and what you wear is just wrong ! I do not agree with revealing clothing, etc. The way it is worded to the children in my opinion teaches them to be snobs, and to look down on others that may not have the means to get brand name clothing or what is considered to be cool or appropiate. America is of many cultures, Children should not be taught to judge others. They should be taught respect, and that we are not all a like! I further more do not understand the concept of asking the student what they would like to do ? Why aren't the rules of the school being enforced ? Why are the students making the decisions ? I further more think that the staff of the school has inapropate behavior and seem to treat other people as they are beneath them , they seem to have no respect for others and make the decisions as to what they believe rather then working for the goal of the student. I'm sorry , I have a hard time even giving this school 1 star. I would like to see if this get posted or deleted. Thank you


Frank H Harrison Middle School 5

Posted May 16, 2007
- a parent
What a great school this is. This is easily the best school in Maine and Falmouth and Cape Elizabeth don't even compare. Best sports, best art program, best academics, you can easily see that this is the school for your child.

Frank H Harrison Middle School 5

Posted September 26, 2006
- a parent
This school is amazing, it has great teachers and great students. Yes, we are very proud of our sports and we have some very good sports programs. There are some labels but come on! there are labels in every school you go to. I think Harrison Middle School is a great school for my children.

Frank H Harrison Middle School 5

Posted March 08, 2006
- a parent
We have had a wonderful experience at Harrison Middle School. The kids and teachers are great. The family involvement is all that it should be.


Frank H Harrison Middle School 3

Posted January 31, 2005
- a parent
Harrison prides itself on being one of the best middle schools in Maine. I believe the parents and wonderful student body make it great. Sports here are tops, they rule, if it is not here you can ask for it and you will receive it. Soon we will have football k-12 (it is available already at the Middle School) If academics is more what you are curious about then pick Falmouth, Cumberland, or Cape Elizabeth. Children are labled here and treated accordingly. All average students here are invisible. All special needs children are treated with the utmost respect and given exemplary help. Where does your child fit in this scope? Music/art a huge here with a period selected just for band, and chorus. Watch out though if your child is interested in a string or woodwind there is NOOOOOOO program for them. They are discouraged from participating. They will receive zero appreciation.

Nearby schools

Frank H Harrison Middle School
220 McCartney St, Yarmouth, ME  04096
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (207) 846-2499
Last modified Frank H Harrison Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top