Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Yarmouth High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 31, 2011

I'm not sure what curriculum the commenters went through or had their children go through, but our child is gifted and the school was very flexible in accelerating the course work and accommodating our child's abilities. Their is also a huge amount of help for those who need extra support. The general quality of the teaching and administration is excellent, none better in Maine. Weak spots are the integrated math curriculum which should be returned to algebra-geometry-trig, and the lack of willingness to let kids fail when they are failing. College and the workworld don't always provide the safety net provided here. The overall experience as a way to grow up beats the pressure cooker at large suburban schools near large cities by a large margin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2011

I am excelling at a top-tier college right now, and I owe it all to Yarmouth High School. Yarmouth has an undoubtedly challenging curriculum, but the work is worth it. The teachers were warm and brilliant, classmates friendly and accepting, and classes demanding yet fun. Students share a more liberal perspective, and there's more socio-economic diversity than there is in Cape Elizabeth or Falmouth, which adds to an appreciative and accepting student body (even while there is so little racial diversity). Students, despite the "Yarmouth bubble" of middle-class wealth, are engaged in community service not only at the local level but at the national and global level as well. There is definitely a progressive/unique vibe at Yarmouth, represented by the open-minded and creative students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2010

I am a parent who moved to Yarmouth from another school system. My child has been in a public urban school, and then was in private school. Yarmouth High School has been a vast improvement over both, and my daughter loves it. My daughter is an above average student, she is appropriately challenged, has some extraordinarily good teachers. I would say much of the work she brings home encourages the development of her own view. I do agree that what makes this school "great" is the affluent, highly educated parents of students in Yarmouth, and this limits diversity and gives the school a lift that other communities don't have. And not every teacher is extraordinary, there are a couple of "average" teachers whose style don't match my daughter's. But overall, I find the staff to be responsive, committed, and experienced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

I don't think you need to be student to assess whether a school promotes creativity over conformity. In fact, I think parents are in a better position to assess this. Original thinking is neither promoted nor recognized, there is stifling uniformity of political belief, and a lack intellectual excitement at the school. Perhaps it suffers in my eyes because I'm comparing it to the parochial school I attended. But, after carefully guiding my children through 12 years each in the Yarmouth School System, its intellectually conservative and rewards for conformity are apparent. But, I urge you to investigate for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

'Second, the school does not promote creative thinking, placing an emphasis on conformity and memorization' Personally, I believe you have to be a student to be qualified to make that kind of statement. As a senior at this school, I completely and utterly disagree. Throughout my four years at YHS, there has been an emphasis on freedom of expression and the medium in which we use to get our thinking across. Just recently, I completed a project in which the teacher gave us nine different, creative ways to complete it. Creativity is what this school excels at. Disregarding the social aspect, non-conformity is celebrated and encouraged in the classroom. Yes, of course there is memorization, just as you might memorize multiplication tables as a kid! Every school you go to would have some element of memorization for some assignments in some different classes. But in no means is there an 'emphasis'.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2009

The principal reason for the success of Yarmouth students, is not the school itself but the parents. Parental involvement is very crucial and its location in an affluent area speaks to that, which explains why Cape, Yarmouth, Falmouth and Cheverus students are the most highly achieving in Maine. The December 18th poster pretty much nailed it when they said the school favors flashy technology over above academics, and the Integrated Math program is a major problem for anyone considering sending their children to YHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2009

I am a past graduate of Yarmouth High School and have to say it was one the best experiences. I had great teachers that foster growth (both personally and academically). It is a very accepting school and that cherishes diversity even if there is not much to be seen. They promote clubs, sports and health. In addition they put much of their resources in to helping students succeed. I could recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2009

I agree with the december 18 person- YHS is really not as great as other people keep saying. A lot of the students are really not motivated past getting a Bs, which makes school seem like a big waste of time for people who are trying to like school. It's a public school. You get what you pay for.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2008

You'll find a lot of defensive parents/students who disagree, but this school really holds athletics and flashy technology above academics. Nevertheless, this is overall a good program for the average or below average student (special education teachers are definitely not lacking). For the high-achieving student, this may work, but many may be discouraged by their classmates' general lack of motivation/contributions to class. More likely than not one will find a good number of 'scholars' searching for games to play online while their less-than-desirable teacher tells mind-numbing anecdotes about their extended family- or joins their students on the world wide web.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2007

I have had three children graduate from Yarmouth High School. In 1999 97% of our child's graduating class went on to college, in 2006 94% and in 2007 93%. This speaks well of the parental involvement, teacher involvement and overall community attitude towards education in general. My oldest has graduated college and my next two are in college. Both have told me that they are well ahead of their classmates because of the education that they received in the Yarmouth School System. As a parent I cannot speak highly enough of the education that my children have received. Parent involvement in all school functions that I attended over the years was always a full parking lot event. Sports, art and music exposure were another large part of our childrens total educational experience. Plus, they needed sixty hours of community service to graduate. A very well rounded, top notch education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2006

Yarmouth High school Is a great school with some of the best teachers around good after school programes and lots of things to do.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 20, 2006

I'm a former student of Yarmouth High School, and the close relationships I fostered with my teachers, the numerous opportunities I had for extracurriculars, and rigorous academic schedule made my high school experience one that not only prepared me well, it also sticks out when in comparison to many others. We may have only one music teacher, but he gets it done. I was lucky enough to play three varsity sports and sing in the chamber choir and participate in theater, and thanks to the support from the school, I felt able to do all of this, most importantly, for fun. I don't know what the comment about 'all private schools in Maine place 99% of their students in college' has to do with Yarmouth High School, since it is a public school. It's easy to understand how one could mistake Yarmouth for a private school: it's just that good!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 18, 2006

June 2005 review is a perfect example of the athletic parent who gains from this administration's love of sports. We do have a football team now and no improvement to the Math curriculum. This parent is unaware that all string players are excluded from the music program. They have one teacher in the high school for band, jazz band, chorus, chamber choir, music theory, guitar, and piano classes. Most teachers teach a much simpler load. Also the #297 ranking was based on the number of students taking AP tests divided by the number of students in the school. All AP students are required to take the test and it is a small school. The ranking means Nothing. All private schools here in Maine get 99% of their students in college. This parent needs to get the facts not just say things are bull.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

Yarmouth High School is an amazing school. It has great teachers and it is a very positive working enviroment. The students are kind and eager to learn. It is a safe campus and one that many parents would be proud to send their children to.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Critical Reading

The state average for Critical Reading was 49% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 43% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine High School Assessment (MHSA) to test students in grade 11 in critical reading, math, writing and science. The results reported show how well students are mastering state standards, specific skills defined by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 92%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hispanic 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 2%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school All students come from Harrison Middle School, the one middle school in Yarmouth
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Newsweek Top High Schools in America (2008)
  • US News and World Report--Silver Medal (2008)
  • Dept. of Education Blue Ribbon School (2005)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:40 am
School end time
  • 2:25 pm
School Leader's name
  • Ted Hall
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Fax number
  • (207) 846-2325

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Nordic and Alpine Skiing, Ice Hockey
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Nordic and Alpine Skiing, Hockey
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
All students come from Harrison Middle School, the one middle school in Yarmouth
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

286 West Elm St
Yarmouth, ME 04096
Website: Click here
Phone: (207) 846-5535

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Greely High School
Cumberland Center, ME






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT