Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Accokeek Academy

Public | PK-8 | 1138 students

Our school is best known for our commitment to excellence.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 3, 2014

Accokeek Academy is a great npre-K through 8th grade school. My child has been attending the school for the past four years. When we moved to the area, we were hesitant about putting our child in PG County public schools, but Accokeek Academy has been great for our child. It has an excellent full-day talented and gifted program, and the school s music programs are particularly strong. There are lots of good, dedicated teachers. The current principal is great and committed, continuously striving to improve the school; she has been at the school for three years now, and there have been positive changes regarding school communications, organization, and academic rigor. Like with any school, there obviously are some issues, but the school leadership is committed to addressing concerns as they come up. The new elementary building was completed in January 2014, and the middle school is currently under renovation. The new/completely renovated campus is scheduled to be finished by the 2015-2016 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Accokeek Academy has a welcoming environment with very welcoming staff and students. I recently visited the school and was very impressed with the level of respect and scholarship exhibited by the middle school students. The interaction was not rehearsed; the students were completely open to learning and anxious to share their knowledge of the world.


Posted April 17, 2014

I had the pleasure of visiting this school and I was pleased. The new building structure is awesome. The front office staffer "Simmons" was very kind and welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

This school is a joke. The only people that care about the children's education are the Guidence Counselors and the exception of a few other teachers. The leadership starts off good at the beginning of the year but fall off by the Christmas break. This school not only needs a new building but a new staff that actually cares if the children succeed or not. Does the school system not teach vocabulary words anymore, while there giving out meaningless assignment there should be vocabulary words and quizzes for every grade level. Some big changes need to happen or there just setting the kids up for failure. 1 star only because I have too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

Accokeek was the best school I've ever went to. It had cool teachers, fun activities, and they know how to throw a party,plus they have added some cool classes this 2013-2014 year. I'm in the choir and the whole music part of school is AMAZING! So many talented people! Though it has it's ups and downs. (Like how some people think that one or two of the teachers and administrators are a bit creepy) It's a good school. And no, you don't have to worry about your kids having their hair cut by a rent-a-barber. (It was a one time thing.) And about the fights; If your child stays within the right path like I did and doesn't talk badly about people; they'll be just fine. We don't jump people out of the blue. I've only seen 1 fight this year and about 2 that started to boil before the teachers stopped it. Can't wait to get back there! P.S.:The 7&8 are going to be outside the school due to reno. They'll be put in trailer- like class rooms.


Posted May 26, 2013

Accokeek Academy is a great school. My son has been at this school for 2 years now and he loves it. He can't stop talking about his recent trip to New York, it was a great experience for him. Whenever I had a problem (only had a few minor ones) the administration always worked it out. My son's teachers always challenge him and keep me informed as well. My son is in the 8th grade. I hope the administration at the high school is as effective as they are at Accokeek Academy. I recommend Accokeek Academy to any parent that lives in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE. I WON'T EVEN GIVE ACCOKEEK ACADEMY 1 STAR. THIS SCHOOL HAS NO CONTROL OVER THE STUDENTS . MY CHILD HAS TO GO TO SCHOOL AND HOPE NO ONE BOTHERS HER AND THAT IS NO WAY TO GO ABOUT A SCHOOL DAY. MY CHILD HAIR HAS BEEN CUT , SHE HAS BEEN BEATEN UP AND I AM SICK OF THEM DOING NOTHING TO KEEP INNOCENT KIDS SAFE. WORST SCHOOL IN PG.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2012

i've heard about PG County schools but never experienced anything like it. My child attended only 3 qtrs at Accokeek & by the middle of the 3rd qtr I was ready to home school. It's a joke from the administration down. There was only 1 administrator there who seemed to have any sense of what she was doing, but she was a resident principal. The 1st day we went to register my child I thought I was in a zoo. The teachers could care less if your child is failing; they won't even contact you - you'll find out when grades come. The music program is past substandard. Some teachers are just as ghetto as some of the students & 1/2 the time they don't even show up. My child had a substitute in at least 1 of their classes each week. The science fair was a hot mess - it was like being in elementary school. There's no tutoring for kids who need it. The school doesn't partner w/ any college or the community to get the educational or financial assistance needed. W/ the amt of $ folks make in PG County, it's ashame that more $ isn't spent on a better facility and education for their kids in this particular school. I'd close the school if I could but kids in the area need a school to go to. HATE IT!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 78% 35%
Hispanic 7% 12%
White 7% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Math specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • EGATE Award (2013)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Judy N. Adams
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (301) 203-3207

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Science
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.
 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Gwynn Park High School
Friendly High School
Oxon Hill High School (By Application Only)
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14400 Berry Road
Accokeek, MD 20607
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 203-3200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Mary School
Clinton, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT