Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Adelphi Elementary School 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Adelphi Elementary is a highly prestigious school among all the elementary schools in md. I give credit to Dr Ernest, the principal and her hard working staff. There is discipline in this school it is either you take it or you leave it. Hardly any cases bullying.

Adelphi Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
I agree with the previous posts. The teachers are dedicated to the success of each child and are being led by an outstanding principal and vice principal! Dr. Ennis and Mrs. Moise expect the best from the children, staff AND parents and it translates into great academic results. It does "take a village" and we found our village in Adelphi Elementary. We pulled our son from private school where the level of what was being taught did not meet our expectations (nor would they the state if they looked into it I assume. But I digress...). We look forward to 4 more years at Adelphi.


Adelphi Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
Wow! Over 680 students to feed and take care of on the first day of school...definitely a monumental task! However, as I watched the staff and admin on the first day of school...the execution of this task seemed flawless, not to mention a couple of demanding parents wanting their attention in the midst of executing their main priority - students. Thank you Adelphi Staff and administration for your unwavering focus. Thank you for your hard work and care for students and parents. You haven't disappointed my family. My two kids are happy and doing great academically and behaviorally. My middle schooler is prepared and ready because of your help, support, hardwork and care. Keep up the great work. You are all appreciated!

Adelphi Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a teacher
Adelphi is a great school. The parents are very supportive and the staff is outstanding. They work collaboratively to provide rigorous instruction to all of their students. The school provides a great structure and positive environment for students.

Adelphi Elementary School 1

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
I was very displeased with this school. My son started school yesterday in Kindergarten and this is a new school for him. I was not given any information of the school or what will be happening throughout the school year. First day of school we found out who his teacher is and she did not have anything for my child, he was also not in the system for lunch and they did not have any of his allergy information. I tried to speak with the Principal on today and she told me clearly that she did not have time. I expressed to her that my concerns for my child and she told me to "get over it, its the first day." She said she was not going to apologize for the bad impression that was left, not to mention we were having the conversation in the hallway not in private. The teacher was not welcoming at all. She did not have time to talk to me and let me know what to expect and how she runs the classroom. If I did not ask questions I would not know that there hours were not normal school hours. School is from 7:50-1:55. If I did not ask so many question to all of the teachers I would not know that and would have came at 3pm like most elementary school.


Adelphi Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2013
- a community member
Adelphi elementary school is a great because it teach kid they are smart and able to reach their goal

Adelphi Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has been at Adelphi since Kindergarden and she is now in the 6th Grade. I commened all of the staff from Mrs. Bergen, Ms Paquette, Mrs. Faulkner and all those I missed. They all have been great with my daughter and she already said she's going to miss 'Adelphi' next year. I want to thank all the staff for helping my daughter acheive her goals...she really loves to learn and I have to thank 'Adelphi' for that.

Adelphi Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2008
- a parent
My son is now in the 5th grade. He started at Adelphi in the 3rd grade. His 3rd grade teacher made the transition from private school to public school seamless. She made sure that he had a true understanding of everything that was being taught. His 4th grade teacher was even more wonderful. With a class of 31 children, she still had time to focus on each child. She knew the strengths and weaknesses of each child. The PE teacher was OUTSTANDING as was the Music teacher. He was looking forward to returning to this school, but we are moving. I regret that he will not be returning to the school. We will truely miss the staff and faculty of this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Adelphi Elementary School
8820 Riggs Rd, Adelphi, MD  20783
(301) 431-6250
Last modified Adelphi Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Adelphi Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top