Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walter S. Mills - Parole Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 527 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2014

I am a happy mom of two children at Mills Parole and I think it's a great place. The teachers are very caring and want the students to do their best. The new principal and vice principal are great. They seem very caring and interested in the kids. Mr. Walker comes out every morning to help the traffic. Mrs. Meyers is always available and helps the kids. The Mills Parole staff is a great team!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2013

While I agree this school could use some work, I don't agree with the assessment of the principal, Mrs. Meyers. She is very engaging and a supporter of the children. She has offered to bring my son to afterschool activities on 2 separate occasions - just because. She attends local sporting events that feature the students, even though her children are adults out of the school system - and I'm not talking about just school related. I am not a fan of the new Vice Principal, however, as he seems to be attempting to prove how tough he is with the students. But with an entirely new leadership team this year I am willing to give them a chance to develop and grow the curriculum and leadership. Now, for those terrible lunches...I have to pack lunch for my children everyday! It is a shame the "hot" lunches are of such poor quality! When I attended public school, in Baltimore no less, we looked forward to hot lunches. When children are well nourished it lends itself to a learning environment and re-energizes the students for the 2nd half of the day. I sat through a lunch period and was just appalled at the slop presented to those children. No wonder my kids wont eat that stuff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

I concur with the review from 2011. In fact, things have continued to deteriorate at this school. On the first day of school, Susan Myers, the new principal, stood outside of the school and "glared" at the students and parents as they entered the school. She wasn't engaging at all and this is leadership! I will be moving out of this school district this year and looking forward to moving my kids to a school district where there's true leadership that is interested in fostering a better learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2011

All my children disliked the school strongly and also disliked the uniforms. My thought of majority of the teachers is that they were very un professional. And when my children went to another school they got better grades, learned more, and wasnt influenced badly as they was of here. They thought the lunches werent very tasty and learned very distrubing things that were talked about with friends and written in the poorley sanitized bathrooms. I suggest you dont enroll your child here with all do respect of mills parole.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

Mills Parole Elementary is a great school it gives kids the education and skills every kid needs great lunches and excellent students.Also the teachers AMAZING they have so much knowlegde you can't find at a regular school if you want your kid to get a good education and have fun during the process also if you want him/her to go to college sign them up for Mills Parole Elementary today!!!!!!!!!!


Posted July 22, 2009

Great school and teacher. I love Mills Parole. I attend this school as well as my two young sons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

My daughter has been attending Mills-Parole since pre-k (now a 3rd grader). I love the principle and staff. They give each student their full undivided attention which I love, and it has made my daughter the straight A student that she is today. Kudos to the staff at MILLS-PAROLE ELEMENTARY!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

I credit Mrs Adam and her great staff of teachers. For helping me to educate my girls with an excellent elementary school education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

Both my son's started school at this school. I have to say this is the most engaging, caring, and outstanding group of professionals I have ever met. I can't say enough about Mrs. Adams, the principal, she is just amazing and she, like the rest of her staff, truly care for these children. It may take more effort but the staff will not let your cild fall by the way side. As a parent I couldn't ask for a better environment for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

I have a second grader who is currently attending this school. I would not dream of moving until he can finnish 5th grade there. The staff that has taught my son have gone above and beyond to make sure that he recieved everything he needed. I can say from the principal all the way down to the cafe staff deserve a raise. Low score or no scores these people care. I know for sure that our parents have to step up and give the academic support at home as much as possible. The reinforcement is paramount in supporting the faculty in educating our children. It is our job as much as it is theirs. O. Johnson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

I feel the previous review was totally incorrect. This school scored across the board on every single State test. It was below average throughout the entire state average of Maryland. The staff does work hard however the neighborhood is ideal to raise a child in. If you can choose a better living area I highly suggest you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2004

The administration at Walter S. Mills-Parole Elementary School, 'love their jobs' this is evident in their dealings with parents and students, as well as the staff. The principal maintains an open door policy, feel free to stop in to check for yourself. What you will find is a friendly and devoted staff memebers who love what they do, and are not afraid to tell anyone who inquires. The children are benefiting greatly by attending such a well supported institution. If you do not believe me ask any of the 5 and 6 year olds you may see who not only can read and write complete thoughts by the end of December, can also count to 200 and identify time on the clock. These kids are learning and enjoying themselves in the process. Don't take my word for it, stop by and see for yourself. Sincerely, Ms.T


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 48% 35%
Hispanic 40% 12%
Two or more races 6% 4%
White 3% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

103 Chinquapin Round Rd
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: (410) 222-1626

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Book Of Life Academy
Annapolis, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT