Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Mary Elementary School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Annapolis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $385,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Absolutely awful. We spent 5 years there and finally transferred our kids to a different private school, where we couldn't be happier. The atmosphere is poisonous from the top down. Cliques, in-fighting, special treatment for popular kids, arbitrary discipline, rampant bullying... etc...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2014

I, too, would like to echo the statement made earlier that said, "This school offers no help whatsoever to children with special needs... whether the child suffers from dyslexia, reading problems, ADHD.." My child has attended there for the last few years and this year has been the breaking point. He has some special needs and while the teachers have been WONDERFUL and the guidance counselor has tried to help, the fact of the matter is that the resources just aren't available to really help the students that need it. The classes are way too big, special ed is non-existent, and the "legacy" parents make the non-alumni parents feel like outsiders. The principal is very unwelcoming and panders to the legacy & "money" families. Individual children with special needs are not her concern and quite frankly you get the feeling that she really rather not have them there at all. The bottom line is that if your public school is not great & your child is an average to high average student with a generally congenial disposition, it's a great value, but if that's not the case, look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

I am re-posting what a parent wrote previously in addition to my own comments as this was exactly our experience: "This school offers no help whatsoever to children with special needs... whether the child suffers from dyslexia, reading problems, ADHD or a physical disability. The parent and child are made to feel unwelcome in the school and the child is set up to fail. I have seen this happen to certain students in the years I have been affiliated with this school and each time I cannot fathom how a Christian school can make certain children feel so inferior because they are not deemed "perfect". Our experience: My child who has ADHD, was made to feel like he was dumb. He was repeatedly singled out and removed from class to work on assignments he had issues finishing or for reading help. He actually broke down and cried in class one day. Classes are overcrowded and their is a lack of special ed support and teacher training. They have old style methods of teaching, memorizing and lots or ditto sheets for busy work. We were made to feel unwelcome and felt like we were being pushed out of the school. He is now in a public school with wonderful teachers and doing well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

This school was named a "Blue Ribbon" school last year. Great school! A big spike in applications is forcing the school to be very choosy about offers of admission. They had to turn away a lot of potential students particularly those trying to come in at the 6th grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

The school has the money available for the latest technology but the morals taught to the children are non -existant. It is obvious that money matters at this school and image is everything. The front office is run by a group ot catty women who gossip all day. The only saving grace for this school was the previous Vice Principal, who no doubt left because he could not change things that were above him and beyond his control. They should relieve the current administration and beg him to return. The woman that replaced him does not to appear to have any qualifications for the job other than being friends with someone.Tuition is not cheap and there are no discounts for families with multiple children. Unfortunately it is more of a who's who society club than a Catholic based organization.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

This school offers no help whatsoever to children with special needs... whether the child suffers from dyslexia, reading problems, ADHD or a physical disability. The parent and child are made to feel unwelcome in the school and the child is set up to fail. I have seen this happen to certain students in the years I have been affiliated with this school and each time I cannot fathom how a Christian school can make certain children feel so inferior because they are not deemed "perfect". The teachers are very good but hampered by overcrowded classrooms and items beyond their control.


Posted September 5, 2013

Such a disappointment...the principal is now the Queen Bee, as the VP left as well as the new VP after only a week. The school board really needs to address at who is at the helm. Smart students are brushed aside. The classrooms are over-crowded, and the math instruction needs some serious restructuring. I could not agree more with the last comment provided. Such as shame, as the principal is as far from being a caring Catholic as one could be. Many outstanding teachers and administration from previous years have opted to leave. Finally, please pray for the bullying to stop....as there are no consequences for the children who partake in offensive behavior, especially if they are among the principal's favorites. All such as shame, as under different leadership, it used to be one of the very best schools around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2012

Very unprofessional principal. Panders to politics instead of wellbeing of children. Not really up to the job. Probably an alma mater and the only reason she was selected for the job. Some of the teachers are good, but the assistant principal should really be in the role of principal, and it is clear that his hands are tied by the poor decisions/handling of issues by the uncaring and prima donna'ish principal in place right now. Not the type of personality one would expect in administration for a Christian Catholic based school where basic fairness, compassion and kindness seems to be lost on her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

During my time as a parent, I have found the teachers to be very committed and caring about my child's personal, educational, and spiritual development. Parents are very invovled in volunteering at the school and are also a great source of support for other parents. We love all the traditions and events! Great afterschool enrichment classes plus a very, strong arts program for performing and fine arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

Completely overrated. My son's teacher is totally awesome, but if it wasn't for her I would have pulled him from the school within a month. Most of the teachers are dedicated and hard-working, but handicapped by the administration, facilities and resources. The administration panders to the rich and well-established parents at the expense of the students and teachers. Most of the staff seem frustrated with the administration. The facilities are out-dated and cramped. Technological academic resources are severely limited. Numerous parents at the school are looking at other options for next year due to the lack of leadership and vision at the school. It is unfortunate that this school that used to be stellar is now less than adequate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

This school met well below our expectations. We plan on transferring at the end of this year. A lot of parents are Alma Mater and not open to meeting new people. Many are narrow minded and feel this school is the "end all be all". We were new to the area and had heard such wonderful things. I will be happy once this year is over and we transfer. There is not nearly enough focus on the religion part of a "Catholic Education". Extremely disappointing all around. The teachers were fine, but not nearly enough resources for the kids. The rest of the faculty is subpar and as another reviewer wrote "EXTREMELY condescending". What more can I say.....save you money or find a private school that's worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

My daughter began here in 4th grade. She absolutely loves it! We look forward to sending our other two children here as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2010

4.June.2010 ~ CAVEAT EMPTOR!!! Do not be fooled by the prestigious locale! Other than the support of committed classroom parents, a truly dreadful experience. New to area and child attended for the first time this year (a full school year). Not the first time in a private school, however. The faculty is EXTREMELY condescending. Inconsistant grading of tests and homework. 25% of the time, my child watched Disney movies in "Art" class. Class size of 33! Save your self 8K and a deluge of staff insults to your intelligence by sending your child to a public school or choose to home school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

St. Mary's is a quality elementary school in downtown Annapolis. It has an AMAZING faculty and staff. The curriculum is fantastic.The community feel is tremendous. It is a legacy that last a lifetime. I attended St. Mary's for 13 years and now volunteer on the Home and School Association. My daugher is 4th generation to attend. It is by far the best school in the area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

Over rated is too kind of a term. While the facilities are outdated, cramped and in poor condition that is just the start. The principle is not only incapable of managing the student body but is unwilling. Constant caving to the high influence parents is the rule.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

We are thrilled with St. Mary's. After relocating to the area 3 years ago, we were so pleased to have our son treated like one of the family. He has excelled in every subject and I truly believe the faculty and staff had a huge impact on his success. Thank you St. Mary's for truly living up to our expectation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

When we were choosing schools for our kindergarten aged daughter 7 years ago we researched many private schools in the Annapolis area. One of the other reviewers said St. Mary's was one of the most 'overrated schools in Annapolis'. I found the opposite to be true. The word on the street was that St. Mary's had huge classes but it was the 'cheapest private school in the area'. Despite this glowing report we attended the open house and are so glad we did. St. Mary's makes up for its large class size with loving teachers, an orderly and disciplined environment, challenging school work, and most importantly (in our minds) Christian values. Now we have three children attending and are very pleased with our choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

5/28/08 - It would be nice to know when the previous review was written, so I'm dating my entry. Although there are some things that I'd like improved, I have found that the teachers care a lot about the children. I agree that the administration seems to lack flexibility. I haven't found it to be better elsewhere, however.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

This has got to be the most overrated school in Annapolis. The facilities are old and not well-maintained. The students are packed into too small classrooms and the admissions staff is a bit too big for their britches. You can do better elsewhere
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 42%
Hispanic 2% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 35%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Baltimore
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

111 Duke of Gloucester Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: (410) 263-2869

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Book Of Life Academy
Annapolis, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT