Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
825 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Mary Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2016
- a community member
My 3 children have all attended St. Mary's and each of them had a wonderful experience! The teachers and administrators really care about the students and families! When you walk threw the halls the kids are all having fun and really enjoy their time at school

St Mary Elementary School 5

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
This school provides a wonderful community to families in search of an excellent education and the preservation of innocence. Our three children have been well served and well-prepared for their education beyond their years at St. Mary's. We highly recommend this school!


St Mary Elementary School 4

Posted April 20, 2015
- a parent
I really don't get the negative reviews on this school. We have three children here, and so far, we love it. The teachers are wonderful, and I really feel that this is a caring and loving school. It is sad, however, that this is the only "somewhat affordable" private school in this area. Very disappointed that we even have to go to a private school with all the taxes we pay! But this is not St. Mary's fault. As for special needs, two of my sons get extra help both during and after school for reading. I sincerely feel that the Reading Specialist cares about their success in reading. I have been disappointed with only one of the staff members. Other than her, I feel the staff is wonderful. A lot of family-oriented folks working hard, and truly caring with our children. We had heard that class size would be a problem. For us, it has not. As a mom, I hope this helps you in your decision.

St Mary Elementary School 1

Posted July 29, 2014
- a parent
Absolutely awful. We spent 5 years there and finally transferred our kids to a different private school, where we couldn't be happier. The atmosphere is poisonous from the top down. Cliques, in-fighting, special treatment for popular kids, arbitrary discipline, rampant bullying... etc...

St Mary Elementary School 3

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
I, too, would like to echo the statement made earlier that said, "This school offers no help whatsoever to children with special needs... whether the child suffers from dyslexia, reading problems, ADHD.." My child has attended there for the last few years and this year has been the breaking point. He has some special needs and while the teachers have been WONDERFUL and the guidance counselor has tried to help, the fact of the matter is that the resources just aren't available to really help the students that need it. The classes are way too big, special ed is non-existent, and the "legacy" parents make the non-alumni parents feel like outsiders. The principal is very unwelcoming and panders to the legacy & "money" families. Individual children with special needs are not her concern and quite frankly you get the feeling that she really rather not have them there at all. The bottom line is that if your public school is not great & your child is an average to high average student with a generally congenial disposition, it's a great value, but if that's not the case, look elsewhere.


St Mary Elementary School 2

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
I am re-posting what a parent wrote previously in addition to my own comments as this was exactly our experience: "This school offers no help whatsoever to children with special needs... whether the child suffers from dyslexia, reading problems, ADHD or a physical disability. The parent and child are made to feel unwelcome in the school and the child is set up to fail. I have seen this happen to certain students in the years I have been affiliated with this school and each time I cannot fathom how a Christian school can make certain children feel so inferior because they are not deemed "perfect". Our experience: My child who has ADHD, was made to feel like he was dumb. He was repeatedly singled out and removed from class to work on assignments he had issues finishing or for reading help. He actually broke down and cried in class one day. Classes are overcrowded and their is a lack of special ed support and teacher training. They have old style methods of teaching, memorizing and lots or ditto sheets for busy work. We were made to feel unwelcome and felt like we were being pushed out of the school. He is now in a public school with wonderful teachers and doing well.

St Mary Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
This school was named a "Blue Ribbon" school last year. Great school! A big spike in applications is forcing the school to be very choosy about offers of admission. They had to turn away a lot of potential students particularly those trying to come in at the 6th grade level.

St Mary Elementary School 2

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
The school has the money available for the latest technology but the morals taught to the children are non -existant. It is obvious that money matters at this school and image is everything. The front office is run by a group ot catty women who gossip all day. The only saving grace for this school was the previous Vice Principal, who no doubt left because he could not change things that were above him and beyond his control. They should relieve the current administration and beg him to return. The woman that replaced him does not to appear to have any qualifications for the job other than being friends with someone.Tuition is not cheap and there are no discounts for families with multiple children. Unfortunately it is more of a who's who society club than a Catholic based organization.


St Mary Elementary School 1

Posted September 09, 2013
- a community member
This school offers no help whatsoever to children with special needs... whether the child suffers from dyslexia, reading problems, ADHD or a physical disability. The parent and child are made to feel unwelcome in the school and the child is set up to fail. I have seen this happen to certain students in the years I have been affiliated with this school and each time I cannot fathom how a Christian school can make certain children feel so inferior because they are not deemed "perfect". The teachers are very good but hampered by overcrowded classrooms and items beyond their control.

St Mary Elementary School 1

Posted September 05, 2013
- a parent
Such a disappointment...the principal is now the Queen Bee, as the VP left as well as the new VP after only a week. The school board really needs to address at who is at the helm. Smart students are brushed aside. The classrooms are over-crowded, and the math instruction needs some serious restructuring. I could not agree more with the last comment provided. Such as shame, as the principal is as far from being a caring Catholic as one could be. Many outstanding teachers and administration from previous years have opted to leave. Finally, please pray for the bullying to stop....as there are no consequences for the children who partake in offensive behavior, especially if they are among the principal's favorites. All such as shame, as under different leadership, it used to be one of the very best schools around.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Mary Elementary School
111 Duke of Gloucester Street, Annapolis, MD  21401
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (410) 263-2869
Last modified St Mary Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top