Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Marys High School

Private | 9-12 | 122 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Annapolis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $385,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 9, 2014

Talk about a waste of money, there are plenty of HS who bend over backwards to help accommodate class schedules. The teachers do NOT motivate the students, nor do they invest time or energy for students to excel. Also another problem if you son't have an A in a class no honors or AP classes. JOKE!! The school is old, smells and is completely outdated in technology.. Also beware the parents are clique, and so are the kids if you don't fit in good luck surviving. Shameful, there are other Catholic schools to invest in, this school waste of 12K. Move on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

Great high school! My daughter had only 11 other students in her honors algebra class. The faculty is outstanding and prepare the students well for a college curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

Limited support and no real understanding of the issues. Lack of a desire by Principal and Academic Vice Principal to address this weakness in their "cookie cutter system". With enough pressure and documentation some accommodations are made; however, their "elitist attitude" feels its not their problem and there are enough other "normal" kids who would love to come to St. Mary's. They need to fully embrace the tools available in the 21st century and look to help EVERY student reach their maximum potential. Faculty and Staff have very little understanding of these tools and do not see it as their responsibility to adapt to the needs of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

St. Mary s is an awesome school. I think the website www.greatschools.org should remove ratings written more than two or three years ago, which are absolutely outdated. I have a senior at the school, and we are very pleased. The quality of teachers and education is phenomenal. St. Mary s students get accepted to the top colleges and universities nationwide. My daughter loves it and so do we.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

I went to school here from K-12. I also played lacrosse. I enjoyed the school very much. The teachers were caring and the education was awesome. Looking back i will admit that the school was definately 'cliquey'. The clique's were basically sports cliques (not just lax) and then everyone else. Everyone does get along with everyone else pretty well but its definately diffult to make friends if you don't play a sport or you didn't join before high school. So i would recommend either joining the school in the elementary years or if you are going to come for high school be willing to play a sport. You don't have to be an established athlete, just be willing to play a sport. They have Varsity, JV and club for just about every sport. Its a small school (for good reason) so there is no where to really hide. This school is primarily for extroverts or at least those willing to make an effort to make friends. If you are one of those types you will make some really awesome friends. How can i put this delicately? This isn't a school for introverts or quite types. The school offers a wholistic educational approach, not just academics.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2011

If you are looking for a cliquey school filled with stuck up snobs. St. Mary's is the school for you. Only good reason to put your child there is for education. Socially you won't get much unless you play lacrosse, and or went to st. marys elementary. Save your money and put your child somewhere else. I'm sure spalding has more to offer than this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2010

I am a Junior at SMA and I love it. I play lacrosse and Ive been a three year varsity starter and i do think that there is some favrotism for laxers. I think that I shoul have gotten into trouble for alot of stuff that I think I would have if I went to Annapolis High. I have noticied that when i went to SMA before 7th grade (when they start lacrosse for students) I got in trouble more and hung out with people less. Now that Im on scholarship for lax I go to alot of parties, get in truoble less and girls 'notice' me more.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2009

The School politics and the lack of respect shown equally to all students is a problem that the school needs to resolve
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

We have three children going through and love it more each year. In the past two years alone, the improvements (academic, outreach, clubs, lministry, leadership, etc) have been fantastic. PS. None of my children play lax. Try soccer, cross-country, track, rowing and basketball --- get involved, try new things, be open!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

I am a student here and i think that the school could be a bit more hands on. It is mainly pointed toward lacrosse. Not my favorite
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2007

My child just graduated after 13 years and I would do it all over again. He found the teachers caring and supportive. He played sports, but not lax! We loved it and will miss the SMHS community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

I have been attending st. marys since first grade. It has to be hard for the new students arriving because everyone is already in a group and not open to new people. Looking back the school was okay but not as fun and inviting as it should be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2007

The teachers are over all the best, and only reason to go here. I look back and am disappointed that this was the high school I went to. The students are very rude, snobby, and argue over everything with the teacher. It depends who, but certain kids can get in serious trouble with the Asst. Principle, but then again, others can get away with horrible things. Clubs meet once a month, and might as well not exist. This is a 'catholic' school, but most of the children act with the up most disrespect it disgusted me. I found the school to be very rude, cruel, and judgmental. Enroll your child here with caution.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 25, 2006

I love the longer class period which gives my child a college-like experience in class as well as more opportunities to take honors and AP courses -- The school has a strong sense of spirit and community and the kids get into great colleges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

Overrall a very good school, i graduated in 2005 from this school and i was not an lax player yet i still had a postive experince there. The music department is slightly lacking. The Academics are good not great, and is not especially hard to get into st. mary'. Also it is a very affortable choice compared to the other privates in AA county. Its sports are very good, last year the girls lax team was 3rd in the nation and over the past ten years there has been 3 different sports ranked in the top ten (girls and guys lax and girls soccer). some amazing accomplishments for a 550 coed high school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 7, 2005

Don't be mislead by comments regarding lacrosse. There have been so many other positive experiences in and out of the fine athletic programs. This school offers the best overall value in the area. And despite the comments from Nov. 2004, the LAX coach is the firmest disciplinarian in the school. Some have commented that discipline is so firm that kids have lost some of their youth-based spirit. No problem, however, about kids participating in all forms of extra-curricular activities. This is a strong spirited school that tends to give back big time to the community during and after their secondary school experiences. Improvement desired in written communications, although recently I understand that an extra-curricular program was implemented to help students master this area. Writing skills development need to be more effectively integrated into the curriculum. Graduates have their pick of colleges regardless of athletic program activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2005

Our child graduated 2005. Comments from Nov. 2004 review are still, unfortunately, right on target. In addition, clubs meet only once a month per semester and often are a study hall. Principle is invisible - never seen and nonresponsive to phone and written messages. Discipline is also uneven as favoritism is a big issue. On the positive side - four period day seems to work well for attentive students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2004

I graduated from St Mary's in 2004 after 13 years (K-12) in the elementary and highschool. I would definitely disagree with the other reviews. Yes, if you are a lacrosse player, you can expect to have a pretty good high school experience. Favoritism towards lacrosse players is rampant, giving them privileges and letting them basically get away with murder, in class and out. Also, if you expect to see the principal, good luck. I rarely saw him during school hours. If your children don't mind favoritism and snobs, or if they are lacrosse players, then maybe St. Mary's is the school for them, but it certainly was not for me or many of my friends.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 10, 2004

This school prepares young students for the college atmosphere. Three of my daughters graduated from St. Mary's and were very successful student athletes in Div. 1 colleges. Great high school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2004

This is one of the best high schools in the country for getting your young lacrosse star into a great college. As for education, it is on par with public school honors programs. Its the best all around high school for the money.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 42%
Black 3% 35%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Two or more races 2% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Baltimore
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

113 Duke of Gloucester Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: (410) 990-4217

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Key School
Annapolis, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT