Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Annapolis Area Christian School - Middle School

Private | 6-8 | 911 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Annapolis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $385,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2007

Excellent school if you are looking for a Christian based school. I was a little intimidated by the application process but now that my daughter has finished the first year and I have seen how she loves school and her teacher I am so glad I choose this school. I like how it encourages parental involvement and teaches basic bible principles. Parents seem very nice and concerned about their child's education. Beautiful campus and classrooms. Very good leadership from the top down. Academics is a priority as it should be with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2006

This is our first year in the Kindergarten Readiness Program. We can't express how happy we are with the school and teachers. While we are not involved in after school activities yet, the school seems to have a lot to offer. We can't say enough great things about the school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2006

I was looking into AACC for my daughters' education. The application is lengthy and focuses too much on church involvement. As a newcomer to the area, and a new believer, I was hoping that a Christian School would have a more 'open arms' approach to a family seeking a Christian education for their children. Shouldn't that be part of the ministry? Suffer the little children unto me; NOT give the third degree to a parent's faith or church involvement to deem worthines. I was very much offended and found the application guidlines un-Christian like and discriminating. I would not allow my children to receive an education at AACC based on such biased school principles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2006

Excellent Christian education! Our three daughters graduated from Annapolis Area Christian School. They all went on to higher education and found they were very well prepared for college work espcially in the English area. The Upper School has a new campus. AACS has an excellent fine arts program, award winning marching band and chorale groups. The Middle School has an excellent academic reputation and offers numerous electives and afterschool programs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 27, 2006

AACS is very overrated. Academically it is weak and there is not a strong enough emphasis on structure and order. There is a general laxness to their approach to education and for a Christian school not enough of an emphasis on teaching morality and ethics. They do have an incredible marching band and music program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

Very average school that plays favorites...and allows those favorites to retake tests/redo work. The others are left out. Discipline seems to be handed out in the same manner. The school teachers and administrators are seasoned and can talk a good talk, but not all walk the talk. Communication between some teachers is lacking. I think there are many better private schools in the Annapolis Area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

This is a very good school. However, the after school activites could be better, the choices are band, band, or sports. There no other choices. Discipline could have been dealt with better. The Upper Schools science and math departments could be better, but the English department is fantastic. The teachers are very dedicated to the students and truly enjoy their work, and want to help the students learn.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

My daughter attended AACS last year and loved it! She will be going to first grade this year and is very excited to get back to her friends and the wonderful teachers. AACS encourages high parental involvement, which I think is so different than the public school systems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2003

We had our son Luke finish three years at AACS high school. We have had four children in 14 different schools. AACS rates in the top two schools. The school has a vision, philosophy of Christian education, and a great teaching staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 42%
Black 15% 35%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Hispanic 2% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School counslor
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Rick Kempton
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • CSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School counslor
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

716 Bestgate Road
Annapolis, MD 21401
Website: Click here
Phone: (410) 266-8251

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT