Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Harbour School At Annapolis

Private | 3-12 | 159 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Annapolis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $330,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2014

I went to The Harbour School for 11 years. I had some great experiences, but the school had very low academic standards. Also not to mention a VERY abusive,mean spirited High School math teacher who told students"they will never be able to do fractions because they are learning disabled." The Harbour School though means well, they paint a very false picture of the real world. For example, they embody an everybody gets a trophy type mentality. With little to no chances to get into good colleges, I strongly recomend against sending your child to The Harbour School. The School also accepts behavior that is not acceptable for the work place and that is not appropriate to do as an adult. When I went to public school before harbour, I remember that if you wanted to get on Honor Roll, it just wasn't enough to show up. You actually had to complete the work, and if you had all As and Bs you got a reward, if you got one C you were left empty handed. Harbour also did have a sensory room , where you can go cool off and relax, It was nice but I don't believe thats a good way to show students what the real world is like.


Posted April 25, 2013

After enduring the frustrations of a public school system that didn't have the resources to help my brother, my family was relieved to find The Harbour School in Annapolis. Because of its compelling, innovative, and individualized approach for students with learning differences, The Harbour School was the absolute best fit for my brother. We always have felt thankful for the wonderful educational experience my brother had at The Harbour School, as his self-confidence and self-esteem rose markedly. We were thrilled when he began to discover new interests through The Harbour School's outstanding extracurricular sports and arts programs; his participation in these activities further enhanced his social development. In addition to forming lasting friendships with fellow students, my brother also felt the daily compassion from Harbour s dedicated staff. Lastly, my brother drew inspiration from the enthusiasm for learning that the school's director, Dr. Linda Jacobs, always imparted to Harbour students. Moreover, my family felt reassured that someone with Dr. Jacobs' expertise and track record with special-needs education was at the helm during my brother's educational journey.


Posted November 11, 2011

I relied on this website due to moving from out of town and am pleased with my area. The main reason I moved to this area was the excellent school district. I have been lucky enough to get to know students that go to this school and am so pleased on how they've developed over the years. Per the parents, the students receive an individualized education and the students I know that go their have flourish.


Posted November 10, 2011

This school is full of inexperienced teachers at the lower levels, and burn-outs in the upper school, all who are terrified of the adminstrator, who is a controlling, personality-disordered individual whose sole purpose in life is to make money. She does this by firing those who have the most experience and who dare to tell her what is best for the students, and replacing them with pretty teachers who do not have degrees in education, who are fresh out of college, or teachers who bear more resemblence to Bob Cratchitt, keeping their mouths shut while they collect their measly pay. The self serving murals which she has paid several thousands of dollars for only serves to underline her narcissism, and flaunts the fact that she is more willing to spend tuition money on homages to herself than textbooks (of which there are NONE!) Although the school is on par with the public and other private schools, it certainly is not worth paying for. It is funny how the 5 star review here touts "parental involvement" when parents are not even allowed to volunteer during the school day! Sounds like lies to me! Don't be fooled by the pretty building, and the ipads.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 8, 2011

This school has been a nightmare for me and my wife!! warning do not send your child to this school please trust me. I pulled my son out but not soon enough before the damage that has scared my child for life from the neglect of this faulty, they will not, I repeat will not give your child the tools to succeed and will hold back secrets that your child has address to certain faulty members that they told my child to never to tell YOUR PARENTS!! Please for your safety and your child, DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL!! you have been warned!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

This school has many wonderful staff members, but they are being burned out because of the self-serving decisions of the director. Classes are getting bigger each year and the individual attention previously afforded students is being diluted by the overburdened staff.


Posted March 10, 2010

As a mother of a Harbour School graduate, I am more than delighted with my son's success as an adult. I attribute much of his success to the education and guidance he received at The Harbour School. The Director took a very personal interest in him and to this day, he thinks of her as a second back up mother.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

This is a fabulous school, with many fabulous teachers. I interned here for a year, and made many wonderful friends. I also can vouch for the committment of most of the people that work here. However, I must say, the director is a money hungry, horrible, selfish person. She definitely has an agenda that overshadows what is best for the children.


Posted January 10, 2005

We have been more than pleased with the Harbour School. Our son had transferred from a public Elementary school. (Please note, this school serves children between 6 and 21. The biggest advantages we see here is:a)outstanding parental involvement b)low student teacher ratios and c)caring teachers and administration. The Harbour School is an A+ school. I only wish that our soon would have started here earlier. This school provides opportunities to children who would never have the chance to participate in normal school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 42%
Black 36% 35%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • CEC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1277 Green Holly Drive
Annapolis, MD 21409
Phone: (410) 974-4248

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT