Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Annapolis Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 6, 2014

I would like to commend Mrs. Robinson, 6th Grade Science Teacher. She always goes above and beyond and truly exemplifies what a "teacher" is. My son adores her and she is always helpful and challenging my son in his studies as an IB student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

Annapolis Middle School i think this school is amazing i am still attending the school and this fall ill be in 8th grade i have made lifetime friends and learned lots of stuff and my class is actually the last class to not use the common core i love this school and everyone there it its fun but educational there are plenty of books to read and clubs to join the teachers are nice and very resourceful i have a friend who just joined the school this year and thought he was going to be an outcast but he has tons of friends so you wont have to worry about your kids being bullied at all because the teachers and administrators are always in the hallway watching during class time and transitions but lastly the school is really good when it comes to projects and homework because it prepares you for college


Posted May 9, 2012

AMS is probably the best ib middle school in the U.S. The teachers, the principal, and staff are great. There are lots of options for encore classes and highly advanced core classes. I moved from this rated 5/10 school to a 9/10 school and I still think AMS is better at teaching and has a better eviroment.


Posted May 9, 2012

The Best MYP(Middle School International Baccalaureate Program) School in the United States of America. Everyone there loved the School, Program, and staff.


Posted March 7, 2012

I am lucky enough to have two children at AMS. They are very different learners, but both are getting a great deal out of the excellent IB program. The teachers, administrators, and staff at AMS are fantastic. They know the children well, and contact parents with any concerns. The teachers are very responsive and committed. My children are academically challenged and are as enthusiastic about learning as I can expect them, as middle-schoolers, to be. Free after-school homework help is available a few times a week, after school clubs and enrichment activities are excellent, and parent involvement is good. The school is led by a strong principal who cares about the children and supports the teachers very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

I went to Annapolis Middle for 2 years until my parents switched me into the private school system. I loved the school. The kids were welcoming and fun to be around. If you didn't 'get smart' you could literally glide through socially at AMS. My parents switched me because they felt the school wasn't challenging enough. That would be the only problem I see in AMS. The custodians do an incredible job with the halls and bathrooms. 75% of teachers you will love. (there's always that one teacher who gets on your nerves :) ) The teachers are incredible yet firm with the kids who refuse to participate. The IB program, to me, is just a title until the program starts in 10th grade at the high school. The curiculam is the same as any other school. Though the class sizes are big, it's a chance to get to know everyone. You have all of your core classes with basically the same people so you get to know those 15 or so kids really well. All in all, AMS has a reputation that they didn't earn. That all the kids shoot up and other crazy allegations. AMS has it's quirks, just like all other schools. I loved the school, and I am missing everyone there over the summer. GO DRAGONS!!!


Posted May 25, 2011

Our son is just finishing up 6th grade at AMS. We were very nervous about his transition from a private school to public school. The transition went very well. The teachers and staff have been amazing!! They are very comitted to making it a positive learning enviornment. The IB program is just what our son needed academically. He has surpassed our expectations and has gained so much confidence!! We are so proud of him and thankful to AMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

My children are having an excellent experience at AMS. The staff and teachers are responsive to requests and seem to really enjoy their job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

So far this year my 6th grader is having an awesome school experience at Annap. Middle. Her teachers are exceptional and we are impressed with the IB (International Baccalaureate) program and how it relates her classes to each other and to the world. I love the new uniforms. They really seem to make a difference in the students. The after school activities offered are many and varied. Finally, I look forward to the change from 4 class periods a day this year to 7 next year. I really think AMS is a great choice for Annapolis middle schoolers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

AMS is on its way up! The teachers this year (2008-2009) are excellent -- many of them are new to the school. They are committed to each and every child's success. The county has made implementing MYP/IB a priority so keep your eyes peeled for exciting programs that will set this school apart from the rest. A new principal for 2009-2010 will re-energize the staff and get AMS out of the rut it's been in for far too long. Don't waste your hard-earned money on private school when there is a viable option for middle schoolers to get a good education in Annapolis!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 41% 35%
White 30% 42%
Hispanic 24% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1399 Forest Dr
Annapolis, MD 21403
Phone: (410) 267-8658

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT