Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Annapolis High School 1

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
If your teen does not need special education services, can deal with fights, the bad behavior, enroll in the IB, Advanced Placement, PVA or better tech programs, it may be OK. If your child needs special education services, WATCH OUT. Staff members who know my autistic child warned me away. Unfortunately, we could not find a way to avoid placing my son at this school. Special education here is AWFUL. Your kid will be mainstreamed into "co-taught" classes where his/her education is an after thought. Kid having trouble? Don't count on much help from "co-taught" class teachers. If they get "busy" they will simply excuse your LD child from having to complete a project, and give him an A or B. Your child will soon learn that work done by special ed students does not matter to his teacher. SAD. In other co-taught classes, your kid will be staring out the window while the teachers concentrate on the "normal kids," or try to control the others who spend the period acting out. If your teen is well behaved, his rude, cursing classmates will intimidate and frustrate him. You will probably never see your kid bring home a text book, or homework in most classes, and you will wonder what that report card full of As and Bs was all about. If your child needs special technology, FORGET having it available early in the year. MONTHS will go by. Your kid will be left primarily in the hands of untrained , uncertified "aides" who are only required to have a GED or HS diploma. If you ask questions, or challenge how the IEP is being implemented, most of these "special educators" get defensive and start telling you about their qualifications to avoid giving you answers. When a few concerned faculty members warn you away in private, you know you are in the wrong place.

Annapolis High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
Almost no homework is given, especially for special education. Other students have also informed me that they almost never have it either. The faculty only bothers with it for the IB and AP students. I have never seen my special ed student bring home a text book. EVER.


Annapolis High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
My special needs teen complains so much about the insults, cursing and mayhem in his co-taught "honors" classes, that I can hardly believe there is much respect in this environment. Staffers I know complain about the horrible behavior. After fights, brawls that require intervention of law enforcement, offenders get a slap on the wrist and the principal sends out a robo-call about how fights, violence and the like is not a part of her school. Really? Looks like it is.

Annapolis High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
The unified sports is a nice idea. However, my special needs student has no friends, and has isolated himself to avoid getting hit and cornered in the hallway and the cafeteria. He is afraid to use the bathroom.

Annapolis High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
These values may be encouraged in the high performing AP and IB students, PVA and advanced tech programs, but not in all of the special education co-taught classes, which are a joke. Your special education student's work gets slapped with an A or a B even if it is incomplete, incorrect, or absolute nonsense. In a pinch, they sometimes do the work for your kid, so you think there is progress. If you know your child, you will not be fooled.


Annapolis High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and staffers who pleaded with me to keep my special needs youngster out of this school, if I could find a way to keep him out. They warned me it would be bad. And it is!

Annapolis High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
There are a couple of good teachers, but they are leaving. No one stays for more than a couple of years. This is a low performing school with lousy behavior. They have a lot of things to fix first.

Annapolis High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
Only expected of the IB and Advanced Placement students. Everyone else gets passed on. Your special education student will be "taught" as an after thought, and only when the teacher has time. My kid has ended up believing that his work does not matter, and whatever he does, he will at least get a B. Not much need for grit and determination for that, is there?


Annapolis High School 5

Posted April 24, 2015
- a community member
I graduated Annapolis High School ten years ago. I took either honors classes or AP classes and it was an awesome experience. I learned a tremendous amount from the teachers the Math and Spanish departments really stood out. My friends are shocked when I say I learned Spanish just through high school they say well I took Spanish in high school too, how did you learn so much? It is a testament to the school s awesome Spanish teachers at the time. Math was great, I was well prepared entering UMD with what I learned at Annapolis. Annapolis High boasts an IB program which is as intense a program as there is for USA High School academics. My sister went through the program and with her extremely hard work and dedication to education ended up getting enough money in scholarships to pay for her entire schooling. If you work hard and apply yourself here then great things can come to you. On top of the excellent education students can get when they apply themselves, the diversity at Annapolis High is great and showed me the real world . In life you deal with people of all different backgrounds and Annapolis gives you this. I hope to send my kids to this school one day.

Annapolis High School 1

Posted February 09, 2015
- a student
This school literally sucks. I moved from a school that teachers care about you and going to school was fun, NOT HERE. In any school students are what make a school, everyday there are atleast 3-5 fights a day, teachers dont care, principal could care less. Its ridiculous!! The ratings should be a -10 out of 10. Dont go here, dont put your kid here, if you do, you have made the BIGGEST mistake of your life.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Annapolis High School
2700 Riva Rd, Annapolis, MD  21401
(410) 266-5240
Last modified Annapolis High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Annapolis High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. Top