Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Belvedere Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 16, 2013

My child has had issues with bullies at this school. Principal denies that kids bully in her school. The bullied child is perceiving things wrong, my child hates this school, lost trust in this school and both if us cannot wait for the day that my child never has to step foot in this school again. Other parents have told me they have been through the same kind of problems and the principal tells them the same thing. It gets turned around on the bullied child and the parents instead of addressing the real problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

WE LOVE this school... We are sad to leave the area, only because of the school.. my Children have had the best teachers.. THEY are AMAZING! the Office Staff is GREAT as well! Dont have a bad thing to say about it! And both my kids love it as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

I have been disappointed with this school on a number of levels. No voluntary reading program, poor follow through with the information for grade levels and specials on blackboard, hard to contact part-time specials teachers.I don't feel my son has been challenged much at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

Belvedere is a wonderful school. The parent and community involvement is amazing! All of the teachers give 100 percent. I can't believe the 5th grade got a rating of 8. It must have been a testing glitch because that team of teachers is the best! They really prepare the kids for middle school and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

We love third grade! My son has done so well!!! He has learned so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

This is a super school! The building itself is newly rennovated and very modern. Teachers are super.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

Words fail me, this is an excellent school with good academics, caring staff and great nurses (we have a type 1 six year old) Music program is great too. What a find !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2004

This school is absolutely wonderful. The staff is caring & knowledgable. Unfortunately the open court program makes their jobs more demanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Black 6% 35%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

360 Broadwater Rd
Arnold, MD 21012
Phone: (410) 975-9432

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Jones Elementary School
Severna Park, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT