Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Magothy River Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2013

I have a 6th grade son. PROS- Great Kids- great parents- good peer group- great teachers and academically high most of the time. Some new classes have no experienced teachers, but I think this is isolated. My son has adored language arts and social studies, his teachers have been exceptional. Math has a new curriculum for STEM which is very difficult and kids are struggling. CONS- School environment is depressing, no windows, no outside time, no recess, enormous school and class sizes, so very hard for a child to stand out or be encouraged to do something because they are one of thousands. It is sink or swim for 6th graders and no sympathy for what an adjustment it is from 5th to 6th. It is a real shame that no foreign language is available for 6th grade, only a strange quarter of the year class with 3 languages which teaches them nothing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

As a retired classroom teacher and volunteer at Magothy, I have observed a high level of both academic and personal concern for students at all levels of school operation. There is a wide variety of activities and opportunities for students of all interests. I'd like to give a special nod to the music program.


Posted April 25, 2010

I have two sons attending this school. My oldest is an 8th grader who has Juvenile Rhematoid Arthritis. This school has been wonderful in spupporting my son in very way. With their help he has succeeded in maintaining his 4.0 average, become a member of the National Junior Honor Society and a Carson Scholar winner. He has also become very involved with the Arthritis Foundation helping to raise funds and spread awareness. Without the school's support none of this would be possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

Great teachers, alot of after school activities, always available to students. They keep the parents informed and the principle has open forum meetings with parents. Fantastic school and faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

Though test scores are great here the atmosphere for students is stifling. The administration is strict and punishes the whole student body for the actions of a few. My child was unable to flourish and grow because she was so afraid of breaking a rule. Security and safety of the students is important but this school has gone overboard. Very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2008

It is a wonderful school! I dont have to worry about my son because I know he will be safe at this school, and that is a great feeling. I am also apart of the parent and involvment and there are many other parents with me that put so much effort into making the school the best! And for the extracurricular activites, there are many clubs and organizatons the kids have to option to do. There is also activity buses that provide a ride home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

Way too strict of an administration. Nice teachers, but the actual teaching could be much better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2007

My daughter went here for three years. They have great math and science programs, but they need to work on their language arts and social studies programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

I am very happy with the teachers, less so with the Administration: in my opinion, it is very strict with good kids,but rather weak with the real bullies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2007

Nice teachers, but the administrtion is way too stict.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2007

Bad administration.Building old and needs work.Spend way too much time preparing for tests. overloads of homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2004

Administration is terrible. Support for individual students is non-existent. Teachers do not return letters, phone calls. Most do not help children who have been sick and need to make up work, instead they simply fail. If your child can survive in this atmosphere they will do fine in life ! For MRMS is the toughest test so far. Be prepared for major surprises at report time, for you will receive no communication about your child's progress until it's too late to help their grades. My experience in PA was like night and day to this school. No excuse for the lack of support. Get a sign outside the school like SRMS, it might just start improving some communications with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2003

Administration is weak - teaching staff is strong and superb. Math department excels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2003

I was not pleased with the atmosphere at Magothy; I did not find the administration (under the former principal) to be student friendly or helpful to new students. I asked the guidance department repeatedly to include my child in a buddy program, but did not receive any assistance from the guidance counselor. When calling the office, I always felt like my calls were an intrusion on the secretary's time; I did not feel like my child's welfare was a top priority. Standardized test scores, and not student welfare, seem to be the primary concern at MRMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 42%
Black 6% 35%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Industrial shop

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Industrial shop
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

241 Peninsula Farm Rd
Arnold, MD 21012
Phone: (410) 544-0926

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Severn School
Severna Park, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT