Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Arnold, MD
Students enrolled: 771
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Magothy River Middle School 4

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
I have a 6th grade son. PROS- Great Kids- great parents- good peer group- great teachers and academically high most of the time. Some new classes have no experienced teachers, but I think this is isolated. My son has adored language arts and social studies, his teachers have been exceptional. Math has a new curriculum for STEM which is very difficult and kids are struggling. CONS- School environment is depressing, no windows, no outside time, no recess, enormous school and class sizes, so very hard for a child to stand out or be encouraged to do something because they are one of thousands. It is sink or swim for 6th graders and no sympathy for what an adjustment it is from 5th to 6th. It is a real shame that no foreign language is available for 6th grade, only a strange quarter of the year class with 3 languages which teaches them nothing.

Magothy River Middle School 5

Posted May 16, 2011
- a community member
As a retired classroom teacher and volunteer at Magothy, I have observed a high level of both academic and personal concern for students at all levels of school operation. There is a wide variety of activities and opportunities for students of all interests. I'd like to give a special nod to the music program.


Magothy River Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
I have two sons attending this school. My oldest is an 8th grader who has Juvenile Rhematoid Arthritis. This school has been wonderful in spupporting my son in very way. With their help he has succeeded in maintaining his 4.0 average, become a member of the National Junior Honor Society and a Carson Scholar winner. He has also become very involved with the Arthritis Foundation helping to raise funds and spread awareness. Without the school's support none of this would be possible.

Magothy River Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers, alot of after school activities, always available to students. They keep the parents informed and the principle has open forum meetings with parents. Fantastic school and faculty.

Magothy River Middle School 3

Posted August 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Magothy River Middle School 2

Posted June 13, 2009
- a parent
Though test scores are great here the atmosphere for students is stifling. The administration is strict and punishes the whole student body for the actions of a few. My child was unable to flourish and grow because she was so afraid of breaking a rule. Security and safety of the students is important but this school has gone overboard. Very disappointed.

Magothy River Middle School 4

Posted April 27, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Magothy River Middle School 1

Posted March 09, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Magothy River Middle School 1

Posted January 14, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Magothy River Middle School 5

Posted December 23, 2008
- a parent
It is a wonderful school! I dont have to worry about my son because I know he will be safe at this school, and that is a great feeling. I am also apart of the parent and involvment and there are many other parents with me that put so much effort into making the school the best! And for the extracurricular activites, there are many clubs and organizatons the kids have to option to do. There is also activity buses that provide a ride home.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Magothy River Middle School
241 Peninsula Farm Rd, Arnold, MD  21012
(410) 544-0926
Last modified Magothy River Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Magothy River Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top