Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Magothy River Middle School 4

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
I have a 6th grade son. PROS- Great Kids- great parents- good peer group- great teachers and academically high most of the time. Some new classes have no experienced teachers, but I think this is isolated. My son has adored language arts and social studies, his teachers have been exceptional. Math has a new curriculum for STEM which is very difficult and kids are struggling. CONS- School environment is depressing, no windows, no outside time, no recess, enormous school and class sizes, so very hard for a child to stand out or be encouraged to do something because they are one of thousands. It is sink or swim for 6th graders and no sympathy for what an adjustment it is from 5th to 6th. It is a real shame that no foreign language is available for 6th grade, only a strange quarter of the year class with 3 languages which teaches them nothing.

Magothy River Middle School 5

Posted May 16, 2011
- a community member
As a retired classroom teacher and volunteer at Magothy, I have observed a high level of both academic and personal concern for students at all levels of school operation. There is a wide variety of activities and opportunities for students of all interests. I'd like to give a special nod to the music program.


Magothy River Middle School
no rating

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
I have two sons attending this school. My oldest is an 8th grader who has Juvenile Rhematoid Arthritis. This school has been wonderful in spupporting my son in very way. With their help he has succeeded in maintaining his 4.0 average, become a member of the National Junior Honor Society and a Carson Scholar winner. He has also become very involved with the Arthritis Foundation helping to raise funds and spread awareness. Without the school's support none of this would be possible.

Magothy River Middle School
no rating

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers, alot of after school activities, always available to students. They keep the parents informed and the principle has open forum meetings with parents. Fantastic school and faculty.

Magothy River Middle School 2

Posted June 13, 2009
- a parent
Though test scores are great here the atmosphere for students is stifling. The administration is strict and punishes the whole student body for the actions of a few. My child was unable to flourish and grow because she was so afraid of breaking a rule. Security and safety of the students is important but this school has gone overboard. Very disappointed.


Magothy River Middle School 5

Posted December 23, 2008
- a parent
It is a wonderful school! I dont have to worry about my son because I know he will be safe at this school, and that is a great feeling. I am also apart of the parent and involvment and there are many other parents with me that put so much effort into making the school the best! And for the extracurricular activites, there are many clubs and organizatons the kids have to option to do. There is also activity buses that provide a ride home.

Magothy River Middle School 2

Posted August 04, 2007
- a student
Way too strict of an administration. Nice teachers, but the actual teaching could be much better.

Magothy River Middle School 3

Posted August 04, 2007
- a parent
My daughter went here for three years. They have great math and science programs, but they need to work on their language arts and social studies programs.


Magothy River Middle School 3

Posted May 08, 2007
- a parent
I am very happy with the teachers, less so with the Administration: in my opinion, it is very strict with good kids,but rather weak with the real bullies.

Magothy River Middle School 2

Posted April 09, 2007
- a student
Nice teachers, but the administrtion is way too stict.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Magothy River Middle School
241 Peninsula Farm Rd, Arnold, MD  21012
(410) 544-0926
Last modified Magothy River Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Magothy River Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top