Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
106 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mater Amoris School 5

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has attended Mater Amoris since first grade. She is entering 6th grade there. If you like classic Montessori education for your child THIS IS YOUR SCHOOL! There is no fluff, no outside/weird materials - it is all Montessori - the "real" Montessori - and I can't say enough great things about the teachers (who all hold advanced degrees in Montessori education), the grounds of the school, and how much my daughter has excelled and grown there.

Mater Amoris School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Shea - Thank you for having the foresight to create a classic Montessori environment and hold steadfast to its ideals.


Mater Amoris School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
Thank goodness Mater Amoris realizes that if students work hard during the entire school day, there is no need to send homework home! Mater Amoris and it's children and staff are brilliant at using their time wisely.

Mater Amoris School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
Since Montessori Education follows the whole child, each student taught at a very early age to manage time, master deadlines, plan ahead, etc. All of that thoughtful training supports persistence, grit and students be very determined.

Mater Amoris School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
Classic Montessori education focuses on grace and civility - after all, Dr. Maria Montessori was nominated for two Noble Peace Prizes! I also see such leadership development in the children that attend Mater Amoris.


Mater Amoris School 5

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
Mater Amoris is an AMI school with more than 50 years of history. It is located on a beautiful 13 acre property near the Montgomery and Howard county line. We visited four AMI Montessori schools and two AMS Montessori school in the vicinity of Ellicott City before deciding on Mater Amoris. It is easy to purchase Montessori materials to make a beautiful classroom. However, it is very difficult to create a sense of peace that you feel while walking around the campus, watching the children, and interacting with the staff and other parents. The devotion to Dr. Montessori's vision and principles through years of practice instils such peace. We felt this peace while visiting the school. Among the visitors, there was a four to five-year-old little girl. When we reached Ms. Shea's primary class (age 3-6), before greeting the adults, she bent down to the child's level, shook the little girl's hand, and greeted her. In this simple act, the founder and director of the school, demonstrated what it means to respect a child. One visiting mother who is a public high school teacher in Montgomery county also informed us that the some of her best students came from Mater Amoris. They excel not only in academics but also in soft skills such as leadership and self-discipline. This is a school that has become the second home for my son who enrolled in one of the primary classes at the age of two years and four months. Even though he was not completely potty trained, Mater Amoris accepted him and was so patient and loving in helping him adapting to the new environment. In a matter of two weeks, he adjusted and became accident free. We live in a neighborhood of renowned public schools. We believe even the very best public schools cannot compare to an authentic Montessori education, especially during the primary and elementary years that are critical to the formation of a child's habits, morals, and mind. An AMI trained Montessori teacher often has a Master's degree in addition to one year of intensive training. Their passion and commitment to better the human race through education are often unparalleled. Montessori principles have thrived world wide and proven so visionary by numerous researches in neuroscience and early child development. We thank Mater Amoris for making an excellent Montessori education available to my child.

Mater Amoris School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
The older children in the school help greet the very young children, including helping them remove their shoe and taking their hands to go to their classroom.

Mater Amoris School 5

Posted January 04, 2015
- a parent
Mater Amoris is a Montessori school that adheres to Maria Montessori's approach in supporting the natural development of the child in a well-prepared environment. The teachers are AMI-trained and provide a loving, nurturing, and respectful environment for students to thrive. The students and families are supportive of one another and there is plenty of opportunity to volunteer and get involved in the school community. My child went on to a Howard County public middle school and was far ahead of her peers in truly "getting" the big picture in math because of her experience with math manipulatives at MA. She also gained a love and appreciation for good writing, which has carried her through some challenging (Common Core) writing assignments in the Howard County public school system. Perhaps the most valuable takeaway for MA students is their sense of self; through teachable moments with their peers and teachers, these kids become role models and leaders with integrity in their subsequent school communities.


Mater Amoris School 5

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
Mater Amoris is an amazing school. The traditional Montessori curriculum is the center piece of this lovely school especially in regards to the education of the whole child. The parent community is warm and inviting with many opportunities to volunteer. My communication with teachers has been wonderful. The children of Mater Amoris graduate with a deep love of learning, independence, compassion for others and our planet, and strong sense of self. They are also able to advocate for themselves. This school is a treasure on 13 acres in Ashton, Maryland.

Mater Amoris School 5

Posted September 28, 2014
- a parent
Fabulous. Wonderful. I love this school. My daughter attended from age 4 through sixth grade. The upper elementary teacher prepared her for a smooth transition into all of the highest academic level classes in her new school. From my point of view, her strong academic skills are secondary to the life lessons and character development that was encouraged by the school. The teachers develop within the students a passion for learning, confidence, independence, and kind and gentle responsiveness to each other. This school is a gem. It doesn't get much better than this!

Nearby schools

Mater Amoris School
18501 Mink Hollow Road, Ashton-Sandy Spring, MD  20861
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (301) 774-7468
Last modified Mater Amoris School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top