Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
531 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sandy Spring Friends School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
In response to the previous reviewer…of COURSE they don't get paid well! They are here because they LOVE what they do, they are dedicated and passionate educators, unlike many public school teachers who are in it for the tenure, benefits, and retirement packages!

Sandy Spring Friends School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
Students are expected to work very independently, and are supported as needed but really are sent back often to edit, review, etc., until they can present their best work.


Sandy Spring Friends School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
Lots of service learning, lots of cross-grade experiences (older kids supporting younger students, etc.). Quaker values are the underpinning of the entire curriculum…the light in EVERYONE should be celebrated (and is at SSFS!)

Sandy Spring Friends School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
The teachers model and discuss these traits daily, and follow up on any issues that arise

Sandy Spring Friends School 5

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
We send our children to SSFS for the strong values-based education. The academics are stellar as well, and they have a rich arts program, as well as the full complement of sports. What underlies all of these programs, however, is the expectation that courtesy, kindness, and service to the greater community are equally important in helping children grow to be excellent human beings. All you have to do is speak with any graduate or Upper Schooler and you will be so impressed with the level of respect and thoughtfulness you see. These older kids are who I want my little guys to turn out to be. I don't honestly care if they go to "Ivy" schools or not (although I think the fact that the Quiz Bowl team at SSFS has consistently won championship games in the last several years speaks pretty well for the rigor of the academics?). My kids are learning to be good people, and I am so thankful they are surrounded by those expectations every day.


Sandy Spring Friends School 3

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
I don't like the current administration. In my opinion, the place has always been clicky to the point of being inbred. Too much parent involvement in sports. Yet, the athletic dept does not appear to have any coherent aim. Some teams appear run for the benefit of a few. Other teams purport to be run for the benefit of all. End result, many teams are uncompetitive and appear run to lose. Academically, the language program is quite good. English is mediocre. Math and science fall somewhere in between. Not what I would call a stepping stone to the Ivy League. The campus is nice. Unfortunately, capital projects have forced the school to continually raise tuition, while preventing any upgrade to administrators or teachers. In my experience, you pay quite a bit of money, and they don't seem to care if you see any issues.

Sandy Spring Friends School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
To me, many appear to coast and complain. I also believe that some should not be there. The school just seems to want bodies in the classroom. I doubt that they pay much, especially given all the capital projects in need of money.

Sandy Spring Friends School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
Too many group projects used to prop up underperformers. No consequence to late asignments. Hand it in three days late and get the same grade as those who bother to do work on time. Not a great lesson for kids to learn.


Sandy Spring Friends School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
To develop these characteristics, there must be some realistic opportunity for more than a select few to do well and grow.

Sandy Spring Friends School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
I believe that to teach and develop respect, you must create an atmosphere where administrators, coaches, and teachers show respect.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sandy Spring Friends School
16923 Norwood Road, Ashton-Sandy Spring, MD  20860
(301) 774-7455
Last modified Sandy Spring Friends School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Sandy Spring Friends School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top