Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Agnes School

Private | PK-8 | 250 students

A strong curriculum in Academics, Athletics, and the Arts
 
 

 
 

Living in Baltimore

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $85,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2014

Awesome school excellent staff and student body. All my kids attended this school. Wouldn't trade this school for anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2014

My four children attend this school and I am extremely happy with their education. It is a caring environment filled with dedicated staff, teachers and parents. The school continues to push for new technology while keeping core virtues intact. St, Agnes is a wonderful, faith-based school and I am proud to send my children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2011

this school is terrible. very racist . so happy when i graduated. they are always asking for money, and yet they can't seem to offer the children hot lunches or lockers. Don't send your child here. they would be better off going to a public school. The only person who seemed to care about my education when I was there was the science teacher. she was amazing. The worst part is that you have to be catholic to be able to get finacial aid. Unless you want to be broke, don't send your child here.


Posted November 4, 2010

Do not send your child to this school...My son was one the school that was closed down by the Arch of Baltimore. I enrolled him in to this school and it was not a warm place if you are African American.. I pulled him out of school and place him in other school much better
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

St. Agnes has been a blessing for my children. The children recieve a strong education and the homeschool association offers many opportunities to have fun. Before finding St. Agnes the Baltimore county and Howard County schools offered my chikdren very little but the tuitions were much much more than St, Agnes. Unfortuantely Maryland is the only state that seems to have so many expensive private schools because the public school system does unfair injustice to the children. The staff is warm and they seem to put their heart into their work. I feel that my children will be prepared to compete with their peers as they continue on thier educational journey. I am a firm believer that when a child is happy in their learning environment they will thrive!! I recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

I am a parent of two children who attend the school and I am a public school teacher. There is no contest - my children are in the right place. The level of parent involvement is much better than in the public school in which I teach. And whether volunteering is mandated or not, whether the school is public or private, the children of parents who volunteer at a school do better than the children of parents who do not. We have been very happy with the level of individualized attention that our children have gotten from their teachers. I am also happy with the lack of disruption - so much more can be learned when the classes are well behaved and engaged. We intend to keep our children there through the eighth grade. St. Agnes School is a great place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

My children got good grades at St Agnes for the 2 years they attended. Once they moved to a public school, they were behind academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2008

My daughter is in this school. She is in middle school and she LOVES it! All of the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

I have had children in both the elementary school and the middle school. The elementary teachers were good, kind women and my child's experience was good overall. My middle schooler was miserable. The children were very cliquish, and were totally closed to newcomers. The rules were unreasonable and unfair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2007

My son does wonderfully academic wise, but the staff, going up to the vice principal, is not good. First grade teachers and vice principal are very rude, have bad attitudes and think that if it's not their way, it's no way. Your child isn't offered a hot lunch everyday. You pay $500 a month for what??? You have to earn 20 volunteer hours per school year, and if you don't, your charged $10 for every hour you miss. You have to pay for every little thing the school offers, including certain supplies that can be bought at Wal-Mart, or somewhere like that. I think the entire staff should be reviewed because there are a select few who need reality checks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

My son is in the full day K program. I am amazed at how much he has learned academically. The emphasis on Christian principles and being part of a community is great. The teachers and staff are truly dedicated to the growth of each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2004

St. Agnes is a wonderful school! The children are like family and are so considerate of one another. There is a strong faith base and their curriculum is challenging. Children are taught at a young age how to achieve success. The teachers are very dedicated and faith-filled individuals. We are more than just a school at St. Agnes...we are a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2004

This is a great school. My sin is currently enrolled in preschool there and will be attending kindergarten there in the fall. I would get it two thumbs up. This school puts the children first. Faith and values are seen everyday through these kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 42%
Black 42% 35%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Vietnamese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Susan Banks
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (410) 636-5455

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Baltimore
  • Baltimore County Schools
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Mount De Sales Academy
Mount St. Joseph High School
Seton Keough High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

603 Saint Agnes Lane
Baltimore, MD 21229
Website: Click here
Phone: (410) 719-9466

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Green Street Academy
Baltimore, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT