Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Archbishop Curley High School

Private | 9-12 | 530 students

Our school is best known for providing a well-rounded education.

 

Living in Baltimore

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $50,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $980.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2012

I wouldn't send my child to this school unless you don't mind your son being bullied. The athletes (not all of them mind you), target "different" boys and harrass them. My son was expelled for fighting back after 3 years of bullying and nothing was done to the boys doing the bullying. I also had teachers make me aware of the problem but nothing was done. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

Archbishop Curley High School is fantastic. My son became a whole different person after starting his freshmman year. He gained knowledge, friendships, and self esteem. The students at ABC are young men of intelligence, excellence and honor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2006

ABC is an amazing school. Boys are taught to respect and value themselves and others as they grow into men. There is a strong academic program offering opportunities for all levels of achievement. Discipline is very important and boys are held accountable for ALL of their actions. Most importantly is the support of the faculty and staff to the families. You are not just a student when you attend Curley, you and your family become a member of a large community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

My oldest son is in his second year at Archbishop Curley and he just loves it. He is doing well in school and is excelling in the music program. Every young man is encouraged to find the academic program and extra curricular activities that suits him. The teachers and school leaders are always available for the boys and for a parent conference if needed outside the regular quarterly meeting. The administrative staff is excellent as well. Anytime I have contacted the school I have been impressed with the responsiveness of the faculty and staff. The Curley men are expected to conduct themselves in a respectful manner at all times. Discipline problems are dealt with fairly and swiftly but the atmosphere is not stifling for these young active males. It is also impressive how much alumni and parents involvement there is at the school. The school continues to strive and maintain excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

My oldest son is a sophmore at Archbishop Curley. Both my husband and I are very pleased with the academics as well as the athletics and various clubs. From the first time we walked through the doors for open house we knew curley was the perfect choice. The teachers are very accommodating to the students and parents, and the administration is unequaled to any I have encountered. Curley staff is inundated with alumni who have returned to Curley to help pass on Curley pride. I feel one of the most beneficial aspects are the parent/teacher conferences held each quarter. It gives the parents time to discuss their son's classwork and attitude and also helps to form a bond between teacher/parent. My younger son will be starting Curley in the fall. He's looking forward to the new experience of High School while already being fortunate enough to be fimiliar with the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2004

My son currently is a Junior at Curley. I am very pleased with his academics as well as the impact the school has had on him. The way the teachers and staff mold the students in to becoming gentlemen is very rewarding to the parents as well as the students. Curley implements the students to behave and act in such a manner that they are both respected by others as well as repectful. It is very hard now days to raise children to become the person we would like them to be. By sending my child to Curley, we feel as though we have an extra hand in helping us to quide him down the right path. I know that he will look back on his time at Curley, and say 'Thanks Mom & Dad' for giving me the opportunity to attend Curley. We say thank you to Curley for their efforts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2004

My husband and I are very happy that our son wanted to attend Curley.My son also loves it.From the classroom to the football field our son is getting a great education.He has also made a lot of new friends I'm sure he will have for along time.Anyone looking for an all round perfect school this is the one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2004

curley is a wonderful school in every way. my son transfered from another private school at the end of is sophmore year. my only regret is that he was not there for all 4 years. my son and our family plan on supporting curley every way we can in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Archbishop Curley is a great school with a strong family environment. The teachers really care about the boys and are part of the family. Among other things the boys are taught discipline and respect. The boys graduate well rounded and are better prepared to take on their next challenge in life. It was a great four years for my son. I only wish I would have known about them sooner as I would have sent my older son there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My son went to Curley all 4 years there, and graduated in 2001. The school does not put up with non-discipline and expects parents to follow through at home as well. They teach these boys how to become morally accountable, how treat and be treated with respect. The education is excellent and the teachers there more than willing to help the young men anytime they find a need for extra help other then class, not once had my son been turned away from after school tutoring when needed if he had trouble in a subject. The music and sports programs are wonderful too, and school schedules balance out well too for the young men involved in these activities. I highly recommend Curley for any parent who is serious about their son's education and doesn't want to get lost a large unpersonalized school. This school excels in every way if your son wants to be a morally well educated young adult and well prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Curley is a great school and very family oriented. My son has never been as happy with school until he arrived at Curley. He is now a junior. Most of the teachers and administrators are really involved with the students and more than happy to work with them to help them succeed. The discipline they teach and practice is evident in the way the 'Curley men' conduct themselves at school and off campus. I have been very impressed and very happy with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My son graduated in 1997, his father graduated in 1972. This is by far the best High School in the state. The students come in as boys and leave as fine young men. The quality of the education is exceptional. Not only do the young men receive an excellent education, but the morals that are instilled at home are enforced by the entire staff. The best investment you can make in your child is their education. When your son graduates from Archbishop Curley, your investment was the best investment you could ever have made
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 45%
Black 15% 40%
Hispanic 3% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drum line
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • It's Academic
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:25 pm
School Leader's name
  • Fr. Joseph Benicewicz, OFM Conv.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • All boys
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Bus Service from several areas
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Drum line
  • Game club
  • It's Academic
  • Literary magazine
  • Mock trial competition club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
200
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
300

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$12000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3701 Sinclair Ln
Baltimore, MD 21213
Website: Click here
Phone: (410) 485-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Claremont School
Baltimore, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT