Advertisement
Advertisement

Archbishop Curley High School

Private | 9-12 | 560 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Baltimore

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $50,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $980.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2012

I wouldn't send my child to this school unless you don't mind your son being bullied. The athletes (not all of them mind you), target "different" boys and harrass them. My son was expelled for fighting back after 3 years of bullying and nothing was done to the boys doing the bullying. I also had teachers make me aware of the problem but nothing was done. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

Archbishop Curley High School is fantastic. My son became a whole different person after starting his freshmman year. He gained knowledge, friendships, and self esteem. The students at ABC are young men of intelligence, excellence and honor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2006

ABC is an amazing school. Boys are taught to respect and value themselves and others as they grow into men. There is a strong academic program offering opportunities for all levels of achievement. Discipline is very important and boys are held accountable for ALL of their actions. Most importantly is the support of the faculty and staff to the families. You are not just a student when you attend Curley, you and your family become a member of a large community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

My oldest son is in his second year at Archbishop Curley and he just loves it. He is doing well in school and is excelling in the music program. Every young man is encouraged to find the academic program and extra curricular activities that suits him. The teachers and school leaders are always available for the boys and for a parent conference if needed outside the regular quarterly meeting. The administrative staff is excellent as well. Anytime I have contacted the school I have been impressed with the responsiveness of the faculty and staff. The Curley men are expected to conduct themselves in a respectful manner at all times. Discipline problems are dealt with fairly and swiftly but the atmosphere is not stifling for these young active males. It is also impressive how much alumni and parents involvement there is at the school. The school continues to strive and maintain excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

My oldest son is a sophmore at Archbishop Curley. Both my husband and I are very pleased with the academics as well as the athletics and various clubs. From the first time we walked through the doors for open house we knew curley was the perfect choice. The teachers are very accommodating to the students and parents, and the administration is unequaled to any I have encountered. Curley staff is inundated with alumni who have returned to Curley to help pass on Curley pride. I feel one of the most beneficial aspects are the parent/teacher conferences held each quarter. It gives the parents time to discuss their son's classwork and attitude and also helps to form a bond between teacher/parent. My younger son will be starting Curley in the fall. He's looking forward to the new experience of High School while already being fortunate enough to be fimiliar with the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2004

My son currently is a Junior at Curley. I am very pleased with his academics as well as the impact the school has had on him. The way the teachers and staff mold the students in to becoming gentlemen is very rewarding to the parents as well as the students. Curley implements the students to behave and act in such a manner that they are both respected by others as well as repectful. It is very hard now days to raise children to become the person we would like them to be. By sending my child to Curley, we feel as though we have an extra hand in helping us to quide him down the right path. I know that he will look back on his time at Curley, and say 'Thanks Mom & Dad' for giving me the opportunity to attend Curley. We say thank you to Curley for their efforts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2004

My husband and I are very happy that our son wanted to attend Curley.My son also loves it.From the classroom to the football field our son is getting a great education.He has also made a lot of new friends I'm sure he will have for along time.Anyone looking for an all round perfect school this is the one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2004

curley is a wonderful school in every way. my son transfered from another private school at the end of is sophmore year. my only regret is that he was not there for all 4 years. my son and our family plan on supporting curley every way we can in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Archbishop Curley is a great school with a strong family environment. The teachers really care about the boys and are part of the family. Among other things the boys are taught discipline and respect. The boys graduate well rounded and are better prepared to take on their next challenge in life. It was a great four years for my son. I only wish I would have known about them sooner as I would have sent my older son there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My son went to Curley all 4 years there, and graduated in 2001. The school does not put up with non-discipline and expects parents to follow through at home as well. They teach these boys how to become morally accountable, how treat and be treated with respect. The education is excellent and the teachers there more than willing to help the young men anytime they find a need for extra help other then class, not once had my son been turned away from after school tutoring when needed if he had trouble in a subject. The music and sports programs are wonderful too, and school schedules balance out well too for the young men involved in these activities. I highly recommend Curley for any parent who is serious about their son's education and doesn't want to get lost a large unpersonalized school. This school excels in every way if your son wants to be a morally well educated young adult and well prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Curley is a great school and very family oriented. My son has never been as happy with school until he arrived at Curley. He is now a junior. Most of the teachers and administrators are really involved with the students and more than happy to work with them to help them succeed. The discipline they teach and practice is evident in the way the 'Curley men' conduct themselves at school and off campus. I have been very impressed and very happy with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My son graduated in 1997, his father graduated in 1972. This is by far the best High School in the state. The students come in as boys and leave as fine young men. The quality of the education is exceptional. Not only do the young men receive an excellent education, but the morals that are instilled at home are enforced by the entire staff. The best investment you can make in your child is their education. When your son graduates from Archbishop Curley, your investment was the best investment you could ever have made
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 45%
Black 15% 40%
Hispanic 3% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Baltimore
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3701 Sinclair Ln
Baltimore, MD 21213
Phone: (410) 485-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Claremont High School
Baltimore, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT