Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Institute Of Notre Dame

Private | 9-12 | 346 students

We are best known for development of women leaders.

 
 

Living in Baltimore

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $180,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2009

I love that everyone is loves the school. The school has the best teachers and classes to help my daughters succed and prepare for college. The girls that come out of IND are prepared for success. They are mature young ladies that have learned a that helping the communinty is important as well.I am proud to have my daughters go to IND. They arew getting the best education and making great friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

I graduated from IND in 2006 and now I am going into my 4th year at a private university. IND definitely fulfilled my expectations for a high school education. I participated in athletics year-round, as well as clubs and service activities. IND really has a family environment, and I now see that as I finish my undergraduate career at a large university. The teachers there truly care and the girls become your sisters. I would recommend IND to anyone who wants a unique education in a comfortable environment. The only thing I would change would be to add more AP classes so students have more opportunities to earn college credit.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2009

I only have positive things to say about IND. My four year experience there is truly indescribable. The teachers and faculty made such an impact on me and prepared to take on any challenge. I learned so much more than just academics, I learned how to work together with other people to make great things happen. IND is always going to be a huge part of my life.


Posted August 1, 2008

I have been a Math and Science teacher for about 15 years before joining IND and found that here as the best high school for girls. As a foreigner, I am well respected by parents, colleagues and all students, even those I did not teach. Students are well prepared for College, both academically and in extra curicular activities. At present, nearly every course is taught with the use of technology. If anyone is looking for a great high school, this is the one.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 8, 2006

I am currently a senior at IND, and I have nothing but wonderful things to say about the school. The one thing that made me want to come to the school was the amount of history and tradition that could be found there. The academics are challenging and are a good preparation for college. Athletics have always been top ranked. The school community itself is so welcoming, that you feel right at home; just like a family. When I will graduate, I know that I will be leaving behind a very important chapter in my life. I will always hold IND close to my heart. I completely recommend this school to anyone interested in it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2006

Institute Of Notre Dame is an awful experience for any child. My child attended the school and it was almost as if she was in a caged cell. The technology department is lacking, as well as an enriched learning experience. The school does not offer a well-rounded learning atmosphere, not allowing students to go on feild trips, better yet having a campus. I would never recommend a school such as IND to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2005

IND is a great school for young ladies. The girls there are so close. They remind me of sisters!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

My daughter is a Senior at IND. The years have certainly flown by. My daughter has been very well prepared to enter the college world thanks to IND. The teachers are stellar and the administration in unequaled. There is a strong balance between academics and athletics and extracurricular activities. My daughters passion about the school is monstrous. She absolutely loves every aspect about the school. As she prepares to move on, part of her focus will remain on the institute that has instilled camaraderie and academic acheivement in her. She plans to become a teacher and possibly return to IND to help guide other young women through thier high school years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

As a former alumni and parent of a '98 graduate I have nothing but the highest regards for their efforts to prepare students to meet challenges. For always trying to have a diverse enrollment they keep trying to be innovative in meeting the student needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 42%
Black 29% 35%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 5% 0%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Mary Funke/Ann Seeley
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • All girls
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (410) 522-7810

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Baltimore
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Badminton and Crew
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

901 Aisquith Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
Website: Click here
Phone: (410) 522-7800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Frances Academy
Baltimore, MD



Eager Street Academy
Baltimore, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT