Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Bernardine Catholic School

Private | K-8 | 171 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Baltimore

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $85,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2010

I love going to St.Bernardine. Why? Beacuse they teach you so many thing i am a b+ student now and i m doing very good now i am happy at this school. This school care about your grades if you dont a very good grade the teacher will give you extra credict and they will teach you how to do. Another reason i like this school is because they always have fun things going on and most poeple who graduated from there are goig to very good high schools this school is perfect!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2009

My daughter attends St. Bernardine's and she loves it. Our zone school was labled by the state as 'persistently dangerous', and we wanted someplace not only educational focused, but SAFE. We hit the goal at St. Bernardine's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

I have been a parent here at St. Bernardine School since the opening in 1990's. The school opened needing repairs because Madonna was housed here and had closed. I had two children who have graduated and two more that attend this st. Bernardine. As the years past and the school grew, many repair were made, the school received a new look. improvements and new things are added to he agenda every year and the school is holding strong and positive. My experience was excellent and still hold positive with this school because my children are safe, being taught the skills they need, and the teachers care. My son is a manager and my daughter now attends Stevenson University and is a member of the Society of Leadership and Success at the age of 18 years old. The faculty is a wonderful group who are there to give children personalized attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

I live in catonsville, md.My family attend the church.St.Bernardines is the parish school. I have two children in the school that have been attending since kindergarten. My youngest is now in the 3rd grade.She has a teacher who has been teaching for over 25 years.She as well as many other teachers say my daughter is a pleaser to work with.I feel she is on the right page to continue to acheive success. My 7th grader has always been an ok student.This year i have noticed that is more focused on school. She is getting great guidance from her teachers.There is a open line of communication. I feel they are giving her the structure she needs to go on to great high school.She already has 5 catholic schools that are interested in her attending.My girls both look up to students who have graduated and become honor students in high school and college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

I too moved my child from a nearby public school because I felt he would not get the education needed and deserved at the previous school. My child entered sixth grade this year and the transition to middle/and private school has not been great.The majority of the satff is new to the school and has not performed up to the expectations my family had due to the feedback we got from folks who sent their older kids to the school. The environment is not the best (restrooms antiquated, cleanliness and etc.), but most importantly only one instructor has been a exceptional educator. Others fail to communicate any concerns unless I prompt the communication, give little homework, display poor classroom management and organizational skills are not impressive. I am dissappointed and don't feel that my child is ready for seventh grade which is worrisome since high schools observe 7th grader's grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2008

I moved my child from public school as she was entering grade 3. I live near St. Bernardine's and have been a member at the church since I was a young child. The children are well disciplined and have many after school activities. My daughter joined dance and MESA (math, engineering and science assoc.) during 3rd grade. They also have basketball and drama. I can call my daughter's teacher anytime with a question and she is always available. I have her home and cell phone number. I am pleased with the school overall although I sometimes wonder if my child is on track with students in public schools since there are no minimum basic skills tests. The facility is not modernized but the teachers are dedicated and will work with the students as much as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2005

Well I fell as though this school is in need of a great make over. The restrooms are not in good condition at all. My daughter will be attending the first grade this year. Her kindergarten teacher was excellent. She really wanted the kids to learn. My child now knows how to read add, substract and more. Of course I work with her before school started and during the summer to inforce what the teacher has taught. Overall so far the teacher seem like they are there to do the best job they can do. I fell like the school should be at a better, cleaner, and more of a safer location then where it is located.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 99% 40%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 10%
White 0% 45%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Baltimore
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3601 Old Frederick Rd
Baltimore, MD 21229
Phone: (410) 624-5088

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Unselds School
Baltimore, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT