Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mercy High School 5

Posted February 22, 2013
- a community member
I'm an alumnae of Mercy, and recently attended an event for Mercy. I was pleased to see that the same caring, thoughtful attitude that first drew me to the school, was still evident. I'm proud to be a Mercy girl and I hope more girls get the opportunity to experience the Mercy Magic!

Mercy High School 5

Posted February 02, 2013
- a student
The sense of community is the first thing you sense when you walk through the doors. The students, teachera, and staff all exude pride in their school. The teachers are all willing to help whenever you need it, and the school provides academics which challenge students at every level. The students form a sisterhood, and by the end of freshman year, they are friends with a majority of the students and know the rest. The principal takes time to learn each student's name,cand although the rules may be strict, the girls are still able to discover themselves and their true friends. Many come back throughout the years to visit their teachers, advisers, friends, and little sisters.


Mercy High School 5

Posted April 25, 2012
- a community member
I was so grateful to have had the opportunity to attend Mercy (class of '01). Overall, I had excellent teachers who challenged me to excel and excellently prepared me for college. In college, I was able to receive writing proficiency my first semester because of the lessons I learned at Mercy. The drama department was wonderful, although I wish I had had the chance to perform in the big auditorium instead of the "gymnatorium"! After an upsetting middle school experience, it was a relief to attend a school where I didn't have to deal with bullying or the pressures of adolescent boys.

Mercy High School 5

Posted November 21, 2011
- a parent
Mercy has been a blessing to our daughter. She feels accepted in this community of girls who accept each other for who she is. There are not the clicques that you will find in some of the other girls schools in the baltimore area, where mean girls reign supreme. We have found none of that at Mercy. My daughter has been able to accel in her studies without the distraction of boys and has been given the values of a Catholic Education. The teachers are caring and love their jobs. My daughter has been able to grow in her talents as well as receive a quality education from teachers who care.

Mercy High School 4

Posted February 04, 2011
- a parent
Mercy offers a quality education. Your daughter will totally enjoy her experience as a "Mercy Girl"


Mercy High School 1

Posted June 08, 2010
- a community member
Most teachers I had at Mercy are charismatic around parents but in the classroom become apathetic and are easily frustrated when students need help. The principal is noticeably absent during the school year. I attended Catholic school in Baltimore since first grade. My GPA went from a 3.4 to a 2.1 during my years at Mercy. I did not receive any help. When I did do well on tests, I was accused by a teacher of cheating. My mother continued to send me to Mercy because she thought it would at least be better than public school. After she had several negative experiences herself with teachers, she said she should have chosen a better school for me. Some parents can be too trusting of their child's school because it seems traditionally superior, but many of these parents have never met with teachers or involved themselves in the curriculum. I voluntarily left the school before graduation due to lack of academic progress. I have since graduated from a university with a 3.6 GPA. I have a state job in my chosen career field. I consider myself intelligent, but maybe I was intelligent -before- I went to Mercy.

Mercy High School 0
no rating

Posted December 29, 2009
- a parent
Quality of education is not very hard. An intelligent student can succeed, but has to be extremely self-motivated, and will not be challenged to their full potential. Better all girls Catholic schools in the Baltimore area for only a slightly greater price

Mercy High School 4

Posted March 22, 2008
- a parent
Quality education and great teachers, 2 daughters and 2 nieces attended,all went to college. One is a lawyer went to Univ of MD law school another with a master's degree in social work from Columbia Univ in NY. Mercy is very diverse socially and academically.


Mercy High School 5

Posted August 23, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Mercy High School 0
no rating

Posted July 06, 2007
- a student
Mercy High School , the girls really arent drama unless you start it. 99.9% of the school year u never see teh principal...the assistant prinipal is the one u mainly see. She disiplines . i do belive sumtimes the disciple they go way overboard. 90% of the students hate the school wish they never went ther n by sophmore year...ther not ther becuz they transfered. And then they tell other never to com to this school. education wise i think is good. some teachers mainly new ones students tend to take advantaage of . But they do teach well. But some teachers are hard to learn by all they do is talk.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mercy High School
1300 East Northern Parkway, Baltimore, MD  21239
(410) 433-8880
Last modified Mercy High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Mercy High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews.