Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
243 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mount Saint Joseph High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 30, 2015
- a community member
This school prides itself in developing young males and turning them into Men who serve the community and respect everyone

Mount Saint Joseph High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 20, 2015
- a student
Most teachers teach beyond the curriculum. By that, I mean most teach life skills and talk about what's happening out there. They form us into the men that God intends us to be. They're very effective at both teaching and guiding us.


Mount Saint Joseph High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 20, 2015
- a student
Some days there's a lot, almost overbearing. Other days, there's very little if anything. Luckily, it fluctuates frequently either direction.

Mount Saint Joseph High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 20, 2015
- a student
Everyone who cares wants to succeed. Everyone wants to get into a good college. For that to happen, you need to go through tough classes to get straight A's and Honor Roll. People care because they know what they're striving for.

Mount Saint Joseph High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 20, 2015
- a student
Students either respect the teachers and their fellow peers here at MSJ and make it all 4 years, or they don't respect anyone, get in trouble, and don't make it 4 years. It's that simple.


Mount Saint Joseph High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 20, 2015
- a student
When one of our brothers at school lost his father to cancer recently, at his funeral mass, nearly half the church was filled with MSJ guys. They were there for a few reasons, but the main one was to console my friend and show solidarity with him. Tell me that isn't compassion and empathy?

Mount Saint Joseph High School 5

Posted June 20, 2015
- a student
In my 3 years, this school has been wonderful. It does form the person spiritually, intellectually, and physically. Like any other school, its up to the student to decide whether or not he takes heed of anything and does something with what he's been given. For the most part, of all the recent grads I've talked to who have utilized what they've learned, great things have come to them. I love this school.

Mount Saint Joseph High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 20, 2015
- a student
All these people who are disagreeing with this statement are obviously at a a different school than what I see. Sure, athletics are huge, but the school does focus on forming the whole person through theology class, clubs such as XBSS and NHS, and just by how tough the classes are, among others. I am truly saddened to see such negative reviews. My time at MSJ over the last 3 years has been wonderful, and I hope my last year won't dissappoint.


Mount Saint Joseph High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted May 25, 2015
- a student
Students are only taught to be competitive and that they are better than everyone else because they're "star athletes at the prestigious Mount Saint Joseph."

Mount Saint Joseph High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 25, 2015
- a student
They do not educate the person spiritually or mentally, only physically. It is truly pathetic that they do not focus on the whole person.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mount Saint Joseph High School
4403 Frederick Avenue, Baltimore, MD  21229
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (410) 644-3300
Last modified Mount Saint Joseph High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top