Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Michael the Archangel School

Private | PK-8 | 302 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Baltimore

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $89,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2014

My daughter is in kindergarten after going through 2 years of GLP at St. Michael's. She is flourishing and has really come out of her shell. I like the small class size and attention the teacher gives to each student. She is learning so much all around in this school. Evveryone is very friendly and it is a fun atmosphere to learn. People really do care about their school. All of the kids interact with each other through church and all activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2011

My grandson graduated from St'Michael's, was accepted into high school in all honors classses, finished this year with high honors and is taking available AP classes next year. No one could ask for a better educational background. The teachers are warm souls who give the children much confidence. St' Michael's exceeded all expectations for us.


Posted May 11, 2011

My son is in the God's Little People Pre K program at St. Michael's. I couldn't be happier with his experience here. He has matured and learned so much over the school year. The teachers are nurturing and patient and very helpful. I am pleased to see the religious values instilled in him already.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

My child has been at SMS for 5 years now and is doing great. The teachers not only are patient with the students, but also with the parents. They will answer any questions you have especially when you can not remember 1st grade English or 3 grade Math. This school also provides a very safe environment and great values that my child learns in school and at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

The school has the best of intentions, but as with many catholic schools in Baltimore it is simply not cutting it. When you attempt to express conerns...they are ignored and when you chose to pull your child for a different educational opportunity, the staff informs other families that you have left due to financial reasons, when you are actually sending your child to a school that is more expensive. Regardless...this is unacceptable for an administrator to share with other families your personal reasons for leaving when you have not shared them yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

As a parent who's children are attending St. michael's I'm very unhappy with this school. I live in baltimore city so this is a better school then the city has to offer, but the teacher's are rude and the students have a very i'm better then anyone attude. I wish that the school would be more open to change and growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

I am a parent of a graduate and of a middle schooler and I am extremely proud and grateful that I was and am still able to send my children to St. Michaels. I believe that because of the experienced teachers and staff that my son is thriving at his current high school and I have no doubt that my other son with do just as well. I highly recommend St. Michaels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

My daughter has been attending St. Michaels for two years now and I could not be more satisfied with the quality education she is receiving. The staff is wonderful and I am very pleased with the fact that this school focuses so much on values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

Two of my 5 children attend this school. St. Michael`s is just incredible all across the board. My children have growen so much in many areas. The eduacation they receive here is comparable to none. I am so happy that my children are continuing on there faith journey here at St. Michaels. The teachers and staff are the top. I only wish SMS went all the way to the 12th grade. Choose SMS for your children, and be as blessed as we have. Blessings Denise Rosario
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

My oldest child attends this school and has done very well. I also plan to send my youngest. We have been through two other catholic schools in the Baltimore area and find this school to be the best so far. All schools have issues, but I think SMS does a pretty good job all around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

My grandson has attended this school the past two years and will be moving out of Balto County. Our family has been extremely pleased with the education he has received while here. While growing tremendously academically, he has also been taught the values of compassion, kindness, respect, love and discipline which have given him the cornerstones he will carry with him throughout his life. He will leave this school with added confidence and faith in himself. He will miss St. Michael and will always have fond memories of his time there. The faculty and teachers are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2006

We had choices of other private schools (some more exclusive) closer to our home that our children had been accepted into. We continue with St. Michael's as the quality of education and extra curricular activities available can't compare with the schools near us. St. Michael's is an excellent choice for our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

When we first looked at schools for our children, we visited and interviewed 10 of the neighboring schools in our area. After that process we felt that St. Michael's was clearly our choice. We have been very pleased with the quality of the education that our children have received from this school. My son entered this year with doubts about how he learns, and know he is a confindent reader ready to try new skills. Both children were taught with excellent role models about how to behave with kindness and compassion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2004

I know I am not supposed to make defamatory remarks here, but as a former student, I strongly advise parents to not send their child to this school. If you want your children to grow up with self-confidence, self-esteem, and self-worth, avoid this school at all cost. You children would be much better off being home schooled. The school also has rules that simply make no sense. The Children are also not given adequate time for lunch. Please do better for your children.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 45%
Black 7% 40%
Two or more races 7% N/A
Asian 5% N/A
Hispanic 3% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Baltimore
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10 Willow Ave
Baltimore, MD 21206
Phone: (410) 668-8797

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT