Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Rose of Lima School

Private | PK-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Baltimore

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $106,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2009

In my opinion, it is an average school. Nothing special about it. It could be better if the principle improved her ability to communicate with the parents. When parents have issues that require addressing, she refuses to meet in a timely matter. Her attitude towards the parents is unacceptable and I see no sign of it improving. I predict that this school will close within 2 years due to lack of enrollment which could be attributed to her lack of interest in the opinions of the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

My daughter just finished her first year at St. Rose and had a wonderful experience. The small setting worked perfect in providing her with teacher one-on-one time. She received an excellent foundation and I look forward to her future graduation from 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

My grandchildren attend here and are doing well. With smaller class sizes they receive move individualized attention when it is needed to excel.


Posted August 28, 2008

I would not waste my money on this school. Sub standard facility, teachers that are marginally qualified, heavy handed disipline, curriculum that lags behind public schools, inability to handle special needs children, students attending on vouchers get away with murder, whereas full tuition paying students live by a separate, more strick set of rules. You'd be better off stuffing your money in a matress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

While the elementary program at St. Rose is wonderful, the middle school program is horrible. Wouldn't recommend the middle school to anyone. Feel that we have wasted alot of money the last couple of years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

Teachers and administrators are committed to the well-being, discipline and education of all students, and children need to learn that all actions have consequences, even minor 'offenses?'. Techhnology is always being upgraded through grants and donations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

I have a child in St. Rose and I have also had a child in public schools. My daughter is getting the one on one that every child deserves and I love the fact that the teachers care about their students. Everyone should be so lucky to experience a school that is small and gives the children the attention that they all deserve. There is no comparison to a public school. They are horrible and I am glad that I have my daughter in a private school. It is sad that some parents feel differnetly. My child will be very successful and it will be because of St. Rose. Keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2007

All of my children attended St. Rose of Lima. The quality of education surpassed anything being offered in the local public schools. If you want a Catholic education, discipline in the classroom and a caring, supportive atmosphere then this is your school. The principal and staff are committed to provide a cirriculum that will prepare your child for high school. Most graduates will attend college. All of my children were accepted into the Catholic High School and College of their choice. They all attribute their success to the quality of education they received which began at St. Rose of Lima.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2006

I am a second generation student and graduate of St. Rose, and my 3 children now attend St. Rose. We really like the small classes, and feel the school provides the proper discipline and learning that children need. I have many happy memories as a child at St. Rose, and my children are now making their own memories. We will be staying the full 8 years, and like it! : )
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

I attended St. Rose and I must add that it lacks in the academic and social expansion for their students. Their limited electives (which are not eve electives at all) refuses to allow creativity and expression through the art they choose. Not only is it not chosen but the music program is small and unexceptable. The academic views of the school are ridiculous. They can't even compare with the public school. In my opinion, what is the point of paying for private school if the education is worse. Lastly I would like to say that if you believe your child's education is paramount, do not send them to St. Rose.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 25, 2006

ok i am def not a parent but i am a graduate of SRL from the class of 2005...i really never knew how much i enjoyed St. Rose until after i had graduated...i think the teachers i had really bond with the children and help them with everything they can..they have soo many extra curricular activities that they offer...I made soo many good friends there and my sister still goes there and loves it..i think it was one of the best experiences of my life
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2006

My children have been attending St. Rose of Lima School for 5 years now. I have never felt so safe, and thrilled with how they interact with all of the children. They offer art, music(choir a/instruments), library, Spanish, after school activities, provide daycare. The school and church host a carnival every year. I have never heard any negative feed back from the children pre-k through 8th grade or their parents(which majority families return and graduate thru 8th grade. They offer special help to many of the children after school and Title one services. They teach Christianity, and provide services to the surrounding neighborhood. What a great way to teach your children not only academically but also growing as whole rounded people and helping the community and people in need. Our family loves the school the friends they have made and are very close to the teachers and vice versa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2005

My Son attended St.Rose of Lima, and I was very very displeased with the school and with the learning. The interest in on the problem children, and not on the children who want to learn. they are not working miricales, they are turning a blind eye to the problems in the school. It appears, that if you have money to spend they will take it and keep the child no matter what they do. I found it a very poor experience. (just from the partent point of view)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

410 E Jeffrey Street
Baltimore, MD 21225
Phone: (410) 355-1050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Christian Bible Academy
Brooklyn Park, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT