Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Pius X School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Baltimore

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $278,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

64 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 19, 2009

In a word, 'WOW'...St. Pius is a great school...my kids loves their school! As a parent, I am so grateful and appreciative of the warm, caring and family oriented environment...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

It's a wonderful place for young people to learn and grow.


Posted October 19, 2009

My child has attended St. Pius for five years and I can not express enough how much the school and teachers have made us feel like family and how the teachers have a genuine interest in the well being of all of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

I like the curriculum at St. Pius X school. The teachers are prepared and provide the students with sufficient tools to excel. It is very inviting to speak with the teachers when they take so much pride in their teaching. The Athletic Association is progressive and has a lot to offer a student at any level of interest. Also, the Christian environment is a plus. It is definitely a great school to have your child attend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

St. Pius is a wonderful school. My child is being given a great education as well as being shown how to be a good person. The St. Pius X community of educators and families is supportive, giving and make the school stand out from all others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

St. Pius X is a great school! They have awesome teachers that make it fun to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

I can't say enough about St. Pius X School. I loved it so much as a parent I decided to join the faculty!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

The Teachers staff and families are great. It also has a great compassion for the education and well being of the students ans their families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

Because you feel like you are part of a family at the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

The small size and Christian atmosphere has been a great advantage for both my son and daughter who attend. They have both grown in their confidence level in addition to their academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

I taught in the Catholic school system for 40 years. Out of all the schools, St. Pius X always has had a special place in my heart. High academic standards have always been important, but our faith based family has been the priority. I now substitute there and I still continue to feel the love and concern for each child present.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

St. Pius X school is a wonderful school with great values. It looks at the whole student. It is a family not just a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

St.Pius X School in Baltimore, Maryland is a PK thru 8 school that fosters a real sense of community for its students and their families. Whether it is academic, musical, theatrical, athletic or social there is always something exciting happening. That says a lot of about teacher's commitment and our countless volunteers. We have a very diverse student body that contributes to wonderful spirit and appreciation for each others talents. Go SPX!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

The most caring principal and staff a school can have!


Posted October 17, 2009

We love the caring, loving and christian environment with the high level of scholastic acheivement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

Great academics and a fantastic staff. Ouir daughter loves everything about it.It is like a second family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

St. Pius X School challenges its students to be the very best persons that they can be, both within and outside the classroom. In addition to offering a very solid academic envionrment, the school provides its students with a safe and nurturing atmosphere in which they can learn and grow as individuals. Thanks to the combined efforts of its fantastically talented and incredibly dedicated administrators, faculty and staff, St. Pius X School is a wonderful place for its students. It's an incredible gem of a school, and Baltimore is a much better place because of its presence in our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

St. Pius X continues to provide my child with a challenging academic program as well as character education and social awareness. The atmosphere is professional yet nurturing. There is never a doubt that educators or families are available to come to your aid if you need it. The example set by this environment is one I would wish for every parent and child to experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

This is my son's first year at SPX school, and I feel very comfortable leaving him in the care of the faculty and staff. I am very impressed with how organized they are, and their care and concern for the students. I have seen positive changes in my son personally as well as academically. My husband and I made the right decision to send our son to SPX.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

St. Pius is very diverse and my son comes home sharing something new everyday. I love how he's grown and flourished in just a few short weeks!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 44% 35%
White 44% 42%
Two or more races 8% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Baltimore
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6432 York Road
Baltimore, MD 21212
Phone: (410) 427-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT