Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Pius X School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Baltimore

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $278,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

65 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 17, 2009

St. Pius is very diverse and my son comes home sharing something new everyday. I love how he's grown and flourished in just a few short weeks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

Teachers are spectacular, environment fosters confidence and creativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

St. Pius is a wonderful place. It has an amazing community of students, parents, teachers and administration. Each student is valued at St.Pius X School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

it is like a family. I love the staff, location and everything about it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

The teachers care about the students development in all areas. Even though my son is only three, he has learned things that will last him a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

St Pius X. offers to it's student a love of God and a family togetherness. Students are prepared in all aspects of the learning pie and it is complete
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

St Pius allows students to flourish academically as well as thrive in an environment where the kids feel safe, cared for, and loved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

St Pius offers a quality education in an exceptional environment. A catholic parish school, it re-enforces the values that we teach at home and our children learn in church. The community of involved parents is extraordinary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

It is genuinely concerned about the success of its students. It fosters an exceptional academic environment surrounded by spiritually filled virtues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

In addition to being academically challenging for students, St. Pius X school also teaches community outreach and the importance of volunteerism to the children. Everyone's goal is to educate children to be good people and good citizens of our world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

I love St. Pius X School because the administrative team, faculty and staff provide a loving environment for academic excellence. We are a family!


Posted September 16, 2009

St. Pius X School strives to inspire young minds and foster a love for life-long learning. The school community is based in a strong faith community and supportive neighborhood community. Great starts for great minds!


Posted November 16, 2008

My children are alumni of this great school. Academically they were slightly above average students. They learned more about respect and responsibility at St. Pius X School then their peers at other schools in the Baltimore area. They continue to hold the friendships they developed at St. Pius dear to their hearts. I know both could name almost everyone in their classes and have been in countless weddings of their grade school friends. They both attended Catholic High Schools and colleges and have jobs paying significantly more than their parents! Parent involvement in extra curricular activities along with quality teaching made them what they are today.


Posted November 4, 2008

Our daughter has been enrolled at spx since the first grade. We chose the school and then became parishoners because of our school choice. We do not live in that particular parish. The children look happy, and there is a sense of family; a tone we attribute to our principal. She knows every child's name and promotes an open door policy for parents. The school has excelled academicaly in the past 3 years and we decided to keep our child there during the middle school years for this reason. There is also a tremendous parental involvement especially with fathers. We have never had a negative experience with any of our daughter's teachers. These professionals work hard for little pay. Their dedication is truely inspiring. James and deborah o'connor
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

this school is really poor no cafeteria no air conditioning no good cleaning people bad furniture suh as cracked chairs and broken desks i would not recommend this school for yor child


Posted October 18, 2008

My son is currently in the 1st grade, having attended SPX since Pre-K. He truly loves school and looks forward to going every day. I feel that the diversity found at SPX is one of the school's best attributes. It warms my heart to see children of all races playing together and developing life-long friendships. I am also delighted with the number of opportunities the children have to participate in various service projects. The school is dedicated to developing students with strong social consciences. The families that we have met there have been some of the nicest, most down-to-earth, progressive people that we know. SPX has become a second home for our family. Although we are not thrilled with our 25 minute commute to SPX, we wouldn't send our son anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

Both of my children have been students of SPX since their inital school experience in the Pre K level. We have been apart of the SPX Family since 2003. I realize that in hard times that some families may have to withdraw and comit to a public school experience for economical reasons but I must say from my own standpoint every dollar that I put towards my children's education is well spent at SPX. I am a strong believer that your child's environment has as much as an impact as the actual educational portion of 'learning'. I do feel sorry for those people who have posted negative reviews on this site. Perhaps there was not enough parent involvement, I truley believe that is a major key to your child's success in their educational career. SPX ' not just a school, a
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

I have had 3 children at SPX. One is now in high school while the other 2 remain at SPX and will graduate from there. It has been the best decision I have ever made in the raising of my children. They have grown spiritually, emotionally and academically. My oldest was very prepared for high school and is excelling. The teachers at SPX are well qualified in their academics as well as their caring, nurturing attitude toward the students. The administration is second to none and when I drop my children off in the morning, I know that they are with people that truly care about them as students and people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

Very poorly run school, going downhill fast. They are losing students and perhaps now teachers. We were not pleased with this school at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2008

My son attended prek last year at St. Pius and I would highly recommend the school. I felt that each and every child recieved personal attention and thrived throughout the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 44% 35%
White 44% 42%
Two or more races 8% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Baltimore
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6432 York Road
Baltimore, MD 21212
Phone: (410) 427-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT