Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Ambrose Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Baltimore

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $61,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 14, 2012

I am so pleased to be spending my fifth year teaching at St. Ambrose Catholic School! The staff and administration are kind and welcoming. They make the students feel welcome and secure in their academic pursuits. The staff truly works as a team and they put the interests and the needs of the students first and foremost. I am happy to call St. Ambrose School my "home".
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 2, 2012

St. Ambrose is a great school,my son graduated from there 5 years ago and was prepared for high school and the world. Know my grandson attend and is doing excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

I love and appreciate St. Ambrose Catholic School, I have 2 children, 1 neice and a grandson who attended St. Ambrose. My daughter recently graduated and was very well prepared to meet the challanges of high school. The teachers at St. Ambrose are very supportive, Ms. Sanders, the principle knows every student personally. St. Ambrose provided a safe learning environment and I especially appreciate the after school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

St. Ambrose is the best my son is in kindergarten and he is doing very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2009

I love this school. Everyone the was and still is like my 2nd family. I attend this school from k-8 and now I'm a senior in high school. Everyone should send there kids to this school, its the best ever
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2009

What else can I say but I love the school!!!! I'm a single parent in the Baltimore area and looked at several schools before enrolling my child. The office staff, administration and teachers are willing to help, they want to help our children succeed, that's it! I know it's not offend people say thanks for a job well done but, Mrs. Gonzales and everyone at Saint Ambrose, thanks!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

I used to attend St.Ambrose from K-8 and now Im a sophmore in high school. The school was great to me. I loved it there. It was like a second home to me. I used to walk to school every morning and I felt completely at ease and safe there. My favorite teach was Ms. A, the science teacher because she pushed me to do my best. -JTC
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2009

I have 2 children at St Ambrose with my oldest being in his 5th year there. The New Principal Mrs Carter is great!! The teachers truly are interested and invested in their students education. The extra-Curricular activities are in outstanding and most activities include children as early as 1st grade. If you are looking for a private school education at a reasonable cost St Ambrose is the place to be. The only program lacking is the PK4 class but from K up the education is outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2006

I am really impressed with the sixth grade teavhers this year (2006). All of the teachers have taken an active role in my childs progress. I would like to see more extracurriculum activites such as a chess club, debate club etc. Parent involvement is very low. Few come to the PTA meetings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

I think the school needs upgraded amenties to help the children feel more comfortable in their learning environment, such as air-conditioning, the halls needs more brighter lights, and more after-school activities. I think alot of the students are being passed on to the next grade level because the parents are paying for their education, and they are not learning the academic skills they will need when they leave the school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 18, 2004

St. Ambrose is a very good school to go to. The teachers at St. Ambrose helped me prepare for high school and not only high school but for the everyday world. I learned how to conduct myself in public places. St. Ambrose has helped me alot and educated me well. I am now on the honor Roll at Northwestern High School.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 95% 35%
Two or more races 3% 4%
White 2% 42%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Baltimore
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4506 Park Heights Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21215
Phone: (410) 664-2373

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





KIPP Harmony
Baltimore, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT