Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Baltimore, MD
Students enrolled: 177

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Frances Academy 4

Posted March 20, 2014
- a teacher
St. Frances Academy is a school that is very different from other high schools. Most high schools look for students who are in the upper 15 to 10 percent of their class. St. Frances will take students that other schools will reject for various reasons and give them a chance. Most who graduate from St. Frances are accepted in a variety of colleges and succeed. While the school focuses on the student and his or her needs--physically, socially, academically, spiritually , and emotionally--it does cater to the very bright student as well as students who struggle. If a student buys into the program and eventually graduates, he/she is usually very successful. Students have attended Georgetown, Jesuit Wheeling, Notre Dame University, Loyola University, Boston College, University of Maryland, Coppin University, Morgan State University, Towson State University, Wake Forest, Xavier in New Orleans, Frostburg, and many others as well as junior colleges. St. Frances takes students from nowhere to College. Call to schedule a visit or shadow day for your child.

St Frances Academy 4

Posted October 13, 2013
- a parent
Well balanced and informative school. They really set the bar high. The time and interest in my child's education is greatly appreciated.


St Frances Academy 5

Posted February 13, 2012
- a student
I love it recommend it to ALL baketball OR football players the football team did their thing this year, YEAH REE !!!!!

St Frances Academy 5

Posted May 30, 2011
- a parent
my son is going to graduate from st frances and he will do well in college with the level of education and preparation he recieved at st frances academy

St Frances Academy 1

Posted November 19, 2010
- a parent
St Frances Academy is a school for basket ball. If you don't play basket ball you don't stand a chance. The academics are below standard. The Sister to Sister class is suppose to be a sister's rite of passage, however, my daughter learned to crochet and nothing else. Now crocheting is okay but to me that is not an activity that should be learned during a class period. Most of all St Frances is no accrediated by the State of Maryland. Another thing takes place when you transfer your child from St. Frances to a regular school that is accrediated you will find that the child does not have the required credits to move on. In order to get the credits the child has to attend summer school or one of the community colleges. In my opinion St Frances serves a purpose, I don't know what it is. Don't send your child to St Frances without fully investigating the school, the administrators and teachers.


St Frances Academy 0
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
I enjoyed my son going to SFA I had to take him out because I couldn't afford anymore.He went fo 2 years. I like the fact that the teachers and staff stayed on top of him nd the thing was the staff cared

St Frances Academy 5

Posted October 24, 2008
- a parent
Saint Frances is excellent and whoever graduates from there leaves with skills like no others.

St Frances Academy 0
no rating

Posted January 11, 2008
- a parent
I don't have any stars to give at this time. I'm very disappointed with SFA. Exactly what are they learning in there? I don't have a clue to why the teacher allow the kids to tell her to shut up.


St Frances Academy 5

Posted December 12, 2007
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

St Frances Academy 4

Posted August 31, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Frances Academy
501 East Chase Street, Baltimore, MD  21202
(410) 539-5794
Last modified St Frances Academy is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
St Frances Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top