Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

School Of The Cathedral Mary Our Queen

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Baltimore

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $348,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 25, 2014

I was a student at scmoq for the full nine years and graduated in 2011. From the beginning, it created a wretched environment, but at least the curriculum was appropriate in my early years. The bullying was consistently rampant, and not unknown to the teachers, who largely ignored it. The administration did not acknowledge complaints from the parents and was more focused on the length of the girls' skirts than academics. I am aware that cathedral is now under new leadership and have heard that it is improving, but the education I endured has imprinted me with myriad scars that I am only now beginning to overcome. I would never send my child to this school.


Posted August 16, 2012

We transferred our child in from another school and found the curriculum to be more challenging. We feel our child will be more prepared as a result for high school. The administration is going through a big transition this year which is much needed. In past years we found the administration a bit unwilling to address properly the shortcomings in staffing and teachers. The new principal is non-secular so it should bring a breath of fresh air while maintaining the Catholic teachings. It's a super school and we are quite pleased with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

My daughter has been at Cathedral since pre-first and will be graduating this year. Cathdral has given her a wonderful foundation, a strong work ethic, a spirit of kindness towards others, and good study skills. The school has some outstanding teachers. The kids take exams very early on ( beginning in 3rd grade) and by the time they graduated they are very accostomed to exam taking and do well on them. The school also does an outstanding job preparing the 8th graders for the high school application process- they write resumes, they bring in a speaker on successful interviewing, and condict mock interviews. I feel sorry for the competition- they don't stand a chance! The negatives of the middle school- the school can be very cliquish & some of the school policies tend to further entrench this tendency. Academically the school is wonderful- but I did find some repetitiion in the teaching. The sports program is poor- but fine if you have a child who isn't really a sports person- but just wants to participate & learn. I also found many of the other parents less than friendly to working moms like myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The school has dedicated teachers who truly care about our children, mentally, physically and spiritually. In addition, the school raises funds to sponsor sister schools to make sure that other children have the opportunity to quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

It is a Christ centered atmosphere with dedicated staff that academically challenges students for high quality work. The parents are the primary educators and are volunteers in the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 21, 2008

Great curriculum, advanced classes, sound Catholic faith tradition, and a competitive sports program all add up to a truly wonderful Catholic school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2005

Cathedral is one of the greatest Catholic schools in the state. We have been in about five after school programs and all have been great. Sure it might be strict and you have to study hard but it all because this education will bring you into Ivy League Schools. Both my kids are average students and in this school that means all A's and maybe 1 B+. So there! i think I've made my point!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

All three of my children have attended Cathedral beginning in Kindergarten. The academic programs are challenging yet developmentally appropriate. The faculty and staff are very dedicated and committed to bringing out the best in each child. The administration is open to new ideas and discussion. Parents are encouraged to volunteer regularly, and the Parents Association is strong and very active in raising funds and providing events and activities. One aspect that sets Cathedral apart, besides the strong academic standards, is the love and compassion that is taught and modeled everyday. The children pray everyday, they learn to reach out to the less fortunate, to care for the world around us, and to work for understanding and peace. As a former teacher, I looked closely at the elements that are necessary for the best education: strong leadership, caring and competent staff, strong academics, and a strong Parents Association. That's Cathedral School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2004

I also pulled my child out of the School of the Cathedral at the end of last year. The middle school is extremely weak. It could be truly a great school if it had great leadership but right now I would pass on the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

My daughter attended the Cathedral school for five years. By the time she was in third grade, it became a miserable place. When she transfered schools in 6th grade, I discovered how far behind Cathedral was in academics, arts, and athletics. Weak leadership ruined a sense of community within the school. Catholic values were imposed, not taught. I found my daughter unprepared in math and science. Teachers could not control their classes and did not communicate to students or parents. Parent input was ignored. The lacrosse team was a joke. I admit I was terribly dissapointed with the Cathedral School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Black 2% 35%
Hispanic 2% 12%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Baltimore
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

111 Amberly Way
Baltimore, MD 21210
Phone: (410) 464-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Bryn Mawr School
Baltimore, MD


Gilman School
Baltimore, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT