Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
471 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


School Of The Cathedral Mary Our Queen
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Wustenfeld, the gym teacher, is a bright spot at the school. She understands that all children are different and have different abilities and interests.

School Of The Cathedral Mary Our Queen
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
During tenure at this school, my child has had multiple items stolen. Books, legos, clothes, and other items during the after school program. In K-1 he was often bullied by two students at the after school program.


School Of The Cathedral Mary Our Queen
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
They teach the same stuff year after year, the same way they always have. Concepts of differentiation are fallacious. Basics of assessment are ignored.

School Of The Cathedral Mary Our Queen
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
Right amount but much of it is really busy work. Efforts could be better directed thus enhancing student learning. They are doing silly things that waste time. Assignments often include computer games - Prodigy - instead of more focused work, Teachers rarely look at homework- students grade it themselves for the most part.

School Of The Cathedral Mary Our Queen 2

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
The principal and teachers at this school do not listen to parents, Teachers have their own agenda when it comes to teaching and are unable to address needs of individual students, either those that lag or those that excel. It is a one size fits all education akin to that found in public schools. Parent involvement in the classroom, unless it is raising funds or organizing classroom parties, is really discouraged. Given the quality of students at this school, the test scores should be much, much better. The students and parents are the ones to which the Blue Ribbon is to be attributed.


School Of The Cathedral Mary Our Queen 5

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
SCMOQ has a rigorous curriculum, great teachers and a great community of families. Students will be well prepared for the next level.

School Of The Cathedral Mary Our Queen 2

Posted January 25, 2014
- a community member
I was a student at scmoq for the full nine years and graduated in 2011. From the beginning, it created a wretched environment, but at least the curriculum was appropriate in my early years. The bullying was consistently rampant, and not unknown to the teachers, who largely ignored it. The administration did not acknowledge complaints from the parents and was more focused on the length of the girls' skirts than academics. I am aware that cathedral is now under new leadership and have heard that it is improving, but the education I endured has imprinted me with myriad scars that I am only now beginning to overcome. I would never send my child to this school.

School Of The Cathedral Mary Our Queen 4

Posted August 16, 2012
- a parent
We transferred our child in from another school and found the curriculum to be more challenging. We feel our child will be more prepared as a result for high school. The administration is going through a big transition this year which is much needed. In past years we found the administration a bit unwilling to address properly the shortcomings in staffing and teachers. The new principal is non-secular so it should bring a breath of fresh air while maintaining the Catholic teachings. It's a super school and we are quite pleased with the school.


School Of The Cathedral Mary Our Queen 4

Posted November 16, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has been at Cathedral since pre-first and will be graduating this year. Cathdral has given her a wonderful foundation, a strong work ethic, a spirit of kindness towards others, and good study skills. The school has some outstanding teachers. The kids take exams very early on ( beginning in 3rd grade) and by the time they graduated they are very accostomed to exam taking and do well on them. The school also does an outstanding job preparing the 8th graders for the high school application process- they write resumes, they bring in a speaker on successful interviewing, and condict mock interviews. I feel sorry for the competition- they don't stand a chance! The negatives of the middle school- the school can be very cliquish & some of the school policies tend to further entrench this tendency. Academically the school is wonderful- but I did find some repetitiion in the teaching. The sports program is poor- but fine if you have a child who isn't really a sports person- but just wants to participate & learn. I also found many of the other parents less than friendly to working moms like myself.

School Of The Cathedral Mary Our Queen 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
The school has dedicated teachers who truly care about our children, mentally, physically and spiritually. In addition, the school raises funds to sponsor sister schools to make sure that other children have the opportunity to quality education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

School Of The Cathedral Mary Our Queen
111 Amberly Way, Baltimore, MD  21210
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (410) 464-4100
Last modified School Of The Cathedral Mary Our Queen is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top