Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Abbottston Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 192 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 11, 2012

I love what Abbottston has done and is doing for my grandaughter. As long as I work with her at home as well as the teachers working with her in school I know she will go far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2012

I HAD THE JOY OF GOING TO ABBOTTSTON IN THE EARLY 80'S. IT WAS A EXCELLEBTG SCHOOL THEN AND A EXCELLENT SCHOOL NOW. TODAY I WENT TO A HOMEGOING SERVICE FOR ONE OF MY TEACHERS WHO TAUGHT THERE MANY YEARS, MRS. MARGERINE TAYLOR. MAY YOU REST IN PARIDISE. IT WAS A BLESSING TO HAVE YOU MENTOR ME. IF WE HAD MORE MRS.TAYLORS IN THE SCHOOL SYSTEM OUR KIDS WOULD BE BETTER OFF,SHE WAS ONE OF THE ONES THAT CARED. YOU WILL BE TRULLY MISSED.


Posted August 27, 2012

I love this school! Even though it is going through a very large transition from previous years the principal is coming in ready for the challenge. The teachers care, becasue it is small you get to have a personal relationship with the staff and parents. To me its like a extended family. I know my child will recieve the best education here because they CARE!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2010

The past two years were great. Small classes, high staff to student ratio. Any problems were handled with dedication and care and my child got the attention they needed. This year is a different story. Since the standardized test cheating scandal investigation, staff was downsized and the school does not seem to be under control. My child gets bullied a lot. He tells because he's scared, but nothing seems to change. The staff and teachers are so busy and stressed out to look into these things. Not to mention how class size has expanded and there's kids from another grade in his class, which confuses the children since they have to figure out which grade the teacher is teaching at the moment. Also, the class is in chaos a lot of times, with children running around the room, running into things and hurting each other. I don't understand, is this normal?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

My son is a fourth grader at Abbottston Elementary School. This is a much safer school then the one we attended two years ago. Academically I rate this school the best. I used to attend this school years ago and I am glad that my son has a chance to attend as well
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2008

We have just relocated to Baltimore City from NYC and my children (1st and 5th grades) are blossoming in this school. They love the school and they love their teachers. I am impressed by the sense of unity and genuine care exhibited by the teachers and staff. I am very happy with their academic performances and impressed by the dedication of these educators. Ms Johnson is the best! (1st grade). I really appreciate the professionalism and want to thank them for helping my children adjust well to their new environment. I can't say enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2008

I Definately agree that this school is a great one. I was very reluctant at first since this was the first baltimore city school for my children were attending and I was impressed. I felt a strong sense of community, and care here. The teachers and staff a overall good people committed to supplying quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2008

I Definately agree that this school is a great one. I was very reluctant at first since this was the first baltimore city school for my children were attending and I was impressed. I felt a strong sense of community, and care here. The teachers and staff a overall good people committed to supplying quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2008

This is Baltimore City's best kept secret. It is well run and the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

16 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

16 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

16 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 100% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Two or more races 0% 4%
White 0% 42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1300 Gorsuch Ave
Baltimore, MD 21218
Phone: (443) 984-2685

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Spirit School
Baltimore, MD







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT