Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Abbottston Elementary School 4

Posted November 11, 2012
- a parent
I love what Abbottston has done and is doing for my grandaughter. As long as I work with her at home as well as the teachers working with her in school I know she will go far.

Abbottston Elementary School 5

Posted November 08, 2012
- a community member
I HAD THE JOY OF GOING TO ABBOTTSTON IN THE EARLY 80'S. IT WAS A EXCELLEBTG SCHOOL THEN AND A EXCELLENT SCHOOL NOW. TODAY I WENT TO A HOMEGOING SERVICE FOR ONE OF MY TEACHERS WHO TAUGHT THERE MANY YEARS, MRS. MARGERINE TAYLOR. MAY YOU REST IN PARIDISE. IT WAS A BLESSING TO HAVE YOU MENTOR ME. IF WE HAD MORE MRS.TAYLORS IN THE SCHOOL SYSTEM OUR KIDS WOULD BE BETTER OFF,SHE WAS ONE OF THE ONES THAT CARED. YOU WILL BE TRULLY MISSED.


Abbottston Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2012
- a parent
I love this school! Even though it is going through a very large transition from previous years the principal is coming in ready for the challenge. The teachers care, becasue it is small you get to have a personal relationship with the staff and parents. To me its like a extended family. I know my child will recieve the best education here because they CARE!!!

Abbottston Elementary School 2

Posted December 21, 2010
- a parent
The past two years were great. Small classes, high staff to student ratio. Any problems were handled with dedication and care and my child got the attention they needed. This year is a different story. Since the standardized test cheating scandal investigation, staff was downsized and the school does not seem to be under control. My child gets bullied a lot. He tells because he's scared, but nothing seems to change. The staff and teachers are so busy and stressed out to look into these things. Not to mention how class size has expanded and there's kids from another grade in his class, which confuses the children since they have to figure out which grade the teacher is teaching at the moment. Also, the class is in chaos a lot of times, with children running around the room, running into things and hurting each other. I don't understand, is this normal?

Abbottston Elementary School 4

Posted March 26, 2009
- a parent
My son is a fourth grader at Abbottston Elementary School. This is a much safer school then the one we attended two years ago. Academically I rate this school the best. I used to attend this school years ago and I am glad that my son has a chance to attend as well


Abbottston Elementary School 5

Posted December 20, 2008
- a parent
We have just relocated to Baltimore City from NYC and my children (1st and 5th grades) are blossoming in this school. They love the school and they love their teachers. I am impressed by the sense of unity and genuine care exhibited by the teachers and staff. I am very happy with their academic performances and impressed by the dedication of these educators. Ms Johnson is the best! (1st grade). I really appreciate the professionalism and want to thank them for helping my children adjust well to their new environment. I can't say enough.

Abbottston Elementary School 4

Posted August 03, 2008
- a parent
I Definately agree that this school is a great one. I was very reluctant at first since this was the first baltimore city school for my children were attending and I was impressed. I felt a strong sense of community, and care here. The teachers and staff a overall good people committed to supplying quality education.

Abbottston Elementary School 4

Posted August 03, 2008
- a parent
I Definately agree that this school is a great one. I was very reluctant at first since this was the first baltimore city school for my children were attending and I was impressed. I felt a strong sense of community, and care here. The teachers and staff a overall good people committed to supplying quality education.


Abbottston Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2008
- a parent
This is Baltimore City's best kept secret. It is well run and the teachers are great.

Abbottston Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Abbottston Elementary School
1300 Gorsuch Ave, Baltimore, MD  21218
(443) 984-2685
Last modified Abbottston Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Abbottston Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top