Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Roland Park Country School

Private | PK-12 | 62 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Baltimore

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $348,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 8, 2013

It was good for academics due to the coordination of classes with Gilman and Bryn Mawr. Socially it is very clique oriented and lousy. The SAT Prep Class required in grades 9-11 does not make improvements. The required tablets are also ridiculously expensive and are prone to viruses. The college counseling is stellar.


Posted January 10, 2012

My sister and I attended RPCS, our daughters also attended and now my granddaughter is in her 10th year there. It is a very special place. The academics are superior but also, very importantly, learning how to be a person of good character, a compassionate human being and a contributor to the community are stressed. These are life lessons not taught in many schools and, I believe are vital in life. The school is concerned about the whole child, not merely the academic program. Teachers are readily available to the student and her parents for help and encouragement. The academic program is very challenging, the atmosphere is nurturing. And, you hear a lot of laughter and see a lot of smiles in the halls!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

I cannot say enough good things about RPCS and I have several daughters there. My oldest has been there for 13 years and does not want to leave! She entered as a shy child and now she is a leader on the field and in the classroom. She is in a class of great young women who I am sure will be life long friends. Very unique and special school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

RPCS is a wonderful school where the mission is well defined, the faculty focused and the education wonderful. This is a nurturing yet demanding educational environment that promotes individual growth and emphasizes important values for life, but group involvement and cooperation have a high priority. I have been particularly impressed with the faculty and how well they deal with the children. The graduates of this institution are well educated, poised and polished. The facilities have to be as good as those anywhere in this country. I am so happy my children go to this school and cannot say enough good things about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

Roland Park provides outstanding single sex education. The supportive environment, especially in the lower school, establishes the foot print for success. My daughter has maintained a 40 gpa and is a Division 1 athlete. She would not have found success as easily if she had not had the foundation provided by RPCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

Roland Park is an outstanding private school in Baltimore. Each teacher cares for each individual student. The bond the girls develop throughout the years is immeasurable. RPCS offers great extra curriculars and pushes each girl to reach their potential in every area of their desire.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 12, 2005

This school is great. You really appreciate an RPCS education when you get to college and can hit the ground running. You really see the advantage the school gives you over the years. They prepare excellent writers, leaders, and critical thinkers. You may get tired of the same old classmates, but the variety experiences you have over the years there cannot compare to any other school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 27, 2004

I agree with the people who say that RPCS was great in lower school. After that I got tired of being with the same people. It was like having too many sisters for too long. I wish that I had gone somewhere else for high school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 18, 2004

The lower school is wonderful but because of poor leadership and permissive upper school parents who want to be popular with their children's friends, boarding school is a better option for Baltimore girls. Because the girls are together for so many years, they hold each other back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2004

This school was great, i loved it! It has a very strong academic curriculum, and many extracurricular activities! THANK YOU RPCS!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 3, 2004

RPCS equals excellence in education, and is well worth every tuition dollar spent! My daughter is now in Upper School, and has been challenged at every level. Check out the school's website to see the college choices of the class of 2004. That speaks for just how well prepared our students are!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2004

The lower school is good, but the middle and upper schools are weak. There are better choices in Baltimore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

The Best. Our Girls are leaders on and off the field and will go many places in their years to come. Thanks to the education and leadership they have at RPCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2003

This school provides an excellent environment for academic achievement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Black 18% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 6%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NCGS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5204 Roland Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21210
Phone: (410) 323-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Gilman School
Baltimore, MD




The Bryn Mawr School
Baltimore, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT