Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
663 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Roland Park Country School 5

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
The curriculum and quality of instruction are outstanding! The small classroom size ensures every child's needs are met. Many opportunities for extracurricular activities. Teachers really care about child's success.

Roland Park Country School 1

Posted January 06, 2016
- a parent
Although RPCS is a private single-sex school, the academics are poor, especially in comparison with the other private schools in the area. There is a lack of focus on the basics and there is a lot of bullying or clique-y, unkind behavior. Many of the less competent faculty and administration are alumna of the school and they do not address any of the issues.


Roland Park Country School 1

Posted October 04, 2015
- a teacher
Very poor academics, especially compared with the abundant choices available in the area. Administration is laughable - completely unable to control rampant bullying and poor instruction.

Roland Park Country School 2

Posted September 01, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter started with RPCS in Kindergarten and we stayed until fifth grade. We lived in an area with very good school districts, so attending RPCS was a choice. We ultimately left partly because of financial issues; the sacrifice was significant for us. We also left because we felt that the school was just not a good fit for us anymore. The experience we had over the first few years from Kindergarten through until about third grade was relatively positive. RPCS became less of a fit for us as our daughter got into third grade and beyond. Part of our problem related to our proximity to RPCS. Most of the children that attend RPCS live in and around the Roland Park area. We did not. It was a logistical challenge to organize get togethers with school friends. The school had a standing rule against children making play date arrangements in school. Our child had difficulty reaching her friends by telephone outside of school, as many parents did not maintain home telephones and cell phones were not a reliable way for our daughter to directly reach friends because of parents' busy work schedules. Our daughter became an outsider in what we felt was a very unhealthy cliquish culture that started to form in third grade, and cemented at fifth grade. The class sizes, a small pool of children that was around 35 kids in all per grade, exacerbated this problem. We think this toxic element of the culture was due in part to an abundance of social privilege that existed at the school. Having now been in the public school system for a few years, we can say with confidence that the academics at RPCS are no better than that which is offered in our community's public school system. The resources RPCS could provide as a privately funded institution were no better than the resources that our county school system offer. We feel our daughter is in a healthier social environment, and we would add that the public school children are more grounded. Our daughter is immersed in an environment that is real- with real kids from real families. She has made many friends and is turning into a well rounded young adult.

Roland Park Country School 1

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
The bullying is terrible and pervasive - children were physically hurt - and the administration did nothing because the families involved either attended the school or have made substantial donations


Roland Park Country School 5

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
RPCS is a private single-sex school in Baltimore. It provides very rigorous academics in a nuturing environment. Extracurricular opportunities are numerous, varied, accessible and very well supported with ample resources; very enriching. The administration is passionate, approachable and responsive to families. The College Counseling department is out-of-this-world!!!

Roland Park Country School 1

Posted May 09, 2015
- a student
Very poor teachers (yelling in class, never available for questions, not organized), dirty bathrooms, so many cliques, very unfriendly.

Roland Park Country School 2

Posted July 08, 2013
- a community member
It was good for academics due to the coordination of classes with Gilman and Bryn Mawr. Socially it is very clique oriented and lousy. The SAT Prep Class required in grades 9-11 does not make improvements. The required tablets are also ridiculously expensive and are prone to viruses. The college counseling is stellar.


Roland Park Country School 5

Posted April 14, 2013
- a parent
This is a really good school that cares about the your child academically and emotionally. The school balances rigorious academics in a caring and cooperative learning. They really try to get the best out of every child.

Roland Park Country School 5

Posted January 10, 2012
- a parent
My sister and I attended RPCS, our daughters also attended and now my granddaughter is in her 10th year there. It is a very special place. The academics are superior but also, very importantly, learning how to be a person of good character, a compassionate human being and a contributor to the community are stressed. These are life lessons not taught in many schools and, I believe are vital in life. The school is concerned about the whole child, not merely the academic program. Teachers are readily available to the student and her parents for help and encouragement. The academic program is very challenging, the atmosphere is nurturing. And, you hear a lot of laughter and see a lot of smiles in the halls!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roland Park Country School
5204 Roland Avenue, Baltimore, MD  21210
(410) 323-5500
Last modified Roland Park Country School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Roland Park Country School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top