Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arundel Elementary/Middle School

Public | PK-8 | 331 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 27, 2011

Im rating this school strictly on the basis of how much I have seen such major improvements in my child. If you are looking for a well-structured school you are in the right place, before my child was enrolled at this school I was allowed to tour the school and it was absolutely a wonderful experience to see the students actually well-behaved and actively participating in class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

There is no school I feel is better than Arundel. My kids have been here for three years and the awesome administration that this school is under this year can't be touched.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2007

This is a good school getting better. It is under new leadership and has many new programs for students and parents. I believe that it is going to become one of the best schools in Baltimore city.


Posted August 26, 2007

I really like this school. It has a wonderfully secretary who is kind and helpful. The staff is great, especially the principal. I know my grand child will learn a lot from attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2006

Along with Tyrone Harris, I am also a former student of this school and I am proud to have my children continue in footsteps that not only did I take but also my mother. That is a wonderful school in the Cherry Hill community.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 26, 2006

I am a former memberof Arundel Elementary School and I know that I am who I am because of this school. I am now a promising elementary school teacher, community activist, loving spouse, educator, mentor, and all-around nice person. Arundel has taught me that Attendance, Academics, and Attitude are all attibutes of the human being that have to stay positive and abundant. The programs that are allowed in this school are enriching and I will promise that your son/ daughter will be most fullfilled when they enroll in this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 1, 2005

Hi, i am a former student at arundel. The whole atmosphere of arundel has changed dramatically in a good way. I was graduate of the first 8th grade class and i wouldn't rather be anything else. Our teachers for the past 4-5 years have given us trips, a prom, graduations. Even during the budget cuts. They gave money from their pockets that most of us didnt even deserve. If you want your child to have enlightened school time, arundel is the place to enroll your child. This school is in the cherry hill area. The teachers are great and a word of advice, be concerned parents. They'll tell you that in a heartbeat. Arundel alumni, jennifer holmes
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 27, 2004

My kids only had the opportunity of being in the school for a very short period of time. But they were pretty please with the school and what it had to offer. The principal was very strong with dealing with the children. I know for a fact that I had a problem child; who if was allowed would go astray, but his behavior was not tolerated which was execellent. My kids stated that they learned more there in the two months that they were there than in the whole year that they were at Sandy Plains and General Strickere which were baltimore county schools. We are no longer in that area which means my children will no longer be able to attend this school. I love to have known the outcome of them being there for a entire school year! Ms Lee 2nd grader keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2004

This is a good school even though the principil has an [bad] attuide. But the staff there is great,the teachers is respectfully and answer any questions you have about your child education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 36%
Asian 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 43%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 98%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2400 Round Rd
Baltimore, MD 21225
Phone: (410) 396-1379

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


New Era Academy
Baltimore, MD




Westport Academy
Baltimore, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT