Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Baltimore, MD

5 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gilman School 5

Posted May 24, 2014
- a community member
Great School! The Board of Directors and the Administration of this school knows what it takes to deliver a high quality education with all the bells and whistles. Probably the best non-sectarian Boys School in the State of Maryland.

Gilman School 5

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
Gilman has it all; academics, fine arts, sports,...and the boys are coached to learn to empathize and appreciate others strengths so they can be content themselves and understand who they are. Academics are first and foresmost. As elsewhere some of the US recruits, don't seem to fit in academically and may suffer self esteem issues as they try to keep up. Johnny Foreman is your key here to help. There is always someone to turn to at Gilman. If your son likes a challenge and drives hard for success, he will certainly find it at Gilman. The next head, Henry Smyth, has enormous potential to be one of the "greats". We are overjoyed with this fine school for our son and belive he is receiving a fantastic education and will become a fine young contributor to society. The leaders at Gilman are consistent and sure. They know boys and how to teach them to be good people. Thank you Gilman for keeping your bar high and trying to give all an opportunity.


Gilman School 5

Posted September 03, 2012
- a parent
My youngest child attends Gilman's Middle School, and I can't say enough positive things about this school, the education he's receiving, the quality of the teachers, and the incredible Principal and Staff. There is lots of diversity, and there are tons of "really nice boys and families." I was afraid that this would be a "snobbish school"- it's NOT. This would not be a school I would recommend for children who are not self-motivated- my child is extremely bright (in Honors Classes even at Gilman,) but he works HARD! I worry that he's working TOO hard, but he assures me that he's not, and that he adores school. He and my oldest child, who just graduated from college, and who is preparing to attend medical school, have conversational challenges about what the other knows- and my younger son often knows as much as my oldest! WOW!

Gilman School 5

Posted March 21, 2012
- a parent
Amazing faculty, outstanding leadership and vision. Gilman offers a top-notch education with focus on strong character.

Gilman School 5

Posted October 23, 2011
- a community member
Gilman is a special place. I am a senior at the school and I truly believe that no other school in the nation comes close to the experience that a student has at Gilman. We are taught to be well rounded individuals, focusing not only on our academics, but also on athletics and helping others. Gilman is the most rigorous school in the area academically and it is also one of the most successful athletically, creating a perfect balance between school and fun. I play for two varsity sports teams and the spirit at the school is such that fans pack the stands for each and every game that we play, cheering us on through victory and defeat but never against the opposing team. That is what sets gilman apart from other schools. The fact that we are taught to cheer for Gilman, and not against others. Gilman teaches us to conduct ourselves with class and always act as if we are representing Gilman in everything that we do. The teachers demand a lot from their students but know that the students demand a lot from their teachers. The teachers will make it known to you if they do not believe that you are trying your best in their class


Gilman School 5

Posted June 11, 2011
- a parent
Gilman is the best. Totally dedicated high quality teachers. The boys end up to become the greatest men they can be. Honors codes are strictly enforced. Academics is high priority but they do allow boys of connected families go through even if they do not perform at the level of the majority. We came from another high profile boys school in Baltimore and I have a daughter at a girls school across the street. Overall, Gilman outscore them in all areas. Best in Baltimore for sure.

Gilman School 3

Posted March 09, 2011
- a parent
This is an excellent school, but it is rather unfortunate that this school is not a very diverse school, especially the lower school. Children should be exposed to various cultures, races and socio-economic backgrounds because that is the way life is when you enter the workforce. That is not what I noticed on my tour of the school (especially races).

Gilman School 5

Posted February 01, 2011
- a parent
My boys entered Gilman at non-traditional entry points (not 6th or 9th) in middle and high school as we moved from another city. Gilman has been fabulous! They both love the school, and the other students were very warm and welcoming. The school made every effort to ensure our boys were situated and happy. There are plenty of breaks in the school day - - perfect for active boys - - plus a very supportive environment for learning and study. Really can't say enough good things about how happy my children are - - and we came from another private school environment so have a basis for comparison.


Gilman School 5

Posted August 08, 2010
- a parent
The Best. My sons LOVE Gilman. The school "knows" boys. The boys get plenty of academic time and plenty of recess time, as boys should.

Gilman School 5

Posted May 17, 2010
- a parent
GILMAN is the best school in USA.Our son love it.Excellent teachers.Strong principal. Best academic programs. Vitaly Sharshakov

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gilman School
5407 Roland Avenue, Baltimore, MD  21210
(410) 323-3800
Last modified Gilman School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Gilman School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top