Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Baltimore, MD
Students enrolled: 1,022
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gilman School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
The boys at Gilman are educated on how to be gentlemen. This starts at an early age where the little school headmaster greets the boys with a handshake every morning as the boys enter school.

Gilman School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
Gilman boys are assigned younger "buddies" who they mentor. So the older boys have a younger boy to help along. Also, community service is a requirement for Gilman boys.


Gilman School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
Honesty, integrity and fairness are instilled in the boys at a young age. The pillars of success are posted all over the school so the boys know what is expected of them.

Gilman School 5

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
Gilman understands boys and creates a learning environment that allows boys to be boys while still learning. They also require children to do homework starting at a at a young age and require the boys to do public speaking every year beginning in first grade.

Gilman School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at Gilman understand boys and their behavior so they create an environmen that allows boys to be boys but still learn.


Gilman School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
The school is very demanding academically and this starts at a young age. It is not uncommon for (younger) lower school boys to have 30 minutes of homework every night. The boys are also required to read every night and have a summer reading list.

Gilman School 5

Posted May 24, 2014
- a community member
Great School! The Board of Directors and the Administration of this school knows what it takes to deliver a high quality education with all the bells and whistles. Probably the best non-sectarian Boys School in the State of Maryland.
1 person found this helpful

Gilman School 5

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
Gilman has it all; academics, fine arts, sports,...and the boys are coached to learn to empathize and appreciate others strengths so they can be content themselves and understand who they are. Academics are first and foresmost. As elsewhere some of the US recruits, don't seem to fit in academically and may suffer self esteem issues as they try to keep up. Johnny Foreman is your key here to help. There is always someone to turn to at Gilman. If your son likes a challenge and drives hard for success, he will certainly find it at Gilman. The next head, Henry Smyth, has enormous potential to be one of the "greats". We are overjoyed with this fine school for our son and belive he is receiving a fantastic education and will become a fine young contributor to society. The leaders at Gilman are consistent and sure. They know boys and how to teach them to be good people. Thank you Gilman for keeping your bar high and trying to give all an opportunity.


Gilman School 5

Posted May 15, 2013
- a parent
Gilman is a GREAT school! It is my observation after having a son at the school for over 8 years that Gilman can meet any student and family needs that arise and will go the extra mile when needed. John Schmick cared and I believe in their next headmast , Heny Smyth, deeply. headmaster make an enormous difference and you can depend upon Gilman's community to make sound decisions for the future. The academics are superb, athletics intended to teach strength, courage, life lessons and the arts program is respected and ambitious. I believe everyone at Gilman is inspired to do their best. If someone is going to get pulled down, Gilman was try to save them, but you can't do that for all. The Gilman community keeps a high bar and doesn't sweat the small stuff; they are proactive and positively excellent in creating exceptional thinkers and kind, empathetic human beings.

Gilman School 5

Posted September 03, 2012
- a parent
My youngest child attends Gilman's Middle School, and I can't say enough positive things about this school, the education he's receiving, the quality of the teachers, and the incredible Principal and Staff. There is lots of diversity, and there are tons of "really nice boys and families." I was afraid that this would be a "snobbish school"- it's NOT. This would not be a school I would recommend for children who are not self-motivated- my child is extremely bright (in Honors Classes even at Gilman,) but he works HARD! I worry that he's working TOO hard, but he assures me that he's not, and that he adores school. He and my oldest child, who just graduated from college, and who is preparing to attend medical school, have conversational challenges about what the other knows- and my younger son often knows as much as my oldest! WOW!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gilman School
5407 Roland Avenue, Baltimore, MD  21210
(410) 323-3800
Last modified Gilman School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Gilman School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top