Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
813 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Bryn Mawr School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
Students are held to the highest standard and learn early to put forth their best work. There is a competitive spirit at Bryn Mawr, which is acknowledged and celebrated. Students work hard (and independenly) and experience the satisfaction of persistence toward success across academics, athletics, and artistic work.

The Bryn Mawr School 5

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
Bryn Mawr is a fantastic school for academically gifted and self-motivated girls across all 3 divisions. Our expectations have been exceeded for the past 11 years during which our daughter has attended Bryn Mawr.


The Bryn Mawr School 1

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
There is definitely a dark side to this school. The academics are excellent but the school lacks in character development and open political discourse. The teachers for the most part have been very good. However bullying is rampant and the school appears to do nothing about it. We liked the school ok until our daughter became the victim of a cyber bullying incident on school grounds involving a student who was the child of someone once affiliated with the school board. The school destroyed evidence of the crime and tried to cover it up. When we learned about it we demanded that the student be punished or we were going to the police. The school then took up where the bully left off , blamed our daughter and sent her to the "Honor Council." She was completely innocent of what they accused her of. Our daughter was devastated and we have spent hundreds of dollars for her to have professional counseling after this incident. Meanwhile the perpetrator openly receives school accolades. We should have sent our daughter to Roland Park. Don't make the same mistake we did. I would never have believed this could have happened to us until it did. The headmistress clearly cares nothing about most of the students- just the ones that have $$ and the ones that share her political agenda.

The Bryn Mawr School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
You have to have these qualities to survive this pressure cooker atmosphere. This is very much sink or swim

The Bryn Mawr School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
Students who are compassionate do not bully each other. Community and compassion are only discussed in a large social agenda. The community of the school itself is not inclusive and bullying is rampant


The Bryn Mawr School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
The school allows bullying and even actively protected a bully from consequences. Our experiences could be made into a lifetime movie.

The Bryn Mawr School 4

Posted April 02, 2015
- a parent
Bryn Mawr is a great place for intelligent, confident girls to flourish. The academics are first rate and challenge the girls to think critically and aspire to be the best. My daughter has grown so much here and has made incredible strides in her leadership and having a bold voice. However, if your daughter requires additional support or assistance to do well, this may not be the place for you. The girls feel tremendous pressure to be the best in everything they do and that creates a lot of stress. Bryn Mawr doesn't have the resources to address learning differences, but there are many opportunities to lead, excel, and contribute for girls who don't need the additional support. While there is an appearance of sisterhood and camaraderie among the students, there is also a fair amount of bullying and exclusion, so if your daughter is especially sensitive or vulnerable, this may not be the best school for her.

The Bryn Mawr School 5

Posted July 29, 2014
- a parent
My daughter LOVES Bryn Mawr! The teachers are great!! My daughter loves being in class with girls who are excited to come to school everyday. The girls develop very strong friendships and really support one another.


The Bryn Mawr School 5

Posted June 19, 2014
- a teacher
Bryn Mawr prepares girls to be confident, smart young women. I was so impressed after meeting the girls attending the Upper School (high school). They have a variety of interests from arts to athletics and community service to politics and go off to some of the most prestigious colleges in the country.

The Bryn Mawr School 1

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
If you are not a big donor you will have absolutely no contact with Headmistress Maureen Walsh. She never acknowledged me or my daughter in 10 years. The school is a pressure cooker and very competitive. Coupled with its conservatism and fear of challenging authority, it is a soulless, joyless place.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Bryn Mawr School
109 W Melrose Ave, Baltimore, MD  21210
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (410) 323-8800
Last modified The Bryn Mawr School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top