Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Baltimore City College

Public | 9-12 | 1315 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

56 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

Baltimore City College is ranked in the top 3% of public high schools (Newsweek 2013), top 1% per Greatschools test score rankings for the State of Md.. Top 10% all high schools nationwide (public, private, parochial) as ranked by nationwide college admissions offices. With the only International Baccalaurate public high school program in Baltimore City. With a droppout rate under 2% and matriculation rate of about 98%.. With the USA's #1 high school debate team. Even POTUS gave recognition to one of our graduates, at the Morehouse Univ. graduation speech in 2013. For some reason Greatschools will not acknowledge our achievements? All of this at a school, where almost half of the students are on the school lunch program. This is a five star school.


Posted January 30, 2014

I am a current student at BCC. The school as a whole is excellent with great opportunities. The teachers here push you to do your best and to keep trying to achieve your goals. I wouldn't change it for the world. City Forever !! Class of 2016 :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2013

This school is amazing! They push us academically and help us meet our personal goals. Since going to this school, I've improved academically and have become more responsible. City forever!


Posted July 20, 2012

I'm a current student at BCC and I think this school is absolutely wonderful and challenging. I recommend anyone that is up to be academically challenged. The IB program is very unique and also very challenging. All through its not that diverse its still a great school with the teachers support and a friendly environment. This school is the BEST and I'm glad I chose to go here. :))
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2012

I feel like this school is being underrated and should be treated with more respect, besides Poly or Eastern. This is school is a Maryland Landmark.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2012

Next weekend our third child will graduate from City. My oldest son started there in 2004 (their class of 2008) and just graduated from the College of William & Mary. Each of our children have very different learning styles, temperaments, and interests, and the school work for each of them. The extracurriculars are excellent, the teaching quality very good, the IB program very challenging, and the current administrative leadership excellent. We do not feel that we compromised our children's education because we chose a Baltimore City public school. Quite the contrary, we feel their attendance here helped better prepare them for college and living in a multicultural society. It hasn't been a completely care-free 8 years there. There was a major problem with the former principal, but throughout all the years, the faculty commitment to educating each child remained. The school is physically imposing & beautiful on the outside, but suffers from the lack of public resources it deserves. The place feels very much like a family and the students seem to really connect with each other. I highly recommend this high school as an excellent choice for any family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

City continues to maintain a consistent school providing a quality academic foundation. As a 1959 graduate and the father of a 1995 graduate I noted a consistency in City's academic foundation. I was also a middle school chess coach and noted City had many excellent players on its team. This gave me insight into the minds of many of its players.


Posted June 17, 2011

As in regards to schools for baltimore city...you have to fill out a school of choice form for your child number 1 to 5 in order of choice. My suggestion is to contact the student placement office on north avenue because the deadline for those forms has passed but if your new to baltimore city schools it probably won't apply to you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2009

simpy amazing, my son who is now in the 11th grade has gone through a wonderful stage going to city. he is very happy, and feels privelage to go to city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

I have one child who graduated from City one year ago and was accepted at several colleges and is now a full time college student and one child who will graduate next year, academically City is an excellent school, and I feel my children are and have been prepared for college. It appears though as if the Principal and staff are a little too lenient in regards to dress code and enforcing school policies and this is a recent and unfortunate change, I dont know if its City or the overall Baltimore City school administration but I hope that City will not allow their standards to be lowered because I we have too many positives, concerned and active parents and committed students to let that happen. Im still proud my kids attend and attended City, its still a good school. City Forever
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

I'm in my senior year at city. Over the past four years I've seen the school slowly decline. Administration isn't as strict as it needs to be. There are students here who don't deserve to be. But even at that this is still one of te best places in the city to get an education.I hate to admit this but Poly is the better school. But City holds it own against most schools. I'm proud to be a city knight.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2009

i am a current student at baltimore city college and it is a good school but there are so many things wrong that the administration does not know about or if they do they dont pay any attention to. The principal has his priorities mixed up he has places two plasma televisions inside of the lunch room. how can we afford to place televisions inside of the luch room when we do not have textbooks for every class that they are needed in and if we do have textbooks they are not up to date. I just do not understand how the staff can care more about the appearance of the school then the education of the students. The truth is that when most of the staff and administration stop caring so do the students!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2009

The sad thing is that Baltimore City College HS should be the best in the city. When I see schools like Poly and Eastern Tech being rated higher, it bothers me. I am an alumni of BCC and received one of the best enducations one can get in a public school system. Why have our rating fallen? It, of course, starts with leadership. It doesn't take rocket science to figure out that the principal and administrative staff must take charge, dictate policy (be committed to those policies) and maintain discipline at all times. City has always had a rich tradition and strong academics. I love City and it is a great school that needs to bring its standards up to where they use to be (and belong).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

This could be a great school if it did not have staff that pretends to be elite. They sometimes have an arrogance about them that is not necessary. Some of the teachers will not return calls or emails. God forbid if you speak up about something that you disagree with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

Good, caring teachers; some of them excellent. Warm atmosphere. Terrific parents. The kids are from across the spectrum and my son is comfortable in the school - even as a Freshman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

One of the previous posters commented that the students are out of control. This can be said for students in just about any ublic school in any major city across the US. City College is among the elite in Baltimore City. I am proud of the strides that they have made in recent years. I am especially proud of the IB curriculim no longer being a choice but the standard. This school offers accademics, theater, music and so much more to stimulate students. I also love the updates that come by way of telephone. My children have unfortunately gotten used to substandard education in Baltimore City so they are being challenged by the standards at Baltimore City College. I know that they are in deed up to the challenge. It is now up to them to figure it out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

I transferred my son from Samuel Banks to Baltimore City College high. I am very pleased at the curriculum and the programs offered at the school. My son is excited about his new school and brags about the different sports program the school offers. The school is one of the best in the city. I'm glad he's a student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

I am a graduate of the class of 2007, and i have to say that going to this school is a much better choice then any zone school. No matter what anybody says it's always good to go city wide school rather than going to a easy crappy zone school. Since it is a citywide school you will meet a great assortment of students acroos the city there is more diversity since it is a citywide school, instead of having all african american students, the amount of people there with that diversity gives a college like feel without the tuition and the dorms. Thing is you'll realize i like i did if you plan to do enginneering or computer related stuff afterwards you'd be better going to poly instead, there is a lot of tech classes i should had had to prepare for college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2008

Looking back on my experience at City, I would say that yes there were, and still are, great programs offered. The IB program is amazing, but other than that city's classes are filled with out-of-control students. There are serious disciplinary issues. I feel as though the majority or the students that attend City don't realize what there being offered and don't take the chance or effort to be part of the IB classes. There are many kids that go to school at City that gamble, play dice, in the halls during class, skip class during other lunch periods and many of them ditch class to smoke pot. There are a handful of amazing teachers present at City but then again there are many that don't know what their teaching. I would consider City to be a high-end public school in the City of baltimore.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2007

Speaking as an alum,I love City, it is a great school. It prepared me for and got me accepted and many of my class accepted into some of the best colleges in the country. HOWEVER City's status is declining partially because of the students and partially because of the Dawson administration. First and foremost requiring all freshman to enter the IB Program is a serious mistake! I was in the IB Program and received the IB Diploma. It is extremely challenging and it is NOT FOR EVERYONE. The IB standard should only self selected! It requires more than anything immense dedication and that is why it is optional. Forcing students to enter a program that they are not willing to put that EXTREME effort towards is setting the students up for failure! Instead, increase the college prep standard, 60 should not count as passing!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
89%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 89% 36%
White 9% 43%
Asian 1% 6%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3220 the Alameda
Baltimore, MD 21218
Website: Click here
Phone: (410) 396-6557

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Heritage High School
Baltimore, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT