Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
68 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 75 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Baltimore City College
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
The teachers are helpful and genuinely care about the well-being of the students. Even if that means coming in early or staying late City College teachers are awesome!

Baltimore City College 4

Posted September 02, 2014
- a student
City is a good school with great teachers, but the school does not utilize money properly. Instead of using money to help students pay our tons of dues (which we are not told about until long after we become freshmen) or to purchase books necessary for class, or even to fix the very flawed heating/cooling systems, we get sometimes frivolous/purely aesthetic renovations and a new card-swiping system to get into the school and into our classes. By the end of my year last year, when they fully implemented the card swiping system, only one of my seven teachers made us swipe in to enter the room. Despite that system being useless, money was wasted on it. Despite many students being in poverty, we have to pay for expensive uniform shirts that can only be bought from a single specific store. The majority of us have to pay for our own books, which many are incapable of. The school cares deeply about college and the advisory staff definitely want to help you out in any way, but the school does not have its priorities straight in terms of where money goes and how much students have to pay.


Baltimore City College 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a community member
Baltimore City College is ranked in the top 3% of public high schools (Newsweek 2013), top 1% per Greatschools test score rankings for the State of Md.. Top 10% all high schools nationwide (public, private, parochial) as ranked by nationwide college admissions offices. With the only International Baccalaurate public high school program in Baltimore City. With a droppout rate under 2% and matriculation rate of about 98%.. With the USA's #1 high school debate team. Even POTUS gave recognition to one of our graduates, at the Morehouse Univ. graduation speech in 2013. For some reason Greatschools will not acknowledge our achievements? All of this at a school, where almost half of the students are on the school lunch program. This is a five star school.

Baltimore City College 5

Posted January 30, 2014
- a student
I am a current student at BCC. The school as a whole is excellent with great opportunities. The teachers here push you to do your best and to keep trying to achieve your goals. I wouldn't change it for the world. City Forever !! Class of 2016 :)

Baltimore City College 5

Posted September 21, 2013
- a community member
This school is amazing! They push us academically and help us meet our personal goals. Since going to this school, I've improved academically and have become more responsible. City forever!


Baltimore City College 5

Posted July 20, 2012
- a student
I'm a current student at BCC and I think this school is absolutely wonderful and challenging. I recommend anyone that is up to be academically challenged. The IB program is very unique and also very challenging. All through its not that diverse its still a great school with the teachers support and a friendly environment. This school is the BEST and I'm glad I chose to go here. :))

Baltimore City College 5

Posted July 17, 2012
- a parent
I feel like this school is being underrated and should be treated with more respect, besides Poly or Eastern. This is school is a Maryland Landmark.

Baltimore City College 5

Posted May 28, 2012
- a parent
Next weekend our third child will graduate from City. My oldest son started there in 2004 (their class of 2008) and just graduated from the College of William & Mary. Each of our children have very different learning styles, temperaments, and interests, and the school work for each of them. The extracurriculars are excellent, the teaching quality very good, the IB program very challenging, and the current administrative leadership excellent. We do not feel that we compromised our children's education because we chose a Baltimore City public school. Quite the contrary, we feel their attendance here helped better prepare them for college and living in a multicultural society. It hasn't been a completely care-free 8 years there. There was a major problem with the former principal, but throughout all the years, the faculty commitment to educating each child remained. The school is physically imposing & beautiful on the outside, but suffers from the lack of public resources it deserves. The place feels very much like a family and the students seem to really connect with each other. I highly recommend this high school as an excellent choice for any family.


Baltimore City College 5

Posted July 17, 2011
- a community member
City continues to maintain a consistent school providing a quality academic foundation. As a 1959 graduate and the father of a 1995 graduate I noted a consistency in City's academic foundation. I was also a middle school chess coach and noted City had many excellent players on its team. This gave me insight into the minds of many of its players.

Baltimore City College 5

Posted June 17, 2011
- a parent
As in regards to schools for baltimore city...you have to fill out a school of choice form for your child number 1 to 5 in order of choice. My suggestion is to contact the student placement office on north avenue because the deadline for those forms has passed but if your new to baltimore city schools it probably won't apply to you

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Baltimore City College
3220 the Alameda, Baltimore, MD  21218
(410) 396-6557
Last modified Baltimore City College is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Baltimore City College Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 75 reviews. Top