Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Barclay Elementary/Middle School

Public | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2014

My son just graduaded from Barclay and since first grade we were treated like family. All the teachers and staff had a real interest in his improvement and well being. We came from another country and Barclay was one of the schools with an ESL program, taught by Mr Alex, who made my son's transition to English very easy. They have a free after school program, organized by Child First, that enriched his school experience greatly. Now with the 29th Street Community Center attached to the building they have even more options, like Robotics and violin lessons. The teachers sent me e-mails and phone calls about my sons progress in class, and i've never seen such dedication. Because of all that, my son is going to Baltimore Polytechnic Institute and i couldn't be more grateful !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2012

I am very impressed with the school and my daughters teacher, Ms. Mundie. She tells me whenever anything is going on with my daughter, and works hard to make sure that she is learning not just at school but also at home. They get recess every day, and have art and computer class ever week as well. The classroom feels so friendly and the kids are all very well behaved (for 4 year olds). My daughter loves her school and her class, and I do too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

In my time at Barclay, I have witnessed an incredibly strong sense of community at the school. Teachers, staff, and community members recognize the importance of coming together to support the students here, and that manifests itself in a variety of forms. Barclay's excellent after school programs (everything from cooking, theatre & dance, to art and gardening) offer extra support to students. This school also provides free vision and dental screenings to students every year, and operates a food pantry for any families who volunteer at the school or need a little extra help. With a new PBL curriculum, students are also being challenged in new ways, and learning valuable hands-on lessons that are integrated and aligned with the mandated curriculum. This provides students with an opportunity to learn in a more creative way, and also helpes them to retain this information. Overall, Barclay is a true Community School that provides an enriching and nurturing environment for all students and families, and anyone who comes to visit will realize how close-knit this community is.


Posted June 23, 2011

One of Barclay's unique strengths is the commitment people feel to the school. We have teachers, administrators, families and volunteers who have been part of this school community for decades. This dedicated group doesn't hinder change at the school, but provides a wise sounding board. I have found Barclay to be a school that knows and respects its past while welcoming new perspectives and ideas.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 22, 2011

When I first came to Barclay to volunteer I could tell immediately that Barclay was a very special place. From my experiences with the older students, it is clear that Barclay provides a rigorous academic environment. My time in the class with younger students proved this. The students are challenged, and are provided interesting extra curricular activities. Yet Barclay is very special not only through it's excellent staff and academics; the school is truly a community. My time volunteering has not only taught me a great deal, but I was welcomed into a community.


Posted June 17, 2011

Barclay provides a safe and fun learning environment and community for its students. The children are polite and smart and always willing to lend a hand. The staff is supportive and invested in student's success. Overall Barclay is a great school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 17, 2011

My daughter just finished her first year at Barclay and it has been an overwhelmingly positive experience. The school puts a lot of emphasis on instilling its students with a real enthusiasm for learning. They use a Project Based Learning approach, which I think makes students feel more invested in the work they do. This is reflected in the school environment--the students seem happy and at home in the school. This probably also has something to do with the fact that Barclay is a Community School that takes a real interest in students' lives beyond the classroom. It offers great after-school programs and is always looking for new ways to be of service to, and improve, the surrounding neighborhood. It has strong partnerships with other community organizations, including Johns Hopkins University, so it is very easy to feel my child is a part of a larger mission to do good--and I think she feels it to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

Barclay is a school that works hard to ensure that all children get a solid education. The school offers an array of programs to engage the children - a creative new project based curriculum, arts programming, gardening, dance, etc. This school is worth a look.


Posted September 16, 2009

A real community school that helps children learn


Posted September 30, 2008

I agree with the parent who had complaints about the treatment of minority children.My daughter went there last year and was treated very poorly by students and some of the staff.She graduated from there and after paying $75 for graduation,her name was left off of the t-shirt and misspelled in the (cheaply made) yearbook.I have yet to get satifaction from the school despite numerous calls and visits.If you have a white child I suggest you find another school for them unless you want them to be a very sad child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2005

Barclay remains one of the best public schools in Baltimore. In fact, it may be the very best both academically and professionally. Mrs.Horne strives to meet the needs of students and teachers. The students are well above average for a public school. The Calverton system was a blessing for this school for many years, and even without it the excellence continues. The school has never had a problem being elementary / middle school unlike a few schools that had trouble combining the two. The atmosphere in and around the building is positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2005

Very leavled and wishes to skill childern not school them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

I have had mixed feelings about the school my child is a minority there and has been treated like one by many of the students over the past few years. This is his first 'good' year so far. I think the teachers and the staff try their best, but alot of the parents are not involved and just seem to be worried about other things more then their children. I have had meetings with parents {the ones that could get themselves out of bed} about the way their children behave and it seems to do no good. My child was not raised to treat someone different because of race but it seems that alot of the kids there have not been raised the same, which is sad, because if it was my child doing it to theirs it would be a big deal, but it gets brushed off since it's the other way around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2005

This is an excellent school. Mrs. Williams is an ideal principal. The teachers are excellent. And the food was (in my time there)- the pizza, the burgers, and especially...the chocolate milk- absolutely fantastic. I pray that one day i can meet the teachers (Mr. David Clapp namely) and Mrs. Williams again someday to thank them for what they gave me. Overall, a fantastic school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 92% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Hispanic 3% 12%
White 2% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 94%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2900 Barclay St
Baltimore, MD 21218
Phone: (410) 396-6387

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Holy Spirit School
Baltimore, MD





Mother Seton Academy
Baltimore, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT