Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Barclay Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
The staff is always available to help you. They keep you inform of your child's progress. If your child is having a problem with class work or isn't feeling well the staff is on top of it.

Barclay Elementary/Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
I want like to say thank you to each and every person because I believe it takes a whole team working together to get the job done. I believe if you have a great leader you have greater followers. I would like to send a special shout out to Ms. Spann, and Ms. Jackson. Thanks!


Barclay Elementary/Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
From what I see any hear i think the teachers are effective with the students. When I look at my grand children's work it let me know that they are on target or even above there grade level.

Barclay Elementary/Middle School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Homework for me is important because it gives the children extra time to review and practice more what they have learned. This way it will always be fresh in there minds.

Barclay Elementary/Middle School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
They teach the that they can do anything if they put forth effort . They tell the child that they must had determination and believe in themselves


Barclay Elementary/Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
They teach the children why and how they should each other and also each other's belongings

Barclay Elementary/Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
I feel that they do because I have seen first hand through my grandson who is ADHA how the care and has empathy for you when he's not on task.

Barclay Elementary/Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
This school put the kids concerns first. Academics are very important but while giving them all of those things I find they also deal with each child's social and communications skills. If I had to rate Barclay I would give them a 99.9.


Barclay Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
My son just graduaded from Barclay and since first grade we were treated like family. All the teachers and staff had a real interest in his improvement and well being. We came from another country and Barclay was one of the schools with an ESL program, taught by Mr Alex, who made my son's transition to English very easy. They have a free after school program, organized by Child First, that enriched his school experience greatly. Now with the 29th Street Community Center attached to the building they have even more options, like Robotics and violin lessons. The teachers sent me e-mails and phone calls about my sons progress in class, and i've never seen such dedication. Because of all that, my son is going to Baltimore Polytechnic Institute and i couldn't be more grateful !

Barclay Elementary/Middle School 4

Posted January 03, 2012
- a parent
I am very impressed with the school and my daughters teacher, Ms. Mundie. She tells me whenever anything is going on with my daughter, and works hard to make sure that she is learning not just at school but also at home. They get recess every day, and have art and computer class ever week as well. The classroom feels so friendly and the kids are all very well behaved (for 4 year olds). My daughter loves her school and her class, and I do too!

Nearby schools

Barclay Elementary/Middle School
2900 Barclay St, Baltimore, MD  21218
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (410) 396-6387
Last modified Barclay Elementary/Middle School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top