Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beechfield Elementary School

Public | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2013

This school should be torn down and start from scratch again. The principal Ms. Browning is very rude and ghetto, she never returns your calls, nor does she ever have time to communicate with anyone. The office staff is very lazy. One time I had to actually write down my own message, in which I asked her could she give the principal a message for me because I needed to speak with the principal who was not available again as usual. The teachers they just work to get a paycheck, not all of them, but the majority of them. A lot of the students they're from various locations , Cherry hill , Edmondson Village ,Westside Shopping Center area,and Park heights. That's why the school is so disruptive now because of other students coming from other neighborhoods. Then having Middle and Elementary doesn't help at all either. Bottom line, this school is terrible especially since Browning entered the building. When the other principal was there it wasn't this bad with the students. The students now are so disrespectful and completely out of order even with the school police in the building,all he does is flirt with the office staff and the teachers .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

I think Beechfield is doin its best considering all the kids they have. My daughter is in the 4th grade this year and she has her same teacher she had for the 3rd grade and Ms. Richardson doesnt play!! She is very firm with her students but she has alot of fun with them. I just wish this schools discipline policy gets better because some of the kids desereve severe consequences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

My Son has been attending Beechfield unfortunately for the last 3 years. With each year it has become a constant uphill battle. From teachers who yell and scream at the kids. To priciples who are constantly changing with the wind. It is very frustrating as a parent when you are doing everything on your part. Only to be met by some teachers who only want to help out the kids they deem worthy of the help! I just wish that the kids in Baltimore City Public Schools would get the same caliber of teaching as the surrounding counties in the state!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

I can't believe this school is rated only 2 out of 10. I think it's doing great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

For the 2nd largest elementary school in Baltimore, Beechfield does okay. The teachers are all pretty good, with the exception of a few, but the principals have changed so often that it's hard to keep everyone on the same page. The school lacks discipline and with pre-k through 8th graders, that is extremely important. With yet, another principal this year, we will see what this year has in store. I hope it will be a better one than last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2006

I think that Beechfield Beavers are high achievers! The teachers are dedicated and work long hours so that the children benefit. Our test scores leave a little to be desired, but the school is making progress. The cafeteria is crazy at times, but the teachers keep things in pretty good order.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

My three children currently attend this school and I have mixed reviews. For the 4th and 5th graders I think the school band is a great activity to help keep the children motivated! I am also very pleased with Mr. Small - 5th grade teacher! Best Friends and Best Men is also an excellent program. However, I do feel our school lacks the appropriate leadership necessary to really guide the children in the right direction. I am certain we need a new administration!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2005

When i was in grades, pre-k, kindergarten, first, and fifth grade i attended Beechfield elementary school. When i attended it was very organized and well put together. The teachers that helped me make it were Mrs. Keysling, Mrs. Brown,Mr. Burley,and Mrs. Jolly. When i was there i had fun while learning at the same time. The school had many fun after school activities and trips. I don't know how the school is now but when i was there my family and i were satisfied and proud of my success. Now i am in eighth grade and i can look back and say thank you to all of those who helped me through.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 5, 2005

My son is now in the 1st grade at this school and I am going to transfer him at the end of the year. Every year there is another situation that makes me question the authority that is in charge. In Pre-K, the cirriculum was simillar to that of a head start. This school is unorganized, the staff are undereducated, and the security is scarce.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2004

Let me just state I have two boys that went to this school one in the fourth grade who was in a IEP program and the other in the third grade who has been reading since he was 3 at a second grade level (tested) I now home school them because of the school that is in our zone This school lacks leadership or and passion .You tell me how this sounds you are standig out side of your chids classroom and you hear this ' Jonh how do you spell pot. Never mind put your hand down you have half a brain let somone else answer. ' need I say more.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 95% 35%
Hispanic 3% 12%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 94%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 South Beechfield Ave
Baltimore, MD 21229
Phone: (410) 396-0525

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Green Street Academy
Baltimore, MD


The Baltimore Academy
Baltimore, MD


St. William of York
Baltimore, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT